Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Franklin Schools

Preschool

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Rockville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $505,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 30, 2014

I started looking for schools for my 3 yr old about a month back, and visited 3-4 schools in Rockville. Here is how I felt about Franklin Montessori in Rockville. The younger admin staff at Franklin was terrible at coordinating things. The enrollment numbers change by the hour and if they call you saying they have open spots do not trust them you could be surprised and will hear lame excuses latter, which tells me something is going on with enrollment. The classrooms are nice and the teachers seem to be nice and friendly. With 26 kids in a class and 3 teachers, the ratio is terrible for a Montessori style of teaching. I think this school is overly priced and overrated. I wish they would reduce the student teacher ratio and not fill kids over the capacity and be open about their enrollment when someone asks for a tour.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2013

For the last three months I have been shopping different schools and have been absolutely shocked at how sub standard they were for the price. This school was absolutely perfect. It is just simply gorgeous, clean, happy, well maintained and there is a variety of stimulation for the children. I wanted to go play myself. I was also very impressed with a professionally dressed staff who were all very welcoming, willing to explain, accomodating and who spoke proper English. Many schools could follow the examples that this school has set. The only drawback, it does have high tuition rates and I don't believe that they offer financial aid which would expand their demographics. In addition, it could have been the time that I toured, but the sound of some children playing is very comforting.


Posted September 5, 2012

I am not a fan of the Montessori methods in that, I tend to think that they simply price-gouge you. What they do is simply not that much more than other pre-school/young developmental education programs out there. For example, my child learned how to do addition in his head. I didn't teach her - she simply learned it on his own. Yet, the teachers at this place ended up yelling and disciplining her for it. It's totally ludicrous - yes, I understand their methods, and yes, if a child CAN'T do it, then there's no need to force them, but if she can, disciplining them for this is idiotic. I also have severe problems with this school in particular. As someone noted, they are too profit oriented. I understand the need to make money, but their primary goal should be youth development. I know parents who were given the "scare" tactic - they would tell them that their kids would fail horribly if they went to public schools and that they really needed to stay at Montessori for another year. They would come up with a litany of issues, none of which were true/evident, as noted by other professionals (I have a doctorate in youth education and have never noticed these issues).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

I just called to invite a Franklin teacher my son had when he was 3-5 years old, to attend his Eagle Scout Court of Honor. So - that's how we feel about Franklin. Some teachers have been there for 15 years and longer, and children who now are seniors in high school remember them. I have a photo on my bedroom wall of our 13 year old, at age 3, in a lion costume that was sewn by this teacher (along with 15 other costumes) for the school's "Circus". I don't have any recent experience with Franklin, but the Montessori method has been around a long time. The school is more beautiful now than when we were there, and I can vouch for the excellence of at least 1 of the current teachers. My boys are in public school and are top students and nice young men. Got a good start at Franklin!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

We love Franklin. My kids developed a love of learning here that is lasting well into elementary school. Its Montessori but not too rigid. Its a loving, fun place. My kids were so happy here. All of the teachers and assistants are great. Never had any issues with the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2011

As a pediatrician for the last nine years in Montgomery County I thought I was making a great decision when I sent my then three year old to Franklin Montessori. Unfortunately, this school only embraces the ideals of Montessori that suits their needs. Also, if you have to interact with the head of the school; you will be met with a rigid, uncaring and to be honest, rude, individual. My child has a speech impairment and takes a bus twice a week from the Franklin School to a public Elementary School for therapy. The administrations' attitude is that they don't have to walk him to the bus at the entrance to the school. My four year old should just walk there and stand outside himself. Also, if you miss their arbitrary cut off for their Ambassador's program, they refuse to evaluate your child for the program. My son missed it by 7 days and principal actually said, "that's just the cut off and it works for us." When I got a little tearful, she never offered even a tissue; she just ignored me and spoke to my husband saying, "I'm done talking about this, get out of my office. I am not going to look at your child's individual development." Wouldn't send my child here again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2011

Wonderful school! As a former Franklin student, I can't say enough great things about the Franklin Schools. The staff (teachers and admin) are extremely friendly and supportive. The school creates a warm and friendly environment where children can grow and develop positive characteristics that will help them in the future. Franklin makes learning fun and exciting -- the materials are so original and unique! -- and the teachers create lesson plans that are adaptable to meet the needs of each child. Although the school has physically changed quite a bit since I was there, the heart of the school remains the same. The Franklin schools have played such a large role in my life that I consider them to be family.


Posted February 2, 2011

This is a good school in general, but it really depends on which teacher your child is with. The management is only concerned about money really. They are accredited, so they think that they are high above the rest, and dont really care about what parents think. They blindly follow montgomery county public schools snow policy and close for snow days even though there is no reason to be closed. To top it off they do not even consider making up the lost time on other holidays, or compensating parents for the lost money. On the whole, the management especially the principal has a very rigid "i can do whatever i want since I am a private school" attitude. I feel bad for some of the good teachers, they are stuck in a bad school environment. The school is going downhill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2010

My oldest son went there for 2 years old program, the teacher was ok, but his 3 years old teacher was horrible. No encouragement at all and just let the kids do whatever they want, so I pulled him out from Franklin after he finished the 3 years old program. I am thinking of sending my youngest child to Franklin (in Rockville) next year and would like to get recommendation for the 2 years old and 3 years old teachers. Please advise if you know any good teacher. Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2009

All three of my children went here and loved it. They learned to be independent thinkers. Daily routine is well established and allows for students to develop a lot of confidence with their academics. Learning is very hands on. I love the way they teach math. Also, students play two to three times a day outdoors. I give Franklin a lot of credit for helping my children develop a love of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2009

This is the worst school ever for kids. I would recommend Primary Montessori instead of Franklin. The management is purely concerned about MONEY and nothing else. Except for the teachers the admin staff are most unfriendly. They are also the most expensive compared to other schools in Rockville area. Please do not send your kids to Franklin .. my 2 cents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

Pretty good school in terms of teaching. Very friendly staff and admin. Montessori approach works well for my daughter as did for my son. But I think they have too many kids in a class, even though they have assistant teachers as well, I think some kids do not get the attention they should be getting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2008

My daughte did one year of Pre-K from here. Staff is friendly. Very well organized administration. Asistant teachers are so friendly. Nice and playful environment. Be careful about main teacher. My daughter got very little to No encouragement for academics. She is very advance reader (currently Magnet Program Grade 1). Many times she took some of her favorite book for Teacher to read. But teacher never accepted it and hardly read it to class. I even called admin for few things as a concern but I received response that I should not be expecting much as this is the first year of Montes and they really focus on other things. My daughter was very much into studies. I did not continue her in KG and rather had to put in public school. I will rate this as an average school in academics. We expect more due to cost.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2007

My son adores this school. He learns better by using his hands rather than with text books which makes the Montessori Methodology ideal for him. I was genuinely surprised how well he settled and bonded with the teachers and new friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 39% 6%
Two or more races 7% 4%
Black 4% 35%
Hispanic 4% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10500 Darnestown Road
Rockville, MD 20850
Phone: (301) 279-2799

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT