Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Beaver Creek Childcare & Kindergarten 5

Posted December 03, 2014
- a parent
My son attended Beaver Creek when he was 4 years old, newly adopted from a foreign country, and non-speaking English. He is now 8 years old and speaks perfect English, due in great part to Beaver Creek. Although we now live in another state, I wanted to write to express my deep gratitude for the teachers and staff who were a huge support to me as a new adoptive parent. I have so much respect for the outstanding job they did with my son. I just found an album of all his work from Beaver Creek and class picture of 2010-2011 with Ms. Julie and Ms. Jenn; and so I thought I'd write a review, long overdue! I miss the parents night out, which my son loved too. Thank you Beaver Creek !

Beaver Creek Childcare & Kindergarten 4

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
I have an infant and toddler at Beaver Creek and have been very satisfied wiht both childcare the preschool programs. The teachers are very engaged, and the activities planned go above and beyond any other program I've ever heard of. The infant care is fantastic, very clean and accomodating.


Beaver Creek Childcare & Kindergarten 5

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
Did you hear the news? Beaver Creek was just voted Best Day Care in the West County by the Arundel Voice! From the teachers to the directors to the facility and playgrounds, its all so wonderful! Turns out they are not mediocre after all!

Beaver Creek Childcare & Kindergarten 2

Posted January 14, 2014
- a parent
You get what you pay for. This school is inexpensive for a reason - they do not go above and beyond for your child. If you are OK with mediocre childcare at a great price, then this is the place for you. But if you want quality care from educators who truly care for your child, then go elsewhere. There are some good teachers here but the directors leave much to be desired. They are quickly overwhelmed by the smallest of issues (e.g., children not listening during circle time) and not equipped to handle larger issues (e.g., children not listening on a daily basis). They have an outside counselor that is supposed to observe "problem" children and provide feedback. But the ironic thing is that the counselor usually gives the SCHOOL feedback on what they're doing wrong with the child - and of course the directors don't take her advice. My feeling is that the directors are either not skilled enough or too overwhelmed or both. In any case, until things change at the top there, this school will only be mediocre at best.
1 person found this helpful

Beaver Creek Childcare & Kindergarten 5

Posted August 28, 2012
- a parent
I wish I had originally chosen Beaver Creek for my son when he started day care at 6 months old. He's now 2 and after being disappointed with two other centers in the area, we are now very happy with our choice. Beaver Creek is a great combination of learning, fun, and a caring environment. He's moved up to the next classroom a few times already and the transition is always easy. The teachers and staff there are wonderful and seem to really care about the children. Having 2 snacks and lunch provided has been a huge relief. The cost and fees are reasonable and meals/snacks/drinks provided helps with that too. Their field trips and activities are also wonderful. The outdoor play area is great and my son loves that there are actually swings, slides, and cars to play with. They provide additional shade with a canopy during the hot summer months too. My son always seems happy when I pick him up and I know I will be able to trust them with excellent care for my 2nd son after his arrival.


Beaver Creek Childcare & Kindergarten 5

Posted November 03, 2011
- a parent
I moved my 2 year old to Beaver Creek in September. They made the transition so easy. I am so happy with the care my child receives there and the customer service I receive. I am so impressed with how they handle all situations. They have great field trips and music weekly. The price is reasonable. After the center flooded in September, the directors and staff worked so hard to have things return to normal very quickly. My son loves it so much that he asks to go every day and cries when he has to stay home sick. My older son also loves it when he goes to drop in care or for the parents nights out. I could not be happier with Beaver Creek and have recommended to other families. The teachers in my son's room are amazing. I can really see him taking leaps in learning and he clearly has so much fun there. Another plus is that they provide breakfast, lunch, and snack every day. And they have my two year old eating salad!

Beaver Creek Childcare & Kindergarten 5

Posted July 27, 2011
- a parent
My daughters have been attending Beaver Creek since June 2009. I have found the pre-k and aftercare programs to be wonderful. They help with homework in the aftercare program and the pre-k teachers are great. There are so many activities for them during the summer camp programs with lots of field trips and crafts. The teachers have been very understanding and helpful with issues that my girls have had. I am always greeted with smiles and sent home with a feeling that they actually look forward to seeing the kids again tomorrow. My girls look forward to their days there and love seeing whats next on their monthly calendars.

Beaver Creek Childcare & Kindergarten 5

Posted July 07, 2011
- a parent
Great school~~~~~ from the tour, through the first week and beyond!!! I would recommend this preschool to anyone in the area looking for good quality care, fun loving teachers and excellent structure.


Beaver Creek Childcare & Kindergarten 1

Posted May 11, 2011
- a parent
Beaver Creek don't smile unless you hand in the check (money). They seem don't care about kids but money. Teachers have their own instruction plan... My child was in other class, teachers basically do nothing but let kids watching tv, playing around and so forth, I requested my child to move into different days of week. Those Teachers (JnJ) are AWESOME!!! My child finally learned how to write and read. My child had been "wasted" for first semster :o( so my money... Think before you place your child at Beaver Creek. There is other program in the area have more to offer than what Beaver Creek can offer.... Be wise!!!

Beaver Creek Childcare & Kindergarten 1

Posted April 13, 2011
- a parent
Beaver Creek is run like a for-profit business as opposed to the learning institution they are suposed to be. I participate regularly in their fundraisers, chaperone field trips, and volunteer regularly to bring in the most expensive item for my child's classroom parties (usually a frequently requested veggie platter). Since my child's enrollment in August 2010, I was late ONE TIME in picking him up from their chaotic and disorganized aftercare program by seven minutes due to traffic this week. They had the nerve to charge me $1.00 for each minute that I was late. They never consider extenuating circumstances. I paid but will no longer contribute to any of their fundraisers, as I feel they are unforgiving and undeserving of any extra money from me. They are having an upcoming teacher appreciation luncheon and expect the parents to pick up the tab. The teachers are employees of Beaver Creek so Beaver Creek should pay for the luncheon. I will give my child's teacher a small gift of appreciation but refuse to give this "school" any additional money. The director is extremely inflexible and rigid; she won't even consider having a PTA. I can't wait until the school year ends.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Beaver Creek Childcare & Kindergarten
2165 Davidsonville Road, Gambrills, MD  21054
(410) 721-4145
Last modified Beaver Creek Childcare & Kindergarten is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Beaver Creek Childcare & Kindergarten Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top