Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Edinboro Early School

Preschool

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Severna Park

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $449,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2014

Seems like a wonderful school! Happy to have my kids start in the fall, my only concern was the pregnant assistant I saw not really interacting with the kids, but my child will not be in that class so thankful. We're new to the area, was a little iffy about starting school so soon but happy to join the Edinboro Family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2014

Edinboro Early School is by far the best pre-school in Anne Arundel County. There are several options in the Severna Park zone, but Edinboro beats them all. I've sent both of my children to Edinboro and it's really helped prepare them for elementary school. They each come home excited and re-energized. Signing the pledge of allegiance or doing crafts and learning new things; I wouldn't trade the experience for anything. Excellent teachers and management staff. Great facility and in a nice convenient location on the edge of residential area. Parking is a bit limited, but the great education far outweighs the minor inconvenience of limited parking for pick-up times. Kudos to the Edinboro team !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

This is an excellent early childhood education institution. The teachers are wonderful and take an interest in your child's life both inside and outside of school. Both my husband and I work full time, and I could not imagine putting my child in better hands than the staff here! My daughter has excelled since starting there as a 2 year old. I am pregnant now and I can't wait to put her in Edinboro. This is one of the best investments I have made as a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

Excellent teachers and preschool academic experience. Safe and fun for both kids. We also have loved the before and aftercare. Cannot say enough about the great features of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

We have been nothing but happy with Edinboro. The teachers are involved and caring, the activities and field trips are great, and our child loves to go to school there. I would recommend it to anyone, and already have many times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2013

This is by far the worst school! They are under staffed and mice run out into the classroom. My 3 year old daughter was left out on the playground alone the teacher never even knew that she was missing! My little girl came in crying after trying to open the door for about 30 min. The teacher never even told me that she had left my daughter out alone I heard it from ny daughter when I picked her up! I went to the owner and nothing was done about it the teacher is still there! And from what the staff told me this was not the first time this teacher lost a child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2012

This is currently our third year at Edinboro and I have to say that it has been a great experience. The teachers and director are very open and receptive. Both my children have learned so much and apply what they have to learned into every day tasks. I know they enjoy it b/c I see the tears at pick-up time, not at drop-off. There is strong leadership amongst the teachers and I know education, safety and fun are top priority! It has a strong family/community feel to it as opposed to treating my kids as just another number.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2012

My daughter has been at Edinboro for three years now including summers. As a working mother it was hard to send her anywhere, but I could not have been happier with Edinboro. She loved it immediately and so did my husband and myself. She has learned and grown so much during her time at Edinboro and I have no doubt that she is 'ready' for kindergarten in the fall. She has made wonderful friends and memories at Edinboro. We are all very sad that her time there has come to an end. I cannot wait until my son is old enough to attend because he will be going to Edinboro!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2012

Our twins will be moving on to Kindergarten this coming Fall, but I can say without any hesitation whatsoever that the past two academic years and summers at EES have been an absolutely wonderful learning experience for our children. The principal and teachers are unbelievable warm, caring, committed and professional. Our children have loved every teacher they have had, and the teachers have been extremely responsive to our needs. Contrary to what those negative "reviewers" claim, the principal and classroom teacher sit down with the parents twice a year, and provide a very detailed report on each child's progress on a range of academic and personal skills. Our children come home every night with a backpack full of creative art projects and minds full of new information. They spend a lot of time outdoors playing in the large recess area, and they have formed very close friendships with their classmates. Perhaps of equal importance, we have formed friendships with their parents as well. The bottom line is that we simply couldn't be happier. We, and our children, are very much looking forward to EES's before and after-school program so that we don't have to say goodbye just yet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2012

My 3 children have attended Edinboro over the years and we were very pleased with the structure and curriculum, the nurturing teachers and the clean pleasant environment. My children especially loved the field trips, the music teacher and the special events planned every month. I believe that we received a good value for our investment. My children were always happy to go to school and are now straight A students. We feel that the foundation for their success began in Edinboro and is due to the amazing efforts of their wonderful teachers and director.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2012

We have had an incredible experience at Edinboro these past two years. I have watched my daughter form lasting friendships and the teachers are very attentive and talented. I am sad knowing my daughter will graduate soon because Edinboro has provided her with a firm foundation of skills - she is already reading and doing basic math skills. Finally, Mrs. G, the director, has been very flexible with work schedules! She is a great leader and runs a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2012

Since we had two boys spend a total of five consecutive years at Edinboro, and who are older now, I feel I can speak with the advantage of hindsight for the education both got at this gem of a school. The boys were the beneficiaries of a wonderful education. I cannot say enough about the commitment and dedication of the teachers and Headmistress. If you read the Philosophy statement at the web page, I can attest that they met their stated goals and more, with ease! They taught all they said they would....but, best of all, taught children how to learn, how to behave, how to be kind, how to live in the world they were entering..... teachers and parents worked together to reach the goal of a well prepared, happy and confident child who is eager for more learning. The success of the boys in elementary school and middle school is directly due to the foundation they got at Edinboro The fact that many teachers have been at Edinboro for so long, speaks volumes, and that the school has so many families sending ALL their children there is a huge positive. Edinboro is a well kept treasure in our area. We feel fortunate to have been able to send the boys there.


