Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John Breen School 4

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Mi daughter is in PK, she loves her schooll and her teachers, they are lovely Miss Py and Miss Wanda.. thanks all Schooll great

John Breen School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Estoy sumamente agrdecida con la escuela, mi hija de 4 anos tiene 3 meses que empezo la escuela, ha aprendido bastante y quiere ir a la escuela hasta los domingo, ella adora sus profesoras Miss Py y Miss Wanda son excelente profesoras, les doy gracias a ellas y a Maria por haberme permitido ingresar a mi hija a la escuela sigan asi, buen trabajo, gracias a la escuela entera


John Breen School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
Very few teachers are efective. A lot of them are rude and careless. Not fair to students

John Breen School 3

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
My son went to this school for Pre-k and he loved his teacher, she is great (Mrs. Cahill in room 2). But I did get to witness how most of the teachers in this school do not care for the children. So even though my son was well treated, I still worried for the other children that didn't have the same luck as mine.

John Breen School 5

Posted September 26, 2012
- a parent
I also disagree with the negative comments..This school is amazing the teachers care for the kids with their whole heart!!


John Breen School 5

Posted June 23, 2012
- a parent
I disagree with the parent who posted the comments last year in June. My question to you is, Did you address this issue with the school administrator? I have my children there for 2 years and I never had any issue. My son was assigned to another school for kindergarten and I asked the principal to keep him at the school without having any issues. I love the teachers and the staff. They welcome you every morning. I have been involved in the school activities as I am very well informed through the school calendar, PTO meetings, and the school telephone messages to parents. The school does a great job. I would keep my child there.

John Breen School 1

Posted July 04, 2011
- a parent
This school is over rated in my experience. The faculty I dealt with are uncaring and outright rude. They rarely return phone calls, inform parents about upcoming events until the last minute, if at all (I never received May or June's calender /other important paperwork)...despite calling for it. They treated my child like a stepchild! My child hated it there. Don't even mention the "curriculum". I have other children that I have had wonderful experiences with in the LPS, this is NOT one of them. You are your child's advocate, give them a decent start in a caring school. When my child started, the teacher made no attempt to greet either of us on the first day, I initiated that. She just came out and looked at us and went back in the room. She seemed very detached from the kids. That should have been my first clue. Trust me parents on this one. There is a reason the average community rating for this school is 1/5. If I could, I would give it less than that. The ONLY bright spot about this school was the nurse. I really should have listened to my friends and family and insisted my child go elsewhere. I have never written a review before but this was needed I feel. Just my opinion.

John Breen School 1

Posted September 19, 2008
- a parent
School has four floors and my kid in kindergarden and they make him go all the way to fourth floor - food offered to kids in also doesn`t have much variety and neighbourhood though safe but not great -i`ll not recommend this school to your kid

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Breen School
114 Osgood Street, Lawrence, MA  01843
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (978) 975-5932
Last modified John Breen School is a Public school that serves grades PK-K
Top