Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Boston Children's School

Private | K | 50 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Boston

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $402,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 1, 2010

We have had two children go through the preshcool program at BCS and were very happy. Our daughter started kindergarten this year and was very well perpared for it socially, emotionally (confident), and accademically. She spent three wonderful years at BCS and we're very thankful. Highly recommend this very special school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

We have been extremely happy with BCS. Our daughter has started her second year there and has really thrived. The school overs a level of programming (music, language, woodworking, drama, gymnastics) that is unmatched by other preschools. The diversity of the student body is another major plus. Director Judy Langer is superb and really understands the individual nuances of each child and is able to tailor the curriculum appropriately. While the facilities may not seem as 'high end' as some of the other top Boston preschools, the Charles River Park location is very safe and cozy, the school takes numerous field trips, and the children have access to Charles River Park pool right next store. Do not hesitate to send your child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

This is an amazing school and a high level education setting for children.


Posted June 22, 2007

We've been extremely happy with BCS and their pre-K programs. Judy Langer is 100% dedicated to kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2007

I was once a student at Boston children school. I was provided with amazing educational experiences and friendships that lasted a lifetime.Mrs.Langer is one of the most kindhearted people I have met. This is a great school filled with lovely people.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 13, 2005

Outstanding Director Judy Langer sets the tone for this lovely and lively school. safe payground,lots of extra activities like woodworking, gymnastics,drama, storytelling,music & educational and fun field trips. good parent involvement. Multinational group of children, celebrations from all countries... a nice nurturing environment at all levels. plenty of personal attention to kids and parents alike....did I mention Mrs. Langer? this is a school for a great start, many alumni parents and students still participate and enjoy the freedom and love from BCS. p.s. very flexible options to suit your individual needs for you and your child, you can really work with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 69%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 5%
Black 0% 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 15%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8 Whittier Place #1e
Boston, MA 02114
Website: Click here
Phone: (617) 367-6239

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Advent School
Boston, MA




Eliot K-8 School
Boston, MA


St. John School
Boston, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT