Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-K
Private
Burnsville, MN
Students enrolled: 25
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


American Montessori Inc (The) 5

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter has attended American Montessori in Burnsville for 2 1/2 years since the age of 3 years old. We cannot say enough good things about the teachers and staff at this school. She has grown into a respectful, fun loving and smart little girl during her years at American Montessori. The teachers at this school know doubt had a great impact on her learning, development and success. We are sad to see her leave this school but know she is prepared to enter Elementary School as a first grade student. We have great appreciation for the staff and teachers for their hard work and dedication!

American Montessori Inc (The) 5

Posted February 15, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school. My 4 yr old loves attending, she has learned so much from the teachers. It is a wonderful place for any child to attend. I would reccommend this school to anyone.


American Montessori Inc (The) 5

Posted August 22, 2011
- a parent
American Montessori is a great school. My child attends there and loves it, the teachers know and care so much for the kids. It is great to see the loving kindness that they show to the children. It is very affordable and she has learned so much, she will be starting preschool there on 8/31. We are excited for this year and what American Montessori will bring out in our daughter. I'm not sure who the person below is talking about, but the downstairs teachers are wonderful, caring people. According to staff I talked to, they are working on the "recess" area to modify and enhance it. Definately would reccommend this school to any parent looking for a wonderful and safe environment for thier child.

American Montessori Inc (The) 5

Posted August 22, 2011
- a parent
American Montessori is definately a true Montessori school. Maria Montessori would be proud of this school, the affection and care shown by all the teachers, the knowledge that these children have is incredilble. My child is now in Pre-K and moved up from downstairs, he knows so much and his attitude towards school is awesome, he loves going there everyday. The preschool and toddler teachers taught him so much and the love they showed has helped his confidence. In regards to the persons earlier post about the downstairs teachers and the play area, i have a few comments. While it may not be the most pristine area, at least the children are in a safe area. I also heard that they were planning some upgrades in the near future to address that area. My son had a wonderful time with the teachers downstairs, and he looks forward to going to the upstairs rooms now. I always got answers from the staff when i asked about my son and his progress. The parent's response below almost sounds like a competitor making bad remarks, just to try and bring down the school. I would highly reccommend this wonderful Montessori school to anyone. Feel free to email me with questions you may have. John

American Montessori Inc (The) 5

Posted August 22, 2011
- a parent
I am very impressed with American Montessori. This school has been a wonderful stepping stone in our daughters life. She started there when she was 2 years old in the toddler room, Miss Angie did a wondeful job taking care of her and teaching her. As she progressed into preschool, Miss Theresa stepped in and continued the love and teaching. I was so impressed with how much she had learned by the time she was ready to move upstairs, she knew so much. She continued to blossom into a fine young lady and continued to learn and trhive at AM, I was so totally amazed by the depth of knowledge she had about so many things. Her reading and math skills continued to be enhanced by Miss Zulekha until she graduated last year. The experience i had here at AM was a very enjoyable one, Miss Sandy and the staff are teachers who are dedicated to the success of our children and it shows in their skills of teaching and how they care for these kids. I would hands down reccommend this Montessori to anyone who is looking for a loving, caring, and educational environement for their own children. Thank you to Miss Sandy and all the staff for all the work you do and bringing out the best in our kids.


American Montessori Inc (The) 1

Posted August 19, 2011
- a parent
I am not impressed with this school. I've noticed my child unhappy at home and definitely showing signs of stress when they get back. I've seen numerous times my child and other children "shushed" very strongly and rudely by one teacher for unnecessary reasons. I've also seen my child pulled up by the arm very roughly. I don't think this is a true montessori school nor do I think one of the teachers in the basement has even been trained in childcare. I'm not impressed with the "recess" area either as it's just a dirt area with some plastic toys laying around. There is no communication between the instructor and the parents. Upon asking how my child is doing, I get "fine". My child will be going somewhere else, with actual qualifications and teachers who encourage a montessori learning environment.

American Montessori Inc (The) 5

Posted July 27, 2011
- a parent
American Montessori is a terrific school for your child to learn and to feel loved and welcomed. The teachers are very kind, loving and caring and do a wonderful job teaching the children. Our son has been attending there since last summer and is going into the pre-k class upstairs. He is excited that he gets to learn what the other kids know. It has been a wonderful experience for our family.

American Montessori Inc (The) 5

Posted July 26, 2011
- a parent
Our child attended American Montessori last fall and it was a great experience. She learned so much from the teachers downstairs, I was sad when we had to leave due to us moving. I would highly reccommend this school to anyone who is looking for a loving, caring and knowledgable staff to care for thier child. Definately a great school


American Montessori Inc (The) 5

Posted July 20, 2011
- a parent
American Montessori is a wonderful school, my son is attending downstairs now and we have seen no issues with the teachers. They are loving, kind very qualified and knowledgable and have taught him how to start reading small words. I would reccomend this school as a great place to prepare your child for 1st grade and beyond.

American Montessori Inc (The) 2

Posted June 19, 2011
- a parent
American Montessori seemed like the perfect choice for my child at first glance. They taught her how to read 3 letter words b age 3 and also showed her how to clean up. But as time went on my daughter became more and more unhappy and began yelling at home. I realized it was in imitation of her teachers. I heard them yelling at and intimidating children numerous times. The teachers are not certified. Miss Sandy seemed uninterested in the children and put on as if she were always available bus was very hard to reach when questions were raised. They have had more than one investigation by the state and numerous citations. The education there was of good quality but I would never trade my child emotional and physical well-being for that.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

American Montessori Inc (The)
13973 West Preserve Boulevard, Burnsville, MN  55337
(952) 736-1004
Last modified American Montessori Inc (The) is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
American Montessori Inc (The) Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top