Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Good Shephard Pre-School 5

Posted March 25, 2013
- a parent
My little girl loved this school. Teachers are great. Even though her first language is spanish they were very kind to her and she has improved a lot thanks to the teachers efforts. I am waiting for my little one to turn three so he can go to this school too. I highly recommend this school.

Good Shephard Pre-School 5

Posted July 23, 2008
- a parent
After two years of attending preschool at Good Shepherd, my son is set to begin kindergarten this fall. He'll be going in able to read, add, subtract, and even multiply. He knows his numbers through 1,000 and is completing 1st grade workbooks. I could not be happier with my choice to send him to Good Shepherd and already have my daughter enrolled for this fall. Once her two years are up, my youngest son will be starting up at Good Shepherd. I couldn't be happier with the teachers, curriculum and environment. Also, I am a Jewish parent in an interfaith relationship but I am very comfortable with my children attending the church for school because the program is education-based rather than religion-based. I couldn't be happier with Good Shepherd, especially at their very affordable cost.


Good Shephard Pre-School 5

Posted May 30, 2007
- a parent
I enrolled my child at Good Shepherd with concerns that he might not be ready for structured learning. His teachers were absolutely wonderful in enticing him to participate in activities. He has really blossomed at Good Shepherd under the loving care and guidance of outstanding teachers whom we adore. I highly recommend Good Shepherd Preschool!

Good Shephard Pre-School 5

Posted May 26, 2007
- a parent
We love Good Shepherd! I have nothing but extremely positive things to say about the program there. The staff is wonderful - they are patient, loving, enthusiastic and very friendly. I have always felt welcome there. Their curriculum is based on the Frederick County Public School Kindergarten curriculum and they are always reevaluating what they are teaching - looking for different ways to approach a concept or unit. I have teaching experience and my opinion has been asked for on several occasions. They do have music in the classrooms - the adorable programs they put on at Christmas and Graduation prove that. The learning materials are varied and include manipulatives, puzzles, games, toys, fine motor materials, and items for gross motor play. They also enroll many children who are being serviced by Childfind (FCPS)and have learning disabilities. I am impressed with their willingness to go the extra mile with such children.

Good Shephard Pre-School 5

Posted April 25, 2007
- a parent
The perfect environment for a child's first school experience. Small class sizes, loving gentle teachers, and lots of parent involvement. Great field trips, plays, music days, art, crafts. We've loved Good Shepherd!!


Good Shephard Pre-School 5

Posted March 23, 2007
- a parent
We just moved to the area and joined Good Shepherd mid year. We have had a wonderful experience. The staff is kind, helpful and welcoming. My son absolutely loves his teachers and the other students. I am thrilled with the program. I feel that the staff provides wonderful balance of play and learning that is very appropriate for young children. We couldn't be happier with our choice!

Good Shephard Pre-School 5

Posted March 02, 2005
- a parent
I have had nothing but good experiences with this school. I had two children attend there for a total of 6 consecutive years. The school provided a warm, caring atmosphere for all children attending. They managed to teach children at all ends of the learning spectrum, and not cause either to lose interest or feel left out. I was welcome to stay to help out with the classes, and I did so often. It was my experience that the teachers were more supportive and caring towards those children who were 'problematic' than any of the teachers I've seen in other schools. Often, the teachers were so patient with these children, that the parents of the other children in the class became frustrated. Out of 27 children in one magnet classroom, 5 of them attended kindergarten at Good Shepherd. I highly recommend Good Shepherd to anyone looking for a warm, friendly environment.

Good Shephard Pre-School 2

Posted September 16, 2004
- a parent
Heard great reviews about this school, but found a very different environment. If your pre-schooler has spent several years in day care/preschool, then this could be a good place for you. However, if your child is not moldable within a week, then you will receive great opposition from the staff. There is little flexibility in their approaches, no music in the classrooms and they don't use manipulatives to help students learn. The bottom line: If your child is 'easy', then you are welcomed there. If your child requires 'teaching', then you're better off trying somewhere else.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Good Shephard Pre-School
1415 West 7th Street, Frederick, MD  21702
(301) 695-5855
Last modified Good Shephard Pre-School is a Private school that serves grade PK
Good Shephard Pre-School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top