Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Childrens Manor School 5

Posted January 24, 2014
- a parent
Love this school! My daughter started attending this school (in their primary class) at the end of August. She turned 2 in September. She knows all her letters (lower and upper case), all her colors, can count to 20, etc. She is excited to go to school every day. She genuinely seems happy there. She comes home singing songs and talking about her classmates. She has yoga, Spanish and music each week. A lot of credit for this is owed to the teacher. She welcomes her every day and encourages her to put her stuff away and get settled. It is a great learning environment.

Childrens Manor School 5

Posted January 16, 2013
- a parent
My 2yr old has attended this school for year now. Most important, she loves going to school every single day. Smiles and runs to the door, receives hugs from her teachers when she enters and tells me about all the fun things she did all day when I pick her up. Additionally, the things my 2yr old knows is outstanding: all letters (upper and lower), identify all numbers up to 20, speaks and responds to simple Spanish phrases, knows the continents, days of the week and months in the year. I gave this school 5 stars b/c I know my child is happy and learning everyday.


Childrens Manor School 2

Posted June 14, 2012
- a parent
Initially, I thought that Children's Manor in Columbia was a pretty decent place to send my child. Now that my child is about to graduate and move on to the public school setting, I must admit that if I had known half of the things that parent friends have been sharing with me this past year, I would probably have transferred my child out of the school. However, my child has established friendships at the school, which has made it difficult even if I wanted to go that route. For instance, I have heard of parents complaining that their children were being yelled at, berated, and made to cry. In addition, in terms of safety concerns, there were disinfectant spray cans lying around in each class, within reach for all little ones. More horrifying was a story that there was a pair of box cutters, left on the counter top, accessible for all students to get a hold of. Academically, my child has progressed in some areas, but not all. Sadly, I expected a lot more out of the Pre-K program this year, considering my child would be moving on to Kindergarten the following school year. Explore all of your Montessori options before committing to CMMS-Columbia.

Childrens Manor School 5

Posted June 30, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has been attending Childrens Manor in Columbia for almost a year now. She is 2 1/2 and can speak spanish, recognize numbers, the alphabet (upper and lower case), can name all the planets/stars in the solar system and has learned phonics. The teachers are attentive and truly care about the students. We are quite pleased with the program.

Childrens Manor School 1

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
My children have been attending this school since last summer. I just received a report card for one of my boys that did not include a single positive comment on it. I'm appalled. Even if the teacher doesn't like a student, she needs to be able to say at least one positive thing. Not doing so simply means she doesn't know my son at all. My son is smart enough to know when a teacher doesn't like him. I regret ever having sent him to this school.


Childrens Manor School 4

Posted October 24, 2009
- a parent
I really think this school is a diamond. With most schools pretending to be Montessori (Playing to the latest educational craze). Ms. Jenni was upfront about her embrasing Marie Montessoris methods but placing and emphasis on what our children have to expect when entering elementary school. I applaud her and the rest of the staff for their level of excellence. My son runs to school with a smile on his face as do many of the other children. There is only one thing I am not so sold on and it's a discipline chart but again I was able to voice my opinion and speak freely with the teacher, other parents and Ms. Jenni. So far my child is having a wonderful experience at Childrens Manor.

Childrens Manor School 5

Posted May 07, 2008
- a parent
Absolutely love this school. Both primary and pre-k teachers are caring end encouraging. If a child is bright, they keep him busy with more advanced stuff then the rest of the class. My 4-year-old can read already. Even with 2-year-old kids they learn letters, numbers, days of week, months, weather, planets, continents, etc. - All with fun, songs and games. In pre-k, they bring homework sometimes. But they have toys, too - not just learning. We plan to keep our child in this school for kindergarden as well. My younger child just strated this school, too.

Childrens Manor School 5

Posted February 13, 2008
- a parent
What I like most about this school is that the teachers care about their students. They teach 2 year olds more than all other Montessori schools in the area. It seems to be a combined traditional and Montessori method. The teachers spend a lot more one on one learning time in this school. In a short period of time my child has learned phonics for each letter, names of all of the continents, socialization skills, and writing /tracing skills. I learned a real lesson from this school..... just because it costs more does not mean that it is better.


Childrens Manor School 1

Posted February 25, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Childrens Manor School
9008 Red Branch Road, Columbia, MD  21045
(410) 730-3100
Last modified Childrens Manor School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Childrens Manor School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top