Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Childrens Manor School

Preschool

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Columbia

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $280,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 24, 2014

Love this school! My daughter started attending this school (in their primary class) at the end of August. She turned 2 in September. She knows all her letters (lower and upper case), all her colors, can count to 20, etc. She is excited to go to school every day. She genuinely seems happy there. She comes home singing songs and talking about her classmates. She has yoga, Spanish and music each week. A lot of credit for this is owed to the teacher. She welcomes her every day and encourages her to put her stuff away and get settled. It is a great learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

My 2yr old has attended this school for year now. Most important, she loves going to school every single day. Smiles and runs to the door, receives hugs from her teachers when she enters and tells me about all the fun things she did all day when I pick her up. Additionally, the things my 2yr old knows is outstanding: all letters (upper and lower), identify all numbers up to 20, speaks and responds to simple Spanish phrases, knows the continents, days of the week and months in the year. I gave this school 5 stars b/c I know my child is happy and learning everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2012

Initially, I thought that Children's Manor in Columbia was a pretty decent place to send my child. Now that my child is about to graduate and move on to the public school setting, I must admit that if I had known half of the things that parent friends have been sharing with me this past year, I would probably have transferred my child out of the school. However, my child has established friendships at the school, which has made it difficult even if I wanted to go that route. For instance, I have heard of parents complaining that their children were being yelled at, berated, and made to cry. In addition, in terms of safety concerns, there were disinfectant spray cans lying around in each class, within reach for all little ones. More horrifying was a story that there was a pair of box cutters, left on the counter top, accessible for all students to get a hold of. Academically, my child has progressed in some areas, but not all. Sadly, I expected a lot more out of the Pre-K program this year, considering my child would be moving on to Kindergarten the following school year. Explore all of your Montessori options before committing to CMMS-Columbia.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2011

My daughter has been attending Childrens Manor in Columbia for almost a year now. She is 2 1/2 and can speak spanish, recognize numbers, the alphabet (upper and lower case), can name all the planets/stars in the solar system and has learned phonics. The teachers are attentive and truly care about the students. We are quite pleased with the program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

My children have been attending this school since last summer. I just received a report card for one of my boys that did not include a single positive comment on it. I'm appalled. Even if the teacher doesn't like a student, she needs to be able to say at least one positive thing. Not doing so simply means she doesn't know my son at all. My son is smart enough to know when a teacher doesn't like him. I regret ever having sent him to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2009

I really think this school is a diamond. With most schools pretending to be Montessori (Playing to the latest educational craze). Ms. Jenni was upfront about her embrasing Marie Montessoris methods but placing and emphasis on what our children have to expect when entering elementary school. I applaud her and the rest of the staff for their level of excellence. My son runs to school with a smile on his face as do many of the other children. There is only one thing I am not so sold on and it's a discipline chart but again I was able to voice my opinion and speak freely with the teacher, other parents and Ms. Jenni. So far my child is having a wonderful experience at Childrens Manor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

Absolutely love this school. Both primary and pre-k teachers are caring end encouraging. If a child is bright, they keep him busy with more advanced stuff then the rest of the class. My 4-year-old can read already. Even with 2-year-old kids they learn letters, numbers, days of week, months, weather, planets, continents, etc. - All with fun, songs and games. In pre-k, they bring homework sometimes. But they have toys, too - not just learning. We plan to keep our child in this school for kindergarden as well. My younger child just strated this school, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

What I like most about this school is that the teachers care about their students. They teach 2 year olds more than all other Montessori schools in the area. It seems to be a combined traditional and Montessori method. The teachers spend a lot more one on one learning time in this school. In a short period of time my child has learned phonics for each letter, names of all of the continents, socialization skills, and writing /tracing skills. I learned a real lesson from this school..... just because it costs more does not mean that it is better.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 62% 6%
White 31% 42%
Black 8% 35%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9008 Red Branch Road
Columbia, MD 21045
Phone: (410) 730-3100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT