Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-K
Private
Temple Hills, MD
Students enrolled: 93

5 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Corkran United Methodist Preschool & Kindergarten 5

Posted September 28, 2014
- a parent
Corkran is the prime example of how a school should be. Their staff, both the teachers and administration are focused on the excellence of each child. Loving, nurturing, and patient are just a few words that describe Corkran. Ms.Heying, the Director and Ms. Hahn's experience in the school is extensive...Ms.Lee and Ms.Monk exude the virtues of what great teachers are...patient, stern, loving, and knowledgeable.

Corkran United Methodist Preschool & Kindergarten 5

Posted May 26, 2014
- a parent
Great school!! This was my sons first year at Corkran Preschool (and away from family). The staff and his teacher were great. They really made me feel at ease. He has learned a lot at this school. He will definitely be returning next year , as well as, his younger brother. This school really is great!!! I highly recommend it.


Corkran United Methodist Preschool & Kindergarten 5

Posted April 16, 2014
- a parent
This School is the Best! All three of my children have attended this school and they are well prepared. The teachers and staff are professional. Everyone is welcoming. The children love school. The kids come home with awesome art projects and enjoy the activities while in school. So glad to have found this school!!!

Corkran United Methodist Preschool & Kindergarten 5

Posted December 28, 2013
- a parent
I must share my wonderful experience with Corkran. Four years ago I was new to the area and searching for a school for my then 3 year old son. I found Corkran online.When I called I spoke to Mrs. White who was conducting the summer camp at that time. She encouraged me to come and visit the school while summer camp was in session. I instantly fell in love with the christian family atmosphere. My son started in Mrs. Whites 3 year old class that fall. He stayed with Corkran until he headed to Public Charter School here in PG county where he has received awards and honors for academics in reading and mathematics. I attribute all his success to a sturdy foundation from Corkran Preschool. This coming fall my daughter who has been at Corkran since the 2 year old class is headed to Charter School as well as a Kindergartener. The staff at Corkran has watched my daughter blossom from a shy all too quiet baby into a young lady with charisma and intelligence and The Lord in her heart.May God always bless and keep Corkran Preschool and Kindergarten staff and alumni families in his hands. My children are well prepared and well cared for at Corkran by people who obviously loved them like parents.

Corkran United Methodist Preschool & Kindergarten 5

Posted December 28, 2013
- a parent
We LOVE LOVE LOVE Corkran!!! The staff is our other family! My children grew up in their care. I trusted them with my most precious gifts two times over! My kids came out ahead in every subject! I am a fan of Corkran and tell everyone in need of a preschool about Corkran!


Corkran United Methodist Preschool & Kindergarten 3

Posted December 17, 2013
- a parent
School is great and your children will be reading, writing and well adjusted. But your voice and goals for your children will be limited by school leadership and staff bias. They push the private school options after departure from their program. They go out of their way to discourage considering good public school options throughout the county; they provide no information about public school options. PGCPS, although a hemorrhaging educational system, does have some very strong magnet programs and comprehensive elementary schools. Also, they do not provide a closing acknowledgement for the 4 yr olds that are departing for kindergarten (an entry point for elementary) b/c according to the director, some how honoring the 4 yr olds that will enter kindergarten at another school, undermines the graduation ceremony of the kindergarteners. Go figure! I thought loving and supporting all students in their educational journey was a priority for the community. Little contradictory things like this are pervasive within this wonderful Christian environment! My children got what was needed and glad we are gone!

Corkran United Methodist Preschool & Kindergarten 5

Posted July 04, 2013
- a parent
Mine and my children's Corkran Preschool & Kindergarten experience has been awesome! I cannot say enough good things about the school and the staff! Both of my children attended this school and came home smiling every day! They learned so much from the wonderful teachers at this school. You can tell they REALLY care about your child and your family. It is a fun learning environment and my kids were so better off socially. We still return every year to participate in their Annual Walk to support both the school and the church. It is an older school but that just shows they have strong ties in the community. And every time we go back they have continued to make improvements. If I do decide to have any other children I will definately be sending them to Corkran! Go see for yourself and you'll feel confident you have made the right choice for your child accademically and socially.

Corkran United Methodist Preschool & Kindergarten 5

Posted July 03, 2013
- a parent
I can't say enough wonderful things about Corkran! The staff is kind, caring and empathetic to the needs of both the children and parents. As a parent with multiple children here over the years I have seen the building being improved each year. It is an older building but they have kept it up very well. The academics are very age appropriate and gives the right mix of what the children need. Overall I would recommend Corkran to any family looking for a great school!


Corkran United Methodist Preschool & Kindergarten 3

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
Great Experience Overshadowed! Experience was great as kids are reading well, nurtured & cherished by staff and are physically & socially well-adjusted like parents giving school 5's --academics excellent, activities age appropriate. However, goals for my childrens' education as well as for the overall benefit of the school have received gentle benign indifference. Suggested enhancements to curriculum that were constructive & inclusive were quietly dismissed or indefinitely deferred. So I equate our experience like that of eating a bowl of chicken soup during the winter months. It is nourishing, warm & filling! Kids learn, grow & flourish. But like soup if neglected it can become cold, distasteful and spoil. Experience has taught me that engaging school leadership can be cold & distasteful and spoils the school spirit. Comments are stated to recognize that a community is made of its faculty & staff as well as its parents & students. Parents should be heard, included, & enabled to be successful w/ educating their child thru the school's ability to be flexible. Corkran must support & value parental input by creating a process for systematic action to implement improvements.

Corkran United Methodist Preschool & Kindergarten 5

Posted March 20, 2013
- a parent
My third child, who has been here since he was two years old, will graduate this year. Corkran has allowed all three of my children develop physically, emotionally, and intellectually. Most importantly, the staff has encouraged and supported each child s personality and not tried to mold them to fit in a box. The children in the classrooms are close knit and support each other through the learning process. A family oriented atmosphere is evident when you first walk through the doors. The teachers work closely together and follow each child s progress through the preschool years. I have seen all my children acquire the educational skills and self-confidence needed to achieve in their subsequent school. I have seen preschool programs in various private schools and I do not believe I would have been satisfied anywhere else. Not only do they emphasize writing, reading and math skills, they encourage social and community responsibility. My fourth and first graders remain friends with several of their former classmates and they all maintain the excitement for learning that began at Corkran.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Corkran United Methodist Preschool & Kindergarten
5200 Temple Hill Road, Temple Hills, MD  20748
(301) 894-6886
Last modified Corkran United Methodist Preschool & Kindergarten is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Corkran United Methodist Preschool & Kindergarten Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top