Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-K|Private
144 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Village Montessori School 5

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
-a parent- My son has been in Village Montessori School for a year now and I couldn't imagine him going anywhere else!!! Truly an incredible place for your child to be at!. I have found VMS to be very welcoming, structured with loving and caring environment. I have seen a tremendous growth in my son after just one year and am impressed by the strong academic program there. My son is being nurtured and challenged and is extremely excited to be going there each and every morning. He has learned so much more than I even expected he will. All teachers are wonderful, professional and passionate about their job at VMS.This is definitely much more than just a daycare. Ms.Sally Robinson, the director, is doing an incredible job managing and making sure the facility is well maintained, organized and always very clean and inviting. My sons favorite teacher -Ms Pari cares deeply for each child with love. She's been amazing in providing everything i wanted for my son. The educational experience has truly been phenomenal and this school is completely worth every penny spent . I HIGHLY recommend Village Montessori School. Best school in the area!!!!!!!!!! A++++++

Village Montessori School 5

Posted January 30, 2014
- a parent
I have two children (2 and 4) currently at the school. I needed to find someplace that supported them academically, but where they could have fun as well. My eldest transferred to this school last year after a horrible experience with a different (and very expensive) Montessori school. Mid-semester, I knew I had to find a better school and we both visited several schools - this was the one *he* (my son) picked himself. When he started, the staff here was terrific and gave him lots of support. My 2 started this year - he's smart but not always the best behaved - the staff has been kind and works with him. I've seen great leaps occur with both kids; both academically and maturity. Both children just seem really happy here. Yesterday my 4 wanted to stay at school for "rug tag". He's enrolled in piano, dance, and soccer (the three extra curriculars offered for an extra fee). The teacher(s) are working with him on advanced material in class. Personal note: RE: Comments posted about administration - the administration changed in 2013 - a VMS teacher now runs it. RE: the education comments posted - as a parent - no clue what they are talking about - maybe that happened in 2010?


Village Montessori School 5

Posted January 02, 2014
- a parent
After moving here from the Philadelphia area, we knew we wanted to keep our daughter in a Montessori school. VMS did not disappoint - we found the teachers and curriculum to be excellent, warm and welcoming. Our daughter thrived there and is now exceling in 1st grade in public school. I myself am a graduate of Montessori and can attest to the strong foundation that this type of education provides. Once shy, our daughter is now confident, outgoing and loves to learn. A Montessori education and VMS are a large contributor to this. We have a new baby now that we will undoubtedly be sending to VMS as well. Thank you, VMS!!

Village Montessori School 5

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
I went to this school and gained the confidence and self efficacy that made me successful all through my school career. I now send my daughter to this school where I have 100% confidence that the teachers are good- because I know them (staff turnover rate is extremely low) Any program can be good, but without a good teacher it is useless. Teachers here are fabulous. I have observed here as an early childhood educator and have seen that they actually follow the Montessori Method, unlike a lot of Montessori schools. They also have music, art, PE, and A DANCE CLASS that is offered on site. Many Montessori schools lack the creative expression aspect- NOT THIS ONE. Throw away that idea of Montessori being stuffy. These kids learn responsibility AND creativity here. My daughter s teacher sends her own grandkids there- sign of a GREAT school.

Village Montessori School 5

Posted December 14, 2012
- a parent
What a wonderful experience this school was for our children who attended this school for 4 years each! Both were well prepared as they entered public schools. We sure miss the care and attention of the wonderful teachers and staff at VMS.


Village Montessori School 5

Posted November 15, 2012
- a parent
I have two children that completed 4 years each through Kindergarten at Village Montessori and all I have to say is WOW! The experiecne they had there was fantastic! Village Montessori offered them a loving, nurturing environment as well as a thorough Montessori curriculum. They have both moved on to other schools now and are thriving academically and I attribute their success to the early learning that they both received at Village Montessori School. I highly recommend this school!

Village Montessori School 5

Posted November 14, 2012
- a parent
After 25 years and thousands of students taught, this educational institution s reputation remains stellar to those having experienced it. Over 10 years I have had 5 grandchildren and a nephew matriculate through the Village Montessori School with outstanding results. Letters cover the walls expressing the gratitude of parents and even of students who have gone on to become doctors, lawyers and successful business people. If you are looking for an exceptional head start for your child I strongly recommend the Village Montessori School. You will not be disappointed.

Village Montessori School 5

Posted October 01, 2012
- a parent
My husband and I enrolled our two kids in VMS. The teachers did an outstanding job with our daughter who excelled and passed 1 and 2nd grade tests from there. When we enrolled her into public school, they would not accept her test grades, and had to repeat 1st grade. She is in the highest educational groups in her school today. VMS challenaged and allowed our children to grow and learn at their speed. We are VERY happy with VMS and love seeing our son excel there today. If the school offerred higher grade levels, we would have kept our kids there. Thank you VMS for providing our kids with the best education foundation for a brighter future.


Village Montessori School 5

Posted September 07, 2012
- a community member
Village Montessori is an excellent institution with top-notch staff and faculty, which understands the delicate balance between academic rigor, discipline, and positive social interaction. I am a progeny of this institution and can say without hesitation that this type of development early on has a profound impact on how my academic and professional career developed. The work ethic at this Montessori has never dwindled and the team has prided themselves on a tradition that has always put students ahead of the curve. I couldn't have imagined my life any differently, and I am forever grateful.

Village Montessori School 1

Posted June 24, 2012
- a parent
Teachers are indifferent and at times rude. They always behaved as if they are doing you a favour. Did not like the school right from the beginning. Administration is terrible. Its like a family business. The only positive thing I see from this experience is that you and your kid might become a little prepared for such situations in the the future.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Village Montessori School
20301 Fulks Farm Road, Montgomery Village, MD  20886
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (301) 977-5766
Last modified Village Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Top