Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-K|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bernie's Montessori School 1

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
DISCRIMINATORS!! NON INCLUSIVE my special needs son was discriminated against by the teachers and director. They were putting on a concert they allowed him to practice every day, i made food, he was dressed up the day of and they called me the day of and said they decided he "was distracting the other children" and that he "wasn't a good fit for the concert" and i needed to come pick him up . In the middle of his day and my work day!! The concert was that night! I've never been so disgusted! The teachers and directors should have talked to me about it earlier not waited until the day of when he was dressed up and I invited family! It was a group of 3 year olds singing silly songs how sickening that they didnt even want to let him try knowing family would be there to support him!!! Shame on you and please parents beware of these people. Side note my son just completed a sucessful year at Judson Preschool where he was one of the more well behaved kids at his concert!!! Think of the message Bernies Montessori sent to his classmates. Disgusting!

Bernie's Montessori School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
Teaches kids that kids with disabilities are out casts . Will gladly take the money from the family of a special needs child but will refuse to accomodate him or include him.


Bernie's Montessori School 5

Posted December 01, 2014
- a parent
Bernie's is awesome! My daughter has attended since she was 2.5 - she loves it and has made extraordinary progress in her reading and mathematics. All of the teachers and aides have been so accommodating to everything and anything that comes along - truly professional as well as caring about each student and family that comes along. We especially love the openness of the classrooms and the emphasis on individual responsibility coupled with team and social awareness. They have the kids doing all kinds of different and fun activities and field trips (very affordable too!) - I have even been able to go along on occasion as a helping hand - the children are so happy, well mannered, curious, and joyful. We will be very sad when it is time to leave but I am completely confident that my daughter will be prepared to transition into Kindergarten!

Bernie's Montessori School 5

Posted August 01, 2014
- a parent
In our family, we are big fans of Bernie's! Our two sons have been at Bernie's Montessori since last August and we have loved every single day since then. All the staff are extremely nice and they all care so much about the well being of the kids and their learning. At Bernie's they have the right balance between discipline and fun. Kids are happy and learn. Their system is also very efficient: kids learn a lot (reading, math, geography, history and social skills) while also having a lot of time for play inside and outside, and fun trips out of the school. In two words: Bernie's means happiness and learning. I totally recommend it to anyone.

Bernie's Montessori School 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
My son is attending Bernie's Montessori and he loves it. This is a hidden gem in the downtown area due to the excellent staff and really cool activities. Judy runs a wonderful daycare and her years of experience really show in the happiness and calmness of the children. Christine is also an excellent teacher who provides clear and consistent instruction. The children are comfortable, happy, and encouraged to have an adventurous and interest in the world around them. I feel Bernie's Montessori is a step above - for example, they have special field trips throughout the year that expose the children to all kinds of great places in the Minneapolis area - the Bell Museum, Old Log Theatre, public library, just to name a few. There is a kindness and understanding from Bernie's staff that only comes from real professionals. I would recommend Bernie's to anyone.


Bernie's Montessori School 5

Posted January 10, 2014
- a parent
This is the best educational decision I have done for my son, up to this point. The quality of the teachers, the surrounding, easy access, and just warmth of the school have been invaluable for my son's growth. We have tremendously appreciated the fact that it was a very multicultural school, where my son was able to be friends with children coming from 4 continents and become familiar and love the diversity of our world. we keep play dates with his best friends from there, to this day. My son is now in kindergarten and his level of reading, writing, math, elocution, and not lastly, his curiosity and depth of thought, as well world knowledge is outstanding. He often surprises me with surprises me with his detailed comments regarding the life and evolution of animals, nature thoughts, as well as his thorough knowledge of fire and tornado drill. every time I ask him where he learned, this, the response will be, invariably: "Bernie's" ! My son and I found a perfect blend of knowledge, nurturing and discipline at Bernie's and I firmly believe that this experience has set a solid ground for my son's future learning opportunities. Thank you, Bernie's for all you do for our children!

Bernie's Montessori School 5

Posted March 04, 2013
- a parent
Downtown Bernie's Montessori is the best school one can opt for their children. My son was 33 months old when we started. I can say he is completely transformed to a new person. All the credit goes to the wonderful teachers for nurturing him in a right way. They have great commitment towards delivering the quality of education and overall development of the kid. Their constant interaction with parents makes lot of difference in Childs improvement. I have been suggesting lot of families and they are also very happy with the school.

Bernie's Montessori School 5

Posted February 24, 2013
- a parent
Bernie's Downtown Montessori is the best thing that happened for my son. We had just moved to Minneapolis and my son had language constraints and other social issues. He was also not used to staying long hours in school. But the Bernie's staff did such a remarkable job that my son loves going to school. He has picked up not only to talk in English but also to read and write. He has also developed a lot socially. He loves the field trips and the drama classes. Thank You Bernie' s staff for transforming my son. You do a fabulous job.


Bernie's Montessori School 5

Posted August 14, 2012
- a parent
I am glad I chose Downtown Bernie's Montessori. My daughter has attended the school for almost 2 years and is leaving now to attend 1st grade. I am very confident that my daughter is going into first grade well prepared, because of this school. She has learned to read books, write, math, interact with other kids, nice etiquette such as cleaning up after herself and more. They take educational field trips and have fun days such as pizza/pajama day for the kids, and water day. The teachers are all wonderful and they care a lot about the kids. Now, the school it is not as fancy as other Montessori's I visited when school searching, but don't let that fool you. it is a great school!

Bernie's Montessori School 5

Posted July 31, 2012
- a parent
I have now sent two daughters to Bernie's downtown and I cannot say enough about how awesome that school is. My oldest went in to Kindergarten well prepared both emotionally and academically. My youngest is still going there and loves all the teachers. They go on a lot of great field trips throughout the year, have weekly music classes and offer dance and computer as extras. And last but not least, the tuition cost cannot be beat in the Minneapolis area. I would recommend Bernie's in Minneapolis to anyone.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bernie's Montessori School
115 2nd Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN  55401
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (612) 333-5460
Last modified Bernie's Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Top