Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Stepanski Early Childhood Center

Public | K | 44 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 12, 2012

My son is in mrs. Berden/Wiseman 4yr preschool class now and I think they are excellent with the kids. There is a lot of structure in the classroom and they don't put up with whinning or violence in the classroom. They are kind, but stern with the kids when they need to be, but they are fun and my son loves them. In a couple years my youngest will be attending stepanski and I am looking forward to him having mrs. Berden/Wiseman for teachers just like his big brother.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2011

Overall I've been very pleased with Stepanski for my child's first school experience. She attended the Hand-in-Hand program as a 2 year old with Mrs. Hungerford, and also had her for 3 year old preschool and a number of their summer enrichment classes. Mrs. H is simply the most wonderful preschool teacher you would want for your kids going to school for the first time - she is so warm and so caring and she helps all the kids feel great about being there. She then had Mrs. Berden and Mrs. Wiseman for 4 year old preschool - while they were good teachers, and my daughter did well in their class, it is much more rigid and structured. I was disappointed with how they treated some of the other kids who weren't as good about following the rules and seemed to show more frustration than patience with them. The 4 year old program is more academic-based and they did a great job preparing the kids for kindergarten, but I worry for some kids it could be a really negative experience rather than a positive one. The impression that they gave me was that they would be better off teaching older kids in grade school. My daughter as enjoyed the child care program as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2010

my son has attended 3 and 4 year old preschool and junior kindergarten at this school and i could not be happier. the teachers, staff, and administrators are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

My daughter attended both the wraparound child care and the 4 year old 4-day class. I found the child care to be sufficient but disorganized: issues with meal times (some days she wouldn't eat more than a few bites at lunch) and communication (the morning people wouldn't talk to the afternoon people so when I would pick her up, no one would tell me of how she got that cut/scrape). The preschool class was okay - but there was absolutely no personalized attention. Your child will learn only what the teacher is expected to teach - my child went backwards in learning because she wasn't being challenged and I had taught her everything they were going to teach. The extras (library, gym, etc) were good and the playground is great. This preschool is better if your child is just starting to get ready for school, not already ready for school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

My son is also in the WPSEE program. This is his second year. We really noticed a difference in his speech after the first month in the program. The teachers are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

My daughter is in the hand in hand class and we love it! they have tons of things to do outside of school also! I would recommend this class to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

My sons both attended Stepanski. One in HeadStart and one in Alternative Kindergarten. It's unfortunate that this little school only goes to kindergarten. They should be the model of how a school is run, taught, etc. The teachers and staff are wonderful. Also, every HeadStart teacher has a Bachelor's degree at the minimum. Most continue their education and Stepanski does not have a high turn-over for staff. That alone says something.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

We have a 4 year old daughter that will start her 3rd year in the fall of '07. She has Cerebral Palsy. While I feel the school could be updated a bit, the Teachers, Aides and Therapists are great! They take the time needed for helping their children succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

We get great feedback from the staff and our son and has really taken off. He started the WPSEE program at 3 and is making great progress with his speech delay. He loves going to school and will actually become upset if school is closed or on holiday break.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2004

My son went to this school as well, also had Mrs. Berden/Mrs. Wiseman as well as the child care program. Found the entire program to be beneficial and fruitful. Nice environment. Principal seems to respond well to feedback.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2004

I am a teacher at Clarkston High School, and my son Christian attends Stepanski. I am completely impressed with the school and its faculty. My son started in the fall 2003 and loves it. He attends a preschool program as well as the child care. It makes my life so much easier as a working single parent when my son loves getting up in the morning and going to school. I have found Stepanski to be reasonably priced and to be an excellent learning facility. I have happily watched my son flourish academically and socially in the last year. Mrs. Berden, his preschool teacher, is a warm and caring teacher. She effectively communicates with the parents and welcomes parents to participate in school activities. My son is getting all of the necessary stimulation for his pertinent growth and development and I cannot say enough good things about Stepanski School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2004

The quality of education my son receives from this school is wonderful. I reccomend this school highly. My son has a speech delay and has made great progress since starting classes here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 69%
African-American 11% 18%
Asian 7% 3%
Hispanic 7% 6%
American Indian N/A 1%
Multiracial N/A 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Cathy Force
Fax number
  • (248) 666-8669

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6010 Hatchery Rd
Waterford, MI 48329
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 666-9593

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Brookfield Academy
Waterford, MI







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT