Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
2 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 8 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ferndale Head Start 5

Posted March 26, 2016
- a parent
My daughter attended this program in Grant School for a month and learned a ton. I then took a job which conflicted with the program's hours and had to put my daughter in day care for an academic year and she was a mess until she began the program again in the following fall. She is just four and her recognition of letters and numbers is astounding - not to mention overall manners and behavior and confidence improved greatly from the structure and respect they teach in the classroom.

Ferndale Head Start
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 26, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Troutt is awesome! And so is her assistant Ms. Anna. My daughter loves them both and that's very important to me, as they interact with her and influence her a great deal.


Ferndale Head Start
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 26, 2016
- a parent
Teachers really know their "stuff"... not about the classroom proceedings or daily routines, but about what types of behaviours need addressing and why the students are doing such things. They offer advice and assistance to nurture my daughter in a empowering voice.

Ferndale Head Start
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 26, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is pre-school, Head Start, and has few assignments she brings home. Some of those that are brought home, are really just reinforcements of what they learning in the classroom - letter recognition and numbers/counting. I'm grateful that the teachers are creating the foundation for my daughter so that I, as a working mom, don't have to. And still I can be involved in helping my daughter learning

Ferndale Head Start
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 26, 2016
- a parent
My daughter doesn't give up when she is faced with challenges. I believe this comes from the confidence built in the classroom, either from direct discussion about persistence and encouragement or from providing a loving and non-judgmental environment


Ferndale Head Start
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 26, 2016
- a parent
Teachers encourage self-discipline, sharing, cultural awareness, self-confidence through structured games and activities. I have no specific examples.

Ferndale Head Start
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 26, 2016
- a parent
The teachers have taught my daughter appropriate "language" to help express her feelings of anger, disappointment or sorrow, rather than throwing tantrums or hitting. The class is organized and structured and my daughter loves going to school, opposite to when I had her in daycare, which she hated and I had switched her to several different day care schools before I got her into the Head Start at Grant.

Ferndale Head Start 4

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
This school is really nice and the staff has some changes for the better. There is speech therapy and special ed. for autistic children which is very nice. The Headstart teachers give it their all to make sure the children are safe. There is breakfast and lunch and snack for the kids. The parks are fenced in which to me is a safety plus!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ferndale Head Start
21131 Garden Ln, Ferndale, MI  48220
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. (248) 586-8828
Last modified Ferndale Head Start is a Private school that serves grade PK
Top