Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

American Montessori Inc (The)

Preschool | 65 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Burnsville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $155,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2013

Our daughter has attended American Montessori in Burnsville for 2 1/2 years since the age of 3 years old. We cannot say enough good things about the teachers and staff at this school. She has grown into a respectful, fun loving and smart little girl during her years at American Montessori. The teachers at this school know doubt had a great impact on her learning, development and success. We are sad to see her leave this school but know she is prepared to enter Elementary School as a first grade student. We have great appreciation for the staff and teachers for their hard work and dedication!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2013

This is a great school. My 4 yr old loves attending, she has learned so much from the teachers. It is a wonderful place for any child to attend. I would reccommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2011

American Montessori is a great school. My child attends there and loves it, the teachers know and care so much for the kids. It is great to see the loving kindness that they show to the children. It is very affordable and she has learned so much, she will be starting preschool there on 8/31. We are excited for this year and what American Montessori will bring out in our daughter. I'm not sure who the person below is talking about, but the downstairs teachers are wonderful, caring people. According to staff I talked to, they are working on the "recess" area to modify and enhance it. Definately would reccommend this school to any parent looking for a wonderful and safe environment for thier child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2011

American Montessori is definately a true Montessori school. Maria Montessori would be proud of this school, the affection and care shown by all the teachers, the knowledge that these children have is incredilble. My child is now in Pre-K and moved up from downstairs, he knows so much and his attitude towards school is awesome, he loves going there everyday. The preschool and toddler teachers taught him so much and the love they showed has helped his confidence. In regards to the persons earlier post about the downstairs teachers and the play area, i have a few comments. While it may not be the most pristine area, at least the children are in a safe area. I also heard that they were planning some upgrades in the near future to address that area. My son had a wonderful time with the teachers downstairs, and he looks forward to going to the upstairs rooms now. I always got answers from the staff when i asked about my son and his progress. The parent's response below almost sounds like a competitor making bad remarks, just to try and bring down the school. I would highly reccommend this wonderful Montessori school to anyone. Feel free to email me with questions you may have. John
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2011

I am very impressed with American Montessori. This school has been a wonderful stepping stone in our daughters life. She started there when she was 2 years old in the toddler room, Miss Angie did a wondeful job taking care of her and teaching her. As she progressed into preschool, Miss Theresa stepped in and continued the love and teaching. I was so impressed with how much she had learned by the time she was ready to move upstairs, she knew so much. She continued to blossom into a fine young lady and continued to learn and trhive at AM, I was so totally amazed by the depth of knowledge she had about so many things. Her reading and math skills continued to be enhanced by Miss Zulekha until she graduated last year. The experience i had here at AM was a very enjoyable one, Miss Sandy and the staff are teachers who are dedicated to the success of our children and it shows in their skills of teaching and how they care for these kids. I would hands down reccommend this Montessori to anyone who is looking for a loving, caring, and educational environement for their own children. Thank you to Miss Sandy and all the staff for all the work you do and bringing out the best in our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2011

I am not impressed with this school. I've noticed my child unhappy at home and definitely showing signs of stress when they get back. I've seen numerous times my child and other children "shushed" very strongly and rudely by one teacher for unnecessary reasons. I've also seen my child pulled up by the arm very roughly. I don't think this is a true montessori school nor do I think one of the teachers in the basement has even been trained in childcare. I'm not impressed with the "recess" area either as it's just a dirt area with some plastic toys laying around. There is no communication between the instructor and the parents. Upon asking how my child is doing, I get "fine". My child will be going somewhere else, with actual qualifications and teachers who encourage a montessori learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2011

American Montessori is a terrific school for your child to learn and to feel loved and welcomed. The teachers are very kind, loving and caring and do a wonderful job teaching the children. Our son has been attending there since last summer and is going into the pre-k class upstairs. He is excited that he gets to learn what the other kids know. It has been a wonderful experience for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2011

Our child attended American Montessori last fall and it was a great experience. She learned so much from the teachers downstairs, I was sad when we had to leave due to us moving. I would highly reccommend this school to anyone who is looking for a loving, caring and knowledgable staff to care for thier child. Definately a great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2011

American Montessori is a wonderful school, my son is attending downstairs now and we have seen no issues with the teachers. They are loving, kind very qualified and knowledgable and have taught him how to start reading small words. I would reccomend this school as a great place to prepare your child for 1st grade and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2011

American Montessori seemed like the perfect choice for my child at first glance. They taught her how to read 3 letter words b age 3 and also showed her how to clean up. But as time went on my daughter became more and more unhappy and began yelling at home. I realized it was in imitation of her teachers. I heard them yelling at and intimidating children numerous times. The teachers are not certified. Miss Sandy seemed uninterested in the children and put on as if she were always available bus was very hard to reach when questions were raised. They have had more than one investigation by the state and numerous citations. The education there was of good quality but I would never trade my child emotional and physical well-being for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

Both my kids went to American Montessori. They were both able to skip a grade afterwards! We felt the fees were reasonable and the education was excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

My son & daughter just finished kindegarten at AM, they have learned so much from Miss Zulekha and Miss Sandy. They have been attending the school since they were 16 months old and have transistioned so well. I would reccommend this school to everyone, the staff is so attentive to the childrens needs and Miss Sandy does a wonderful job keeping us informed of their progress. What a great school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2009

My son just completed two years at the school. He enjoyed going to school and learned a great deal that prepared him for entering the public school. His learning skills was brilliantly developed by the teachers at the school. This is a great school with good programs. The school environment is wonderful as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2009

I have two children who have attended American Montessori for most of their lives. One is in the Pre-K program and one is attending Kindergarten. The level of academics they are both mastering is unbelievable. They have both been learning Spanish and my 5 year old is doing multiplication! They both love their school, teachers and other students. I feel AM has prepared them for very well for their next level of education. So much so, I am having a hard time choosing their next school. I keep comparing the schools unfavorably to AM! I definitely recommend this school. It is a place of learning, creativity, responsibility, friendship and diversity. It is an ideal environment in which children can fulfill their potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

Soon after enrolling our daughter in the American Montessori preschool program, we witnessed her swift and significant joy for learning and accomplishment. The thoughtful teachers and staff at American Montessori brilliantly tapped her potential for learning by making it fun, interesting and energizing. We are forever grateful to the owners and staff of American Montessori as they bestowed unto our daughter the love of learning, quiet confidence and pride in accomplishment. The Montessori Method is unmatched in our eyes; we see the proof of its success every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

This is a tremendous school, the teachers are very friendly and kind. Our children love it there
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 73%
Black 30% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 6%
Hispanic 10% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Sign Language
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00am
School end time
  • 4:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Miss Sandy Bunnell
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Fax number
  • (952) 736-8430

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Sign Language
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
More from this school
  • Located in a private home
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13973 West Preserve Boulevard
Burnsville, MN 55337
Website: Click here
Phone: (952) 736-1004

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare

Add this school to compare
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT