Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-K
Private
Canton, MI
Students enrolled: 16

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Michael Christian School 5

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
My daughter started in preschool this past fall and we couldn't be happier. I was shocked to read the poor reviews from a few years ago. I think the School Board has been fantastic and has the best interest of the kids in mind at all times. Ms. Pam and Ms. Vanessa are fantastic, the best preschool teachers I could have ever imagined. We were originally just looking for a preschool for my daughter but we are so happy here I think she will continue with elementary school as well. Not only will she receive a great Christian education, she won't get lost in the 30+ class sizes at the public schools.

St. Michael Christian School 5

Posted August 25, 2009
- a parent
I love the teachers at this school and the education my child received last year and will receive this year! My son was in the young fives program last year and the curriculum was at or above the public school s curriculum. The fees are also reasonably priced and were the best in the area compared to other education-based preschools. There is also a small student-teacher ratio, which is great for helping young children. In the same aspect, the small class sizes can be a negative when making a transition to a larger public school setting. Overall this is a wonderful school and I would recommend it to anyone.


St. Michael Christian School 1

Posted August 21, 2009
- a parent
My child is a former student. It was not a good experience and we would never return...there is a such thing as TOO small...these classes are so small they are just not like the real world. 6 kids in one grade? That is just crazy...how will these kids compete in junior high, let alone college..... Also, I had numerous problems with the board and was very vocal...they never did anything but tell me I was a bad Christian.

St. Michael Christian School 5

Posted March 12, 2009
- a parent
I have a preschooler in St. Michael Christian School right now, and we love having him there! The teachers and staff are great. You can tell that they absolutely care about what they do, because they do it so well. The evidence is my son's enthusiasm... He WANTS to go to school, and when I see him after school, he is so excited to tell me about his day!

St. Michael Christian School 5

Posted March 08, 2009
- a community member
I recently opened this website because I heard that there were some negatvie reviews regarding St. Michael Christian School. I saw them, was surprised that they were there, and just had to respond. Since 2005, I have two relatives attending this school and am very satisfied with the quality of education they are receiving. In addition, the smaller class sizes are providing the opportunity for each of them to receive any individual attention that they may need. Even more important, they are learning about our Lord and Savior and what He expects from His children. I can see that this part of their education is definitely molding them into well behaved, caring and loving children. I recommend this school highly.


St. Michael Christian School 5

Posted January 21, 2009
- a parent
My child attends preschool at St. Michael and he absolutely loves it! Our experience has been wonderful he has learned so much and the teacher is fabulous. I would definateley recommend this school without reservation. I think any problems they may have had are in the past.

St. Michael Christian School 5

Posted January 10, 2009
- a parent
We have nothing but positive things to say about St. Michael Christian School. Our child is currently in the kindergarten program. The teachers have been absolutely terrific. We are amazed at how much our child has learned in the past four months. The smaller class size is great. The public schools currently have up to 27 students in the kindergarten class (with one teacher and sometimes an aide). How much learning is actually taking place there??? We will absolutely be sending our other children here. If you are considering a private school, definitely check out SMCS.

St. Michael Christian School 4

Posted January 06, 2008
- a parent
My children have been attending smcs since the first grade and although I do have to agree about the boards lack of taking care of situations I can not express enough how the wonderful the teaching staff more than makes up for their shortcomings.SMCS has been a blessing for our family and my children have truly learned so much more than just the acedemics they have learned good leadership qulities, how to problem solve and how to care for their fellow classmates. I can not stress enough how amazing the teachers are they actullay know your childs name and something about them they are not just a number or a child in the back row.The small class size ensures that your childs gets the help they need and that they do not feel overwhelmed. My children love going to school each day.


St. Michael Christian School 0
no rating

Posted August 23, 2007
- a parent
I was very disappointed with the last year my children attended this school. Church and school do not work together. Very disappointing. Would not recommend this school at this time.

St. Michael Christian School 5

Posted August 02, 2007
- a parent
I don't know who placed the comments just before this one but they obviously had no involvement or communication with the teacher or the other staff of this school because if they had they would known that their children had plenty of gym time and outdoor time (weather permitting) as well as assemblies geared specifically for preschool as well as great field trips (pumpkin patch/corn maze, Dominos farm, and roller rink.) There were some minor problems with one class but within a few weeks things were running smoothly and the problem left on her own without willing to try to work things out. This school can't be held responsible for one persons actions and this person is no longer with the school. As for the rest of the staff they are very dedicated and determined to make this next year a great one and I will be there to see it!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Michael Christian School
7000 N Sheldon Rd, Canton, MI  48187
(734) 459-9720
Last modified St. Michael Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
St. Michael Christian School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top