Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Step By Step Montessori-Maple Grove 2

Posted November 02, 2014
- a parent
Zero to no communication from new teachers. Billing issues are never corrected when asked and the playground is an all out free for all. New director seems spacey. My wife and I will be removing our 3.5 year old soon.

Step By Step Montessori-Maple Grove 1

Posted October 30, 2014
- a community member
This used to be the best school in Maple Grove. When the school director and one of the lead teachers left the- school lost what made it so good. The program now is completely different and to be honest sub-par. Forget all the good you once heard about this school. All of that has changed.


Step By Step Montessori-Maple Grove 0
no rating

Posted December 01, 2008
- a parent
My daughter attended Step by Step in Maple Grove for 1 year then we transferred her to a school with smaller teacher student ratios. Step by Step's pure volume of students is really a drag on the education and emotional experience of their children. It might be the 'Montessori-way' but it's flawed. If you have a child that tends to be shy or gifted, this is not the place for them. Not only is individual attention lacking, but so is support for different learning styles or emotional support.

Step By Step Montessori-Maple Grove 5

Posted September 07, 2007
- a parent
Fantastic school. Students that are bright and need extra challenge in the classroom will do better in this type of environment. Anyone who recognizes their child as an 'Active Allert' will find this school to be a perfect fit. Our daughter has been enrolled for 5 months and we are thrilled with her progress.

Step By Step Montessori-Maple Grove 3

Posted July 05, 2007
- a parent
It is a pretty good place for toddlers and younger preschoolers, where they are well taken care of and taught manners, self care and discipline. But, it gets very chaotic for older preschoolers and kindergarten age kids. The rooms are very crowded and individual attention is a far cry. The kids do learn things, but without some individual attention, they are pretty much on their own for the most part.


Step By Step Montessori-Maple Grove 3

Posted March 28, 2007
- a parent
My daughter attended this school for 1 1/2 years as daycare and then as a preschool setting only, coming home after the 2 1/2 hours. I thought initially it was a good program but realize now after seeing other more traditional settings that it is quite chaotic and no set routine for kids. I found that once I transferred my younger daughter to a more traditional setting she started learning a lot more academically, and socially because it was not so busy and a lot more calmer.

Step By Step Montessori-Maple Grove 5

Posted February 08, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Step By Step Montessori-Maple Grove 4

Posted September 06, 2005
- a parent
My son went to School for 2 years from age 2 to age 4. The teachers were very caring. My son's social skills improved. The class rooms seem kind of crowded and hence not sure how much learning is achieved. But the teachers are caring and kids comes from good families. Since my son was young and kept falling sick, caring teachers was the most important criterion to me at this stage. And i got what I needed

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Step By Step Montessori-Maple Grove
11601 73rd Avenue North, Maple Grove, MN  55369
(763) 315-3602
Last modified Step By Step Montessori-Maple Grove is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Step By Step Montessori-Maple Grove Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top