Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Beaver Creek Childcare & Kindergarten

Preschool

 
 

Living in Gambrills

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $300,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,450.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2014

Did you hear the news? Beaver Creek was just voted Best Day Care in the West County by the Arundel Voice! From the teachers to the directors to the facility and playgrounds, its all so wonderful! Turns out they are not mediocre after all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

You get what you pay for. This school is inexpensive for a reason - they do not go above and beyond for your child. If you are OK with mediocre childcare at a great price, then this is the place for you. But if you want quality care from educators who truly care for your child, then go elsewhere. There are some good teachers here but the directors leave much to be desired. They are quickly overwhelmed by the smallest of issues (e.g., children not listening during circle time) and not equipped to handle larger issues (e.g., children not listening on a daily basis). They have an outside counselor that is supposed to observe "problem" children and provide feedback. But the ironic thing is that the counselor usually gives the SCHOOL feedback on what they're doing wrong with the child - and of course the directors don't take her advice. My feeling is that the directors are either not skilled enough or too overwhelmed or both. In any case, until things change at the top there, this school will only be mediocre at best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2012

I wish I had originally chosen Beaver Creek for my son when he started day care at 6 months old. He's now 2 and after being disappointed with two other centers in the area, we are now very happy with our choice. Beaver Creek is a great combination of learning, fun, and a caring environment. He's moved up to the next classroom a few times already and the transition is always easy. The teachers and staff there are wonderful and seem to really care about the children. Having 2 snacks and lunch provided has been a huge relief. The cost and fees are reasonable and meals/snacks/drinks provided helps with that too. Their field trips and activities are also wonderful. The outdoor play area is great and my son loves that there are actually swings, slides, and cars to play with. They provide additional shade with a canopy during the hot summer months too. My son always seems happy when I pick him up and I know I will be able to trust them with excellent care for my 2nd son after his arrival.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2011

I moved my 2 year old to Beaver Creek in September. They made the transition so easy. I am so happy with the care my child receives there and the customer service I receive. I am so impressed with how they handle all situations. They have great field trips and music weekly. The price is reasonable. After the center flooded in September, the directors and staff worked so hard to have things return to normal very quickly. My son loves it so much that he asks to go every day and cries when he has to stay home sick. My older son also loves it when he goes to drop in care or for the parents nights out. I could not be happier with Beaver Creek and have recommended to other families. The teachers in my son's room are amazing. I can really see him taking leaps in learning and he clearly has so much fun there. Another plus is that they provide breakfast, lunch, and snack every day. And they have my two year old eating salad!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2011

My daughters have been attending Beaver Creek since June 2009. I have found the pre-k and aftercare programs to be wonderful. They help with homework in the aftercare program and the pre-k teachers are great. There are so many activities for them during the summer camp programs with lots of field trips and crafts. The teachers have been very understanding and helpful with issues that my girls have had. I am always greeted with smiles and sent home with a feeling that they actually look forward to seeing the kids again tomorrow. My girls look forward to their days there and love seeing whats next on their monthly calendars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2011

Great school~~~~~ from the tour, through the first week and beyond!!! I would recommend this preschool to anyone in the area looking for good quality care, fun loving teachers and excellent structure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2011

Beaver Creek don't smile unless you hand in the check (money). They seem don't care about kids but money. Teachers have their own instruction plan... My child was in other class, teachers basically do nothing but let kids watching tv, playing around and so forth, I requested my child to move into different days of week. Those Teachers (JnJ) are AWESOME!!! My child finally learned how to write and read. My child had been "wasted" for first semster :o( so my money... Think before you place your child at Beaver Creek. There is other program in the area have more to offer than what Beaver Creek can offer.... Be wise!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2011

