Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Green Apple Garden Playschool 5

Posted February 13, 2014
- a parent
Green Apple Garden Playschool is a fine mix of loose structure and free play. They have a very strong outdoor component, and teach environmental stewardship and sustainability. They spend lots of time outside exploring. They learn so much through hands-on experiences. The staff are loving and wonderful with the kids. My son loves going to school there!

Green Apple Garden Playschool 5

Posted November 09, 2013
- a parent
I have two children that attend Green Apple Garden. They are genuinely excited for school days and are happy and smiling when I pick them up at the end of the day. The school environment is warm and engaging and the daily structure allows the teachers to attend to the needs of each child. They have monthly/weekly activity themes which are fun and creative and they will tailor them to your child's interests. They embrace impromptu child directed activities such as splashing in a giant puddle or a child inspired role playing game. My oldest loves to sing me the songs he has learned. I love how much time my children spend playing outside. They have a huge yard and great space for riding bikes. I love how the smallest children are kept close and never left to sit idle in a crib. The teachers love babywearing which allows the little guys/gals to feel a part of the action but keeps them at a safe distance from the klutzy bopping toddlers/preschoolers. The teachers really make the school feel like a family.


Green Apple Garden Playschool 5

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
Unique program with genuine caring for children. I appreciate that it's play-based and the kids aren't in highly scheduled, controlled activities. The teachers seem to enjoy being there and many are parents as well which isn't always true. Another great characteristic is that they straddle the daycare/preschool worlds well. They have full-day care with flexibility and don't take children younger than 12 months.

Green Apple Garden Playschool 4

Posted November 07, 2013
- a parent
A commitment to sustainability, genuine sense of community, dedication to child-led play, and a focus on the individual strengths of each child are just some of the characteristics I love most about Green Apple. Rare is the day that my son actual wants to leave preschool with me when I arrive to pick him up. Green Apple is giving my son the chance to explore, discover and become a life long learner.

Green Apple Garden Playschool 5

Posted November 07, 2013
- a parent
There is no doubt that Green Apple Garden is one of the finest programs around. The teachers are involved, caring, active, and knowledgeable. The facility is well cared for and full of age-appropriate activities (as well as safe). My kids love going there and they can't wait for the days they spend there.


Green Apple Garden Playschool 5

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
I love this preschool! its nature based and child led with lots of music and art. The kids get to play, explore, get dirty, question, create, grow and harvest vegetables (my daughter who at one point would not eat "green stuff" wouldn't leave green apple without going to the kale plant to pick some leaves to munch on the way home) all this is done in an environment of love and respect. teachers wear the little ones when they need comfort (many times multiple kids at the same time) and children every day experience this love, trust and respect for any living thing and just incorporate it to their lives naturally.

Green Apple Garden Playschool 5

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
This playschool is truly unique. The environment and teachers are extremely nurturing and the children are treated as individuals and valued for who they are. The teachers will hold or carry children who need comforting and interact with the all of the children in positive ways rather than just barking rules at them. The outdoor space is wonderful and my son enjoys having so much outdoor time- most other preschools I visited had kids indoors for the majority of the day. He comes home happy and relaxed. I have experience over decades of time with Ann Arbor preschools and Green Apple is my favorite.

Green Apple Garden Playschool 5

Posted November 04, 2013
- a parent
I love their commitment to playing outdoors, playing with nature, and be aware of the environment. They focus on child led play which I think it so important for children. They choose healthy snacks for the kids and even plant their own garden! My son comes home happy, dirty, and his energy spent!


Green Apple Garden Playschool 4

Posted November 04, 2013
- a parent
There are lots of great things about this school: the teachers are passionate, kind, and engaged, and I love that the kids go outside every day to play and explore. The big focus on play-based education is wonderful too. Like any newer school, they've had growing pains (keeping teachers, having consistent communication w/parents, structure, etc.), but they're a dedicated bunch & I think they'll just get better and better.

Green Apple Garden Playschool 4

Posted November 01, 2013
- a teacher
They are committed to things I am committed to as a parent: outdoor time, free play, gentle communication, positive guidance, nature, and art. I love the child-led learning, and they way they teach the kids about positive social interactions.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Green Apple Garden Playschool
2664 Miller Road, Ann Arbor, MI  48103
(734) 369-8248
Last modified Green Apple Garden Playschool is a Private school that serves grade PK
Green Apple Garden Playschool Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top