Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Crossway Community Montessori School

Private | PK-1 | 45 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Kensington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $496,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 8, 2014

Our experience has been the exact opposite. Faculty and staff are mostly concerned about reputation and money aside from tuition. Meanwhile the student culture has gone way down hill. Do not waste money by sending your kid to this school. This is one of the worst experience I have ever had. My kids are now enrolled at other Montessori schools that are equally or more smarter. Teachers think they are smart and do not take care of the kids and their education. This school is interested in only making money from fundraising. Teachers never take any responsibilities, the staff are very rude. I would never recommend this school since it is a waste of money. I would prefer my kid to go to a place where the true world is projected. I would recommend to your hard earned money in good Montessori schools elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2014

After reading some of the other reviews on this school, I was pretty surprised at the dissatisfaction. It seems there is a lot going on behind closed doors that we are unaware of. That being said, as far as the care and education I receive for my child, I am more than content. My child has attended this school for a year now. My child is far more advanced than his peers outside of the school. I give the teachers at this school a lot of credit for what he can do. My child's motor skills, verbal skills, and social skills are above average; even my pediatrician agrees! I feel it has helped my family to be open in our communication with the school's entire staff. Any questions or concerns I have had are always addressed in a timely and respectful manner. I believe that by keeping the "Montessori" standard of living at home has also increased our success with this school. Thus far, I have nothing but good things to say about this school and would highly recommend it, especially if you start young!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2014

I have been working for CMC since 2012 and finally had the courage to leave in 2014. I loved the children and the women that lived in this FLA program, But the CEO Kathleen Guinan cared more about donors and money. Outside help was never applied to the school and the program. Some teachers had degrees but we were always asked not to communicate with the women of the program by orders of Kathleen. I noticed that many of the outside parents children were separated from the children that lived in this program and I felt wrong to allow this but we had to follow orders. Also many outside parents felt shamed when they did not want to donate by Kathleen. I think its important to communicate but we are just not allowed. Also the administrative staff treat me very ignorant because I had an accent. This is not a good company to work for. The administrative office does not respect the women that live there, and the teachers that don't want to follow their unethical ways. I will never allow myself to work for someone like Kathleen again.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 28, 2014

Horrible. The charter school is no more after the 2013-14 school year and my child is going with the charter. The CEO and Head of School are both very unfriendly and have a ton of empty words and no follow through. Parents are not involved. They keep asking parents for money with no transparency as to where it's going. Steer clear!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2014

The leadership of this school is very poor. The majority of the teachers are good but there's a coldness due to the administration. The outdoor space is great but you're really paying a premium for only 3 hours of Montessori instruction. The school is also not accredited by AMI which they claim to be aligned with. My child seems to like it but some of the older students use inappropriate language that 5 year olds should not know, and are a bit wild. Overall I would not recommend this school for older children. The infant and toddler programs look nice. The administration needs to be more welcoming to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

They raised tuition out of nowhere and never provided documentation regarding the same. So long as you are paying the tuition without questioning, your child will be treated right. But if you dare complaint about anything, they would shut you down and eventually throw your child out of the school by reminding you that the State has no Jurisdiction over them. Even worst, they would put pressure on you to the point that you will relocate your child to avoid engaging in their Chess Game. The school has amazing and devoted staffs, as well as under qualifies staffs. Just pray that your child is in the hand of the good ones as some kids are being mistreated in the school. The Montessori program is great but they definitely need to change their attitude toward decision making process, as they constantly do so without parent input. They also need reconsider the qualification of some of their staffs members.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

If there was 0 star I'd give them 0 star. They started charter school program last year, and it made things even worse. The management and administration is terrible. The way it is run is so unprofessional and inefficient. MCPS is supposed to have some oversight on how this charter is run but it seems they do not care about the way the taxpayers money is being used at this school. CEO of the place talks about community and all the right words but in reality it is all empty words. There are lot to say about this school but bottom line stay away from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

The admission process is the worst I've seen. It takes 5 calls to get a call back. First they tell you there is space, then Karen Beiley tells you that you cannot come for a tour but she will mail you admission materials. Finally Karen Beiley tells you there is just no space. It's just the worst administration of any kind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2012

The Teachers are wonderful. The Administration is scandalous. They have tried raising tuition out of no where, among other things. Parent involvment is low but because the administration tries to keep the parents out as much as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2010

The qualifications and experience of the school's admin and faculty are very good and staff turn-over is low. As well as the standard AMI curriculum, the school offers dance and music (at no charge). There used to be a French immersion program which may be revived. Our son's directress has been doing a good job keeping him sufficiently challenged and engaged. The student body is diverse and international. Crossway is large (3 primary classes, plus infant and toddler classes) and has a dress code. School entryways are kept locked at all times and parental communications must be submitted via the correct form. Some of this may be due to MD requirements, but some is definitely just the Crossway style. The school program models a high quality, sustainable lifestyle. The children have a hot, sit-down lunch with flowers on the table and proper tableware. They cook and bake and grow some of their own vegetables and fruits. There is a lot of green space around the school, a large playground, and two big gardens on-site. The children are outside several hours every day. Crossway has applied to become a K-5 charter school in the Montgomery County Public school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2010

This school is nothing but great. The teacher and staff are the friendlies ever, and the kids are learning both academics and social behavior. We have two sons there currently and they love it. Our oldest have mild form of sensory processing and we have seen a great improvement in his everyday coping ever since he started at Crossway. Crossway is also having a great program for women and their kids which it feels great being a part off as a parent. l truly wish this school would offer grades past K in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2006

Wonderful program! Children are able to explore and learn at their own pace.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 36% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 27% 6%
Black 27% 35%
Hispanic 9% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3015 Upton Drive
Kensington, MD 20895
Phone: (301) 929-2505

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Catherine Laboure School
Silver Spring, MD


Highland Elementary School
Silver Spring, MD



Stephen Knolls School
Kensington, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT