Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Briarwood Child Academy

Preschool

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Seekonk

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $241,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2014

This school is one of the worst run school I have every had the displeasure of dealing with they are constantly off ration teacher/student the teachers are overwhelmed and dont have time to deal with the children appropriately and therefore get stressed out and are not nice to the children They cannot keep a teacher or a director for any length of time. If I could give them 0 stars I would. This is the most unprofessional and poorly run school I have ever known I had to pull my child out of the preschoold class due to their incompetence. I would say run dont walk to another school!!! They have new owners so the good reviews are from the previous school owners. The new owners have destroyed the school with their mismanagement!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2014

The teachers were very good and care about the children. The leadership was less than helpful. I had difficulty finding answers to questions and we experienced a lack of communication with the administration. We removed our child from Briarwood Academy in Seekonk. Very disappointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2009

I've been using Briarwood since 2000 (shortly after the school opened their doors). I have 5 children (3 through 16 years old). We switched the daycare of my oldest two twice and can attest to numerous less than desireable experiences with both schools. When my third child arrived I literally cried after looking at all local facility based schools in the area. Thankfully a friend encouraged me to look into Briarwood as the facility had just opened. It's history from there as they say. We love it love it love it! If you don't then you have to experience the other less than desirable places out there. Our 3rd and 4th child attended since infants and our 5th is currently enrolled. Our 'Briarwood Graduates' ask to go back and visit the warm and friend Administrators and Staff at Briarwood all the time and they are always welcomed. We highly recommend Briarwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2009

My husband and I first learned of Briarwood in July of 2008 when we moved from Providence to Seekonk. Our new next door neighbor had been sending her son there and was very pleased with the School. At that time, we were looking for a daycare/pre-school for our son. We called and arragned for a tour and we very impressed with what we experienced. Everyone was very friendly and quick to answer our questions. Teachers were busy with the children. We also felt very good about the school's safety policies. The outside play area was very spacious (something hard to find nowadays). Our son has been there since Novber of 2008 and he has been doing very well there. We like the part time rates and highly reccomend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

this school is simply the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

I was considering this school for my 2 year old son. One day I visited the school and the teachers all seemed to be nice and energetic, which was impressive. The tuition was on higher end, but I thought it may be worth it. I returned to register my son, but the receptionist was out of her office and nobody took notice of me because it was a busy time (lunch or something). I heard one teacher yelling to the kids, which was terrifying even to me as an adult. I understand that they could sometimes get upset with the kids, but I felt that could be the way the teachers treat the kids while parents are not there. So I just left there without registering my son. I ended up finding a loving babysitter, and he is not going to a preschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2007

I love Briarwood, but more importantly my son loves Briarwood. The teachers are wonderful, the director is fantastic, and the center itself is clean and well taken care of. The outside playgroud is spacious and offers a variety of activities for the children. The staff is sure to plan a calendar of age appropriate activities for the children while keeping the parents informed through a calendar and short newslatter each month. Other programs are sometimes offered(for an additional fee) such as gymboree and stretch-n-grow. My son loved both. The bottom line is, the staff treats my son well while keeping his mind busy with educational activities and his body busy with physical exercise and fun games. I can't say enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2007

High quality, too much turnover in teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2007

I love Briarwood. I am very picky and looked at almost every daycare facility available. Then I saw Briarwood and new immediately this was the right place. Very clean, large spaces, great outdoors, lots of things for the kids to do and wonderful teachers and administrators. I even have a daycare right next to where I work, but drive my son to Briarwood because I know it is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2007

We love Briarwood - my children have been attending since they were infants. I currently have children in the kindergarten and pre-school. My husband and I initially looked at 8 daycare centers, Briarwood was the last place we visited and knew immediately that we wanted to send our children there. The staff was incredibly friendly, eager to answer our questions; the facility is top notch - very clean with lots of things for the children; the outdoor space is great...every aspect of the school met with our approval. My kids love their teachers - we've been there so long they are like part of the family. Recently they've brought in a 'coach' to do exercises with the kids and teach them about nutrition. The children also raised money for St. Jude's Children's Hospital with a Trike-a-thon and sent care packages to Afghanistan. I am so happy with Briarwood!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1009 Taunton Avenue
Seekonk, MA 02771
Phone: (508) 336-8919

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT