Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-K
Private
Jamaica Plain, MA

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Copper Beech Montessori 5

Posted April 29, 2011
- a parent
My son spent three years at Copper Beech Montessori. He is now almost eight and is thriving at his charter school. Looking back at his time with the teachers and the director at the school I am in awe of the nurturing environment they provided for my son along with fostering his independence. I still see remnants of the school in my son's overall intelligence, eagerness to jump right into projects (of his own creation) and his ability to concentrate and apply himself to tasks. He is a quick learner and I think that Montessori is responsible for that. When I look back at pictures of the time my son spent at Copper Beech and all the things the teachers did for the kids (cooking with them, creating an end of year carnival, yoga) I realize that not even the school he is in now can top his experience there. It is just that special.

Copper Beech Montessori 5

Posted August 23, 2009
- a community member
I know of no more caring principal for the children, the parents and the staff. The curriculum is strongly Montessori where the children learn to be self-sufficient as well as considerate of others. The programs are interesting such that anyone wants to jump in and learn. The principal is a Doctor of Biology and deeply interested in sustainable materials and lifestyles. The parents are engaged and involved. You can do no better than this school


Copper Beech Montessori 5

Posted June 06, 2009
- a parent
My daughter has been at CB since September '09. We love this place!! She learn a lot of things so far and she keeps very good temper because of the maria montessori's theory. They open from 8am till 5:30pm no additional fee and reasonable tuition. Very helpful for working Mom and Dad!

Copper Beech Montessori 0
no rating

Posted January 26, 2009
- a parent
My child has been at Copper beach for two years and we are very happy with the school. It offers excellent education and a nurturing envoronment. It strives to be affordable and to cater to working parents. The teachers are treated failrly with reasaonable compesatin and benefits packages. The director and staff focus their efforts on the children and not on marketing or pandering to parents - a balance we are happy with but others may not be. The Montessori method suits my child extremely well and the personal and educational development and achievlement I have observes is impressive. Parents' satisfaction will also be dependend on positive views of Montessoi.

Copper Beech Montessori 0
no rating

Posted July 23, 2008
- a parent
My son has has learned so much. The teachers are competent & friendly to the children, which is the important thing. Parents are not their focus and they make that pretty clear. They're there with answers to questions, but they save the conversations about the kids for the parent/teacher conferences. The director is very friendly, but again, she is focused on the administration of the school, the teachers, the state regulations and the children and not so much on the parents. If you're a parent that is ok with letting your child go and interact and develop on their own, it's a wonderful place, but if your the parent that wants to know every little thing that your child did, said, who they played with and how many times they went potty, it's probably not for you. It's been a great experience for my son and he really loves it.


Copper Beech Montessori 4

Posted June 25, 2008
- a parent
My son has been at Copper Beech for a year, and he enjoyed it a lot. The teachers were responsive to the kids and parents, and the principal is very open and accessible. The only reason for 4 stars is lack of bigger playground and the school year which follows exactly the public school schedule.

Copper Beech Montessori 1

Posted September 28, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Copper Beech Montessori 1

Posted September 28, 2007
- a parent
Teachers are very poor quality. Incompetent and not really caring! Unwelcoming principal!


Copper Beech Montessori 1

Posted September 13, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Copper Beech Montessori 5

Posted January 08, 2007
- a parent
Our son is in his first year at Copper Beech, and already he's learned an impressive amount. He adores his teachers, is consistently coming home and surprising us with his new skills, and best of all, thinks of learning and playing as the same thing.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Copper Beech Montessori
179 Amory Street, Jamaica Plain, MA  02130
(617) 524-3237
Last modified Copper Beech Montessori is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Copper Beech Montessori Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top