Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori Center Of Downriver

Preschool

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Southgate

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $66,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2013

downriver montessori was a fantastic school to send my son, ahmed. he attended the school from 2010-2013 as a half-timer and in that time mrs. kerri and her team did an exceptional job with him in reading, mathematics, social interactions.. the school is comfortable and inviting. the staff are all caring.. good investment. as parent we wish that the school would expand into an elementary program...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

Wonderful school, wonderful teachers! If you are looking for an AUTHENTIC Montessori school, look no further. All of the lead teachers are Montessori certified, with their credentials posted so you can see them. Even the assistants have Montessori training! I would send my child no where else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2013

My daughter attended Mrs. Mary's school for two years for the preschool program. She is in third grade now and reading way above her grade level. She loves school and loves to learn and is quite the little artist! I'm confident that much of her success in school now has been from the outstanding education and care she received at Montessori. She still talks about it to this day!! I'm happy and feel great that my son is attending there now and getting the same wonderful experience my daughter received. If you are looking for a great school for your toddler, preschool aged children or kindergarten, this is where you want your child to attend! Best Montessori School in all of Downriver...by far!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2011

My daughter has been in the toddler program for almost a year and it is amazing what she has learned and how she has developed since being at this school. Through the hands-on learning and the care of excellent teachers, she has learned to communicate very well and knows her colors, shapes, numbers and alphabet. She is well on her way to being potty trained as well, the bathroom facilities are lowered to their level for ease of use. It has been well worth the tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

Both of my children attended Montessori Downriver.The results follow the children for years.My son is a successful junior in college and my daughter started 1st grade reading at a 4th grade level !The employees have been there many years with VERY low turnover.Not only are the lessons academic,but also social & life skills.Your tuition will be an investment in their long term success.The facility is clean & new and all employees are very nurturing.Even if you are a stay at home Mom,you must send your child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2008

My son attends Montessori Center of Downriver. We just love it! I researched many schools before picking this one. I'm so glad I did. As a teacher myself, I was amazed at the lessons these children are taught. Every child should be lucky enough to attend a preschool like this one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

My oldest son has been attending Montessori Center of Downriver for the last year and a half and came on recommendation from two friends who had their children there as well. While my husband was not 'sold' on the Montessori philosophy early on, he has changed his mind. I attended Montessori myself and knew this is the type of education that I wanted for my children. The director, Ms. Mary and her entire staff are wonderful. They address all concerns immediately and keep parents well informed. I cannot believe how much my son has excelled in their program. He's 4 and is learning to read. We recently attended a parent night at the school and could tell the pride he has in his work and all that he has learned. It's amazing to see. Our youngest is starting their toddler program in January, and we can't wait to see his progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2008

This is an excellent school for my child. The education he recieved was awesome! He just loves his teachers, and I can tell they love him back. The director is wonderful and very personable, and the staff she has is top rate. Hands down best school in the downriver area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

I cannot say enough good things about Montessori Center of Downriver. They provide a loving, positive environment that fosters learning and social development. My three children all received an EXCELLENT preschool and kindergarten education. They started first grade well above average in reading. This is an excellent choice if you're looking for a preschool/kindergarten. The ONLY choice Downriver as far as this mom is concerned.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 69%
African-American 0% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 6%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • Other Montessori

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15575 Northline Road
Southgate, MI 48195
Phone: (734) 282-6465

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT