Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

2 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Largo Park Early Learning Center 1

Posted June 09, 2014
- a parent
I am currently on a few waiting lists so I can take my child out of this daycare. They do not communicate and they do not listen to the things you tell them to do in regards to the needs of your child. The director is no help which is sad. My baby is way too young to be somewhere that has incompetent ppl. There are so many things wrong with this place that I just don't have the time to write and mention. Though I know it will help others out. Maybe I'll write a more thorough review of what I've experienced with this place at a later date. Sorry. I do not recommend this daycare honestly.

Largo Park Early Learning Center 2

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
They have a huge problem with lack of communication. They have closed several times w/ no/short notice on non-holidays leaving parents scrambling for care & paying twice - once to Haynes and again for emergency care. The only notice they might provide is a small notice on the wall among a lot of other postings. They have a monthly newsletter that comes out 14 days into the month but other than that, they do not provide timely information to parents. They will not provide any kind of regular feedback regarding how your child is doing or how your child is progressing, even though parents have requested it. Your child may learn a little when he moves to an older class but he stagnates during the school year because younger children are moved into his class & the class goes back to the material for the younger children. The drop ins/before & aftercare take their numbers to more than they can handle. They have children of all ages - 2 through school age - mixing together in a chaotic environment with minimal supervision or in the evenings they may be watching TV on a screen the size of a 20 inch computer screen. Some classes share a room separated by a few blocks.


Largo Park Early Learning Center 4

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
I currently have a Pre K child enrolled at LPELC and I am more than satisfied with this school. My daughter has been with LPELC for two years and she has learned so much. The school is clean, the teachers are friendly, the director is very knowledgable, and I love their curriculum. I am so excited to see what else my daughter will learn this year and to see this school continue to grow.

Largo Park Early Learning Center 1

Posted September 04, 2013
- a community member
I should have done this review a few years ago but decided not to. I can t believe this place is still open for business. I sent my daughter here when she was about 13mos.The owner appeared to be very nice and professional; the teacher for the toddlers always had an attitude in the morning. My daughter s teachers were nice and friendly but this place was very unorganized; and over the weeks we realized that they weren t that clean. Within about 4 days of starting there my daughter broke out with a major skin flare up that I ve never seen before (Eczema). We would often come home with other kid s blankets or clothes because the staff would get things mixed up. I mean how hard is it to just use the stuff in the box or bag that is clearly marked with the child s name on it? Anyway, the final draw was when we went to pick her up and she had ANOTHER child s pacifier in her mouth! She lasted there about a month if that long.

Largo Park Early Learning Center 4

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
I was very surprise to read the reviews. My experience was a very positive one. My child recently graduated from the pre-k program and I am very satisfied with the learning experience she received. I found the teachers warm and friendly, and the right balance between academic work and children's extra activities. Meeting and talking with other parents at birthday parties and field trips we all felt the same way. I would recommend this center to my friends and co-workers.


Largo Park Early Learning Center 1

Posted January 29, 2013
- a parent
I thought I was the only parent that shared the same feelings for this particular daycare. My child attended this daycare for aftercare just half a school year. In a nutshell, they are a "baby sitting" service. They rarely assisted my child with homework and there was once a lady that worked there that I felt was very nice but too old to keep up with the children to name a few. I would make every effort to pick up my child early so they wouldn't have to stay longer than they should. My child often complained how they didn't like going there too. One day I picked my child up very early and it seemed there were 50 kids packed in a room really doing nothing. That was the last straw with me. I ended up pulling my child out and placed at BEE Academy and I've pleased ever since. BTW, my child attended Rising Generations Early Learning Ctr. also prior to Larg Park Ctr and Largo Park Center doesn't even come close. Because of RGELC, my child excelled in kindergarten and was above reading level. Check them out if you're seeking a really good daycare/Pre-K program. I hope LPELC has improved their service since my child attended.

Largo Park Early Learning Center 1

Posted May 31, 2011
- a parent
I totally agree with these comments. I WILL NOT RECOMMEND LARGO PARK EARLY LEARNING CENTER TO ANY PARENT!!!!. I pulled my 2 year old when I discovered he didn't seem to be learning anything like colors, numbers, etc... only playtime and coloring. No work was coming home, and the staff couldn't really show me what my 4 year old (another son of mine) was doing. Needless to say, I was very happy when my 4 year old started pre-k at lake arbor. I moved my 2 year old to rising generations which is much better. My 4 year old still goes there for aftercare, but at least I am happy he is no longer there the whole day. The aftercare program sucks too. I usually pick up my 4 year-old early enough and I can't wait when he finally leaves Largo park early learning center in 2 weeks. He'll be moving back to his boundary school in August for kindergarden where he'll be attending the aftercare there!. The administration is incompetent and the daycare is definitely not worthy. Don't even bother with the summer program, unless you just want to put your kid somewhere for somewhere sake.

Largo Park Early Learning Center 1

Posted May 24, 2011
- a parent
This is by far the worst school my children have ever attended. The staff members, including the director are completely incompetent. Last year, I enrolled my 3 year old daughter in their summer program. I provided documentation of her food allergies. On countless occassions, they fed the food to her causing her to break out. My daughter told me that she didn't like the school and stated the teachers were mean to her. I ended up pulling her out the school when she complained that one of the teachers hit her. After bringing my concerns to the director's attention, she questioned my child without my presence and followed up with a phone call mentioning that one of the children hit her, not the teacher. Additionally, she claimed that my daughter told her that she likes the school and that she is enjoying a snack (the same snack she is allergic to). After I told the director she is allergic to that particular food she is enjoying, she quickly corrected herself and state "oops she's not eating that, she's eating something else". Pure incompetence and I would not recommend that school to anyone. I took my daughter out immediately, and the sad thing is, she was only there for 1.5 months.


Largo Park Early Learning Center 1

Posted March 08, 2011
- a parent
I was very disappointed and angry with the care my children received from Largo Park Early Learning Center. On their very first day, my daughter sustained a bite near her eye as well as scratches on her face and my son had a small hematoma on his forehead. To make matters worse the director and the teachers could not explain what happened to my children. I did not receive a phone call to inform me what had occurred. This was our first experience with a childcare center and needless to say our first day was our last day. I advise all parents to look elsewhere. Largo park Learning Center is not a safe environment for any child!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Largo Park Early Learning Center
1300 Mercantile Lane #120, Upper Marlboro, MD  20774
(301) 341-5437
Last modified Largo Park Early Learning Center is a Private school that serves grade PK
Largo Park Early Learning Center Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top