Beaver Creek is run like a for-profit business as opposed to the learning institution they are suposed to be. I participate regularly in their fundraisers, chaperone field trips, and volunteer regularly to bring in the most expensive item for my child's classroom parties (usually a frequently requested veggie platter). Since my child's enrollment in August 2010, I was late ONE TIME in picking him up from their chaotic and disorganized aftercare program by seven minutes due to traffic this week. They had the nerve to charge me $1.00 for each minute that I was late. They never consider extenuating circumstances. I paid but will no longer contribute to any of their fundraisers, as I feel they are unforgiving and undeserving of any extra money from me. They are having an upcoming teacher appreciation luncheon and expect the parents to pick up the tab. The teachers are employees of Beaver Creek so Beaver Creek should pay for the luncheon. I will give my child's teacher a small gift of appreciation but refuse to give this "school" any additional money. The director is extremely inflexible and rigid; she won't even consider having a PTA. I can't wait until the school year ends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

My daughter has attended Beaver Creek for two years and I have to say they are awesome. Every morning we a greated with a welcoming smile by her teachers at drop off. Her teacher always post what they did that day. Small homework assignments are given once or twice a week to review what they are learning. My daughter loves the homework! Every Monday they have music day and a wonderful lady (Ms. Sippy) comes in and they play instruments and sing songs. Friday is show and tell, again my daughter loves it! I couldn't be happier with Beaver Creek! In regards to the payment policy someone metioned, you have the option to pay monthly. I have always done it that way, in fact in the information packet they give you at the beginning of the school year there is even a schedule of payment amounts broken down weekly or monthly. As far as the late fee is concerned, any bill you pay will reflect late fees if you are late. Jenny S
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

Even though the parking to pick up and drop off is difficult, the front office is courteous and attentative, and even most of the teachers are pleasant. Unfortunately for our family, two bad apples spoiled the whole bunch. Our experience with my son's teachers, was not a very positive one. They were uncooperative, uncommunative, and never greeted us with a smile. They were very aggressive towards my child, and we were even told by other teachers, they yelled at him and called him names. I wish I had a better experience to share, and hope these types of posts are few and far between.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2010

My younger daughter went to Beaver Creek fro two years. The first year I was fine but the second one I didn't like it at all. They change teachers and when I left my daughter for after care, they put the Tv for her for 2 hours. She didn't like it so I didn't leave her there again. The teachers they have now don't communicate with the parents at all. Very dissapointent. Fabiola LeBarron
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2010

when I saw a teacher push a crying child down in one morning, All the good reviews I have read, and the reason I send My child there just end here!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

lack of supervision. As a parent I do not like picking my child up with teachers talking and not watching over my child as they are there for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

Beaver Creek has been a wonderful and fullfilling experience for my child. The teachers and staff are extremely organized and have an enriching curriculum. My child will be well prepared for kindergarten. I would recommend Beaver Creek to any parent looking for a pre-school in the Crofton, MD area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2008

Beaver Creek has met and exceeded my daughter's learning expectations. All play activities are set with a clear purpose as my child is unaware she is learning while playing at the same time. Field trips are appropriately planned that is aligned with weekly themes. An awesome environment has been set in the 3s rooms and I have the same expectations as she progresses into pre-school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

great school and staff. There is no turnover rate like other schools and the staff is very dedicated and has alot of experience working in this field
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

My child has been there since she was two and loves attending the school . She enjoys telling me about her day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

I am very happy with my childs preschool class. My child loves his three year old teachers. They seem very dedicated and teach my child so much such as spelling their names, different themes, numbers, letters, and make it so much fun for the children at the same time. He loves going to this school...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2008

My three year old child loves going to school and loves her teachers.The teachers in the class are very nuturing and understanding to the children's needs. My little girl loves showing me her worksheets and art projects that she did for the day. She is so proud!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

Words can not express what this school has given my child. I love this school as a parent and see improvement each day in her reading and speech. My child wants to have her teachers live with her. This is absolutely the best school ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 42%
Black 14% 35%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2165 Davidsonville Road
Gambrills, MD 21054
Phone: (410) 721-4145

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT