Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Montessori Center Of Our Lady 1

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
If I could give 0 starts, I'd have given it. Don't send your kid here, teachers are very biased, do not encourage kids, by far the regular schools are much better. They operate just for money.

Montessori Center Of Our Lady 5

Posted April 19, 2013
- a parent
Montesorri Center of Our Lady livonia,mi MY SON HAS BEEN ATTENDING SINCE HE WAS OLD ENOUGH, SISTER RITA MS JODI ARE WONDERFUL, MY SON ISSA LOVES HIS SCHOOL AND LEARNED ALL ABOUT HIS FAITH, AND READS AND WRITES AND PLAYS PIANO MRS SHIRIANTI THE MUSIC TEACHER HAS WON MY SON A AWARD AT SCHOOLCRAFT COLLEDGE , MY SON IS 5 YEARS OLD AND SCORED 98 OUT 100 FOR MUSIC ACADEMY, ALL THE NUNS ARE GREAT AND STRONG LEADERS IN SCHOOL I HAVE BEEN ASKED TO PARTICIPATE, MANY TIMES VERY OPEN , I LOVE THIS SCHOOL ITS THE BEST I EVER DID FOR MY SON, I SEEN A FEW REMARKS, THAT WERE FALSE, ABOUT THIS SCHOOL , AND I KNOW SOME OF THEM AND YOU KNOW SOME PEOPLE ARE NEVER HAPPY AND FEEL IN CONTROL TO COMPLAIN CALL ME AND ASK ME ABOUT THE SCHOOL MY NAME IS GEORGE 1 73 4 260 9490, TRUST ME YOUR KIDS WILL BE TRANSFORMED,, I WILL SAY THIS YOU MUST CONTINUE WHAT THE TEACHERS DO AND YOU WILL HAVE GREAT KID, LET THE NUNS DO THE JOB , AND CONTINUE WHAT THEY DO . I CANT SAY ENOUGH PLEASE CALL ME IAM OPEN I NEVER SEEN ANYTHING WRONG HERE, THE TEACHERS GIVE YOU NEWSLETTER TO INFORM U TO UNDERSTAND WHY YOUR KID IS POURING WATER IN CUP, THEYE TEACH MOTOR SKILLS, I LOVE THIS PLACE


Montessori Center Of Our Lady 1

Posted February 10, 2013
- a parent
This school used to be good one upto the year2010.The teachers are inconsistent.Every year yeachers quit the school.The number of children in school is going down as other parents are unhappy.The hard working,sincere,loving and caring staff is gone so the quality of the school has gone down.I pulled out my son from this place.I would not recommend this school.

Montessori Center Of Our Lady 5

Posted October 22, 2012
- a parent
I highly recommend this school!! I have sent all three of my childern to this Montessori school and it was HANDS DOWN THE BEST START TO A GREAT EDUCATION!! Since attending Montessori my childern have excelled in thier current schools esp. in Math and Science fields. I truely belive thier achievments can be direclty attributed to the solid foundation they acquired during their 3 years at this amazing school. The school as a whole attended mass once a week which is the standard for Catholic Schools. Also,the teachers where very loving and caring towards the childern but ,made sure there was order in the classroom which by all accounts was very organized. When it was time to pick up or drop off the kids their is always a hall monitor to greet the parents. I always felt the childern safety was their number one priority. When my childern attended Montesorri Center of Our Lady there was a multitude of many nationalities prevalent in the school which only further enriched my childern's education !! I just loved everything about this school. Can't recommend it enough!

Montessori Center Of Our Lady 2

Posted September 05, 2012
- a parent
2.5 stars for me. The building is beautiful and the location is pretty ideal. However, I had hopes of a Montessori PLUS Catholic learning program and found that there is in fact a combination of both, however, this school falls short of each. I am a huge advocate of montessori learning. This school, though it does practice Montessori methods, is not 100% Montessori. Montessori is only effective when it is fully enveloped into daily activities and classroom organization. The Catholic/religious side is not as practiced as I had hoped. Chapel services are only once a week and children are separated into catholic and general groups. There is not prayer before snacks nor pledge of allegiance in class. The Catholic sisters are only present in the front office which is highly unorganized. The security was one of the strongest points of interest for me. It appears that the main entry doors remained locked, but they are wide open during school pickup/drop off. This makes no difference than any other school. Finally, the student body and staff is probably 90% Indian, and the environment is VERY quiet and "stuffy". I want my hold to enjoy his experience. He did not at this school.


Montessori Center Of Our Lady 3

Posted October 13, 2011
- a parent
They don't seem to handle well, or have adequate solutions for, children who need extra guidance socially or academically. Academics are good, but i'm not sure they truly work with children of different working paces as they claim - In fact I've heard complaints about children who are not "with the group academically". Perhaps it depends on which classroom you get - beware. Many parents have transfered their children out of my child's classroom. I have seen children picking on others on several occasions & the teachers unaware - I would not expect this from this school with how much they emphasize rules, manners, behaviors, etc (and there's 2 teachers in there, & often a parent volunteer). Diversity? Yes if you want to be around largely Indian population - if you call that diverse. Look at the post from Dec 2010 "My already gifted son". This is a mild display of the mentality of the parents there. It can be a very "stuffy" environment, and these are just tots for heavens sake! Overall the school is OK, not sure I would recommend, but I'm all about giving 2nd chances. Looking to change classroom in hopes of better environment. - experienced teacher 2011

Montessori Center Of Our Lady 5

Posted July 21, 2010
- a parent
A wonderful place to begin! The teachers all have a heart for teaching young children. My daughter has thrived there!

Montessori Center Of Our Lady 5

Posted March 11, 2009
- a parent
I don't think you could find a better school. My son attended Montessori Center of Our Lady for 3 years graduating in spring 2008. They could charge twice as much and it would be worth it. He thrived. He LOVED learning. He was so far ahead when he started 1st grade at a Cathollic school with a strong academic record that although it is now the 3rd quarter, they still have not caught up to where he was in math. The only downside of this school is you will have such high expectations of the next school, they will never be able to meet your expectations. As this was my first son in school, I didn't truly understand how outstanding this school was until I tried to find another school to measure up. You won't.


Montessori Center Of Our Lady 5

Posted February 06, 2009
- a parent
Our daughter graduated from this school in spring 2008, having spent 2 years in the program (age 4-5). We were overall very pleased with this school, my daughter entered into 1st grade more than prepared academically. This program I feel is superior to most in our area. The Montessori philosophy of child-directed learning with mixed ages, coupled with the Catholic structure/teachings/moral foundation allowed my girl to really thrive at her own pace. Parent volunteering is available. The few issues that I had come up over the years were minor, and I was willing to tolerate them, for all of the benefits really outweighed them. You will never find perfection in a school, but this one was as close as we could get.

Montessori Center Of Our Lady 5

Posted June 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montessori Center Of Our Lady
14200 Newburgh Road, Livonia, MI  48150
(734) 591-1599
Last modified Montessori Center Of Our Lady is a Private school that serves grade PK
Montessori Center Of Our Lady Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top