Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

We as a school would like to address a few negative reviews that were posted in August and October of 2014, to ensure current and prospective families that we do strive to give our students the best possible education and experience while attending our school. The question was raised as to whether all of our lead teachers are Montessori trained. Each lead teacher in each room is holds a certification in the Montessori Method. Some are trained in the American (AMS) method and some in the International (AMI), but they all do hold a certification. They are in the classroom during the school day, 8:30am-3:30pm. They may be here before or after that time as well, depending on their schedule. So it is possible, if a parent drops off early and picks up late, that they may not see the lead teacher. However, we are very open about communication. You are always welcome to call, email, send a letter, etc… to the lead teacher in your child’s classroom to keep in touch. We strive to keep a good relationship with all our families. The assistants and aids in the classroom may or may not have a Montessori certification, but all are educated in the proper use of materials and the philosophies of Maria Montessori’s method to assist the lead teacher. The majority of our teaching assistants hold degrees in early childhood education, childhood development or child psychology. Many of our aids are currently attending school to achieve those degrees. The few who do not possess a degree related to early childhood education have adequate experience as required by the state of Minnesota. We understand that we cannot please everyone and despite our best efforts, our school will not be the best fit for every child or family. To the families who have had a negative experience, we apologize that we seem to have not met your needs and we wish that we could have spoken to you about your concerns. Please know our door is always open for families- prospective, current and past- to come to us with questions or concerns
May 26, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Eden Prairie Montessori Learning Center
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 03, 2015
- a parent
A common pitfall for gifted students is a tendency to not take risks...not to tackle challenges they aren't sure they can complete successfully. The teachers constantly pushed Gus to leave his intellectual comfort zone and try new things.

Eden Prairie Montessori Learning Center
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 03, 2015
- a parent
Our son was afforded many opportunities to work as a teacher's helper; reading to the younger students in the class when they couldn't read for themselves. He has developed an easy compassion for the needs of others that I find exceptional for a 6 year old.


Eden Prairie Montessori Learning Center 5

Posted August 03, 2015
- a parent
Our son Gus really thrived under the guidance of the teachers at Eden Prairie Montessori center. Their patience and dedication to individualized education plans allowed Gus to develop at his own pace, which allowed him to graduate Kindergarten reading at a 4th grade level and starting work on multiplication and division. Beyond the academic environment, the school's dedication to kindness and respect has helped Gus develop into a confident and precocious 6 year old with a strong sense of empathy and kindness. I highly recommend EPMC to all parents, particularly those of gifted children.

Eden Prairie Montessori Learning Center 2

Posted June 22, 2015
- a parent
Teacher quality is very poor. I have talked with the staff about my concerns in the past, however, we decided on another choice in the end for our child.

Eden Prairie Montessori Learning Center 5

Posted June 01, 2015
- a community member
I enrolled my 5 yr old in the Kindergarten program and for the 1 year that he was there his confidence has improved in leaps and bounds. He has been given various opportunities to be a leader and I can see the difference in his personality. He loves his teachers and they take good care of him. Also, I am very impressed with the Kindergarten work that he got home and what was taught to him at school. I am a very happy parent to have send my kid here.


Eden Prairie Montessori Learning Center
no rating

Posted May 26, 2015
- a school leader
We as a school would like to address a few negative reviews that were posted in August and October of 2014, to ensure current and prospective families that we do strive to give our students the best possible education and experience while attending our school. The question was raised as to whether all of our lead teachers are Montessori trained. Each lead teacher in each room is holds a certification in the Montessori Method. Some are trained in the American (AMS) method and some in the International (AMI), but they all do hold a certification. They are in the classroom during the school day, 8:30am-3:30pm. They may be here before or after that time as well, depending on their schedule. So it is possible, if a parent drops off early and picks up late, that they may not see the lead teacher. However, we are very open about communication. You are always welcome to call, email, send a letter, etc… to the lead teacher in your child’s classroom to keep in touch. We strive to keep a good relationship with all our families. The assistants and aids in the classroom may or may not have a Montessori certification, but all are educated in the proper use of materials and the philosophies of Maria Montessori’s method to assist the lead teacher. The majority of our teaching assistants hold degrees in early childhood education, childhood development or child psychology. Many of our aids are currently attending school to achieve those degrees. The few who do not possess a degree related to early childhood education have adequate experience as required by the state of Minnesota. We understand that we cannot please everyone and despite our best efforts, our school will not be the best fit for every child or family. To the families who have had a negative experience, we apologize that we seem to have not met your needs and we wish that we could have spoken to you about your concerns. Please know our door is always open for families- prospective, current and past- to come to us with questions or concerns

Eden Prairie Montessori Learning Center 1

Posted October 31, 2014
- a parent
Please do not enroll your children here; staff is shady, undependable and a lot of classroom/teacher drama going on.

Eden Prairie Montessori Learning Center 1

Posted August 16, 2014
- a parent
My child loved the lead teacher that was in the classroom in the morning when I dropped her off but the other two days out of the week when the lead teacher was not there my child never saw the Director who I understand was supposed to be the co-teacher in the classroom. I have heard that an assistant will take the place of the teacher who is leaving this fall and I do not want my child to have an untrained Montessori teacher. I have learned that my child will have no trained Montessori teacher in the classroom as the Director who is supposed to fill in is never there. I would not recommend this school to anyone who wants their child to have a true Montessori experience. My child had a positive experience when the trained teacher was there 3 days out of the week, but I am less impressed with the other staff who know little. If you want you child to have the benefit of Montessori, do your research and go to a school that will be true to the name of what Maria Montessori created instead of a school that attracts people by the title. Any school can call themselves Montessori, so be sure to do your research and make sure your money is going where you think it should go.


Eden Prairie Montessori Learning Center 1

Posted August 16, 2014
- a parent
Ask the school if the lead teacher is Montessori trained and what their education level is and make sure to get what your hard earned money is paying for. And also make double sure that the teacher is in the classroom for the whole day when she/he is supposed to be. I was on the fence about if my child would stay for Kindergarten but promptly decided to have her go elsewhere when I found out the lead teacher who she likes so much would not be there. Thankfully she benefited greatly for the time she was there with that particular teacher. Most of these "teachers" in the school are nothing short of child care workers, so make sure if you want a school for your child, interview the teachers and make sure they are staying true to what they are claiming your child will learn. First and foremost, this "school" is a business where one person at the top is benefitting the most, so parents (I wish someone had told me) - do your homework.

Eden Prairie Montessori Learning Center 5

Posted March 21, 2014
- a parent
I recently enrolled my 2 1/2 year old at Eden Prairie Montessori and it has been an excellent experience. The angst over such a huge transition for our family has been monumental - and it was very important to me that we be able to transition at our own pace. The staff have been so incredibly supportive, have welcomed my involvement via their open door policy, and it is apparent that they take in to account the needs of each individual child. The teachers and center managers are extensively experienced....and truly support and implement montessori learning methods. The warm and loving environment has made all the difference. A transition that I have been so worried about is going more smoothly than I could have hoped.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eden Prairie Montessori Learning Center
7455 Market Place Drive, Eden Prairie, MN  55344
(952) 944-8466
Last modified Eden Prairie Montessori Learning Center is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Eden Prairie Montessori Learning Center Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top