Posted May 15, 2012

I love, love, love Edinboro Early School. I just cannot say enough good things about them. This school came highly recommended to me by my neighbors and friends in the Shipley's Choice and Severna Park area. It has not disappointed. My son has thrived in this school going on his 3rd year. The teachers and staff are all very nurturing and caring. Their teachers have even used their own time to attend my son's ECI meetings. The staff always works with you to meet your needs. My son attends on MWF and I had a conflict this week and was able to change his Friday to Tuesday. No problem. Our neighbors children are older now and I am told by their parents that they were "more than" well prepared when they entered the public school system. Snow days are not a problem. Even if the public schools are closed, as soon as they can get the driveway cleared, they open the school and Mrs. G. calls you personally to let you know. I will be very sad when we have to leave this wonderful school. I cannot imagine that anyone gave this school a negative review. I have a 15-year old son also and I wish we had lived here when he was eligible. Very highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2012

We have 2 children at EES & plan to enter #3 in the 2-yr program this fall. The teachers are very good & have a great deal of experience a rarity w/any of the preschools we considered. They do a nice job of pairing experienced teachers w/assistants to create a balance of experience, personalities, teaching styles. Most of the teachers have been there a long time & are clearly well-liked by their students for their creative teaching methods & warm/caring attitudes. Student progress is formally communicated to parents w/report cards & parent/teacher/director conferences at least 2x/yr. Also we find the teachers more than willing to talk about each child informally whenever we ve inquired. Educating children is a team effort requiring coordination among parents, teacher & student. EES has fully supported this philosophy; it s been a pleasure to cooperatively educate our children. W/all due respect to other reviewers, this is far from a daycare ; it s a good school that fosters a great learning environment. I ve only heard positive reviews of EES; I m shocked that anyone had such a negative experience. We look forward to another 3yrs w/EES & the great learning experience offered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2012

I totally disagree with the last several reviews. I have two children who have been fortunate to attend Edinboro early school. I was drawn to Edinboro because of the cost of two children in Pre-School and the flexibility that the owner/director offers. I went back to work part time a few years ago and my children were able to seemlessly transition into extended days on the days I needed care with no difficulty (I did not have to work my schedule around what the school would allow). In that time, my schedule has been slightly chaotic and the director has been more than accommodating every step of the way. My daughter is now in 1st grade and she was more than prepared for Kindergarten after what she learned at Edinboro. My son is finishing up his last of three years (2,3 and 4 year old classes) and we all feel slightly saddened about the end our our time at this school, but look forward to continuing our relationship with so many caring and dedicated teacher. My two children are completely different individuals, but both have found the challenge and support to grow emotionally and educationally. In addition, GREAT field trips and fabulous families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

Owner is horrible, just trying to get information on school was told she didnt consider my address "severna park" when I gave it to her for mailing information. I'm sorry we didnt live up to your pretentious standards!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

This by far is the worst excuse for a SCHOOL! it's nothing but an unorganized day care run (using the term run loosely) by the most impersonable, unapproachable director/owner/secretary/substitute class leader(I don't want to use the word teacher....that would be a disgrace to real teachers in this world!) THE ONLY THING SHE IS WORRIED ABOUT IS YOUR MONEY! SHE IS NOT CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY OR LEARNING ENVIRONENT OF THE CHILDREN!! The staff is horrible .... Absolutely horrible! Do yourself a favor a pay the extra money for somewhere else....you do get what you pay for here!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2011

We were very unhappy with this school. At first we liked the small class sizes and the lower cost, but soon found out that you get what you pay for. Both the administrator and teachers seemed very disorganized. Throughout the day the class had 2 or 3 different teachers who provided little structure. The only feedback we got from the teacher(s) was from a substitute teacher - a notecard with a few observations about our son given to us when we picked him up on his last day. Edinboro isn't so much a school as it is a daycare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2008

We consider ourselves to be fortunate to have found the Edinboro School and we have had two children enrolled here (one child from 3yrs to kindergarden, and now a 2yr old) The classes are small and the staff retention is far higher than average. We consider this to be a key indicator in addition to our children's reports. Parental involvement is good and there are field trips and guest visits. The school is very efficiently run, but there is never a feeling that dollars the primary consideration. We would recommend this school to anyone considering child care in this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2008

The administratorowner did not seem warm and friendly towards the students. As a parent I felt she was very unapproachable. My child attended preschool and Kindergarten at Edinboro and was not at all prepared for 1st grade at the private school she attends. Luckily with a lot of extra help and money we were able to get our child to the point needed to do well in 2nd grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 33% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 35%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

380 Jumpers Hole Road
Severna Park, MD 21146
Phone: (410) 544-2476

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT