Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-K|Private
36 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bryant Woods Montessori Childrens House 5

Posted February 09, 2016
- a parent
This school is simply AMAZING. I was open to (but not necessarily looking for) a Montessori school and a colleague’s children went here 8 years ago when they had different staff. Things likely had changed but I decided to check it out and see – especially since the other schools in the area seemed chaotic, crowded, and not what I remember from my own childhood preschool experience. I also believed that my spirited son needed a place that accepted him for his uniqueness and where staff appreciates individuality rather than force him into a mold. Bryant Woods Montessori is a calm one-room classroom with nurturing and respectful staff who empower and challenge our kids. They honor diversity and traditions as is evident in classroom activities, topics, staff and the kids as well. They have a special balance of giving the children a space to flourish on their own yet gently nudging them to learn and grow. The classroom work is filled with classic Montessori materials rather than just Fisher Price. The Director, Mercy, is graceful and truly impeccable. She is very hands-on with the day-to-day activities and communicates with parents almost weekly. The teachers are one of a kind and you will feel their love for what they do during a classroom observation. My son consistently tells me that his favorite part of school is his teachers and doing his “work” there. He has grown SO much since school started. There are also a lot of different types of opportunities for parent involvement if you are interested as well. I couldn’t imagine a better preschool and my younger child will be going there when he is 3 as well!

Bryant Woods Montessori Childrens House 5

Posted June 12, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school. Excellent teachers (can't say enough how amazing the teachers are). Great families. Most importantly, our kids LOVE this school.


Bryant Woods Montessori Childrens House 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is completing her first year at BWMCH and I am blown away by what she has learned. This school is amazing because it is academically excellent and also completely nurturing and kind. My daughter is being academically fulfilled and emotionally fulfilled as well. She has gone from loving snow to hating snow days because snow days mean that she can't go to school. She has also learned independence and how to take charge of her own learning. And her teachers give her amazing structure and feedback and nurturing and love. My only complaint about this school is that it only goes up to Kindergarten. I would love for her to stay longer if we could! Not only is the academic environment excellent, the community is friendly and loving as well. I would tell any parent who is looking for an amazing school that Bryant Woods Montessori is the place to send your kids. I wish I had known about them earlier!

Bryant Woods Montessori Childrens House 5

Posted April 13, 2014
- a parent
We are just finishing up our first year at BWMCH and are blown away by how much our son has grown with regards to independence and social skills. I attended Bryant Woods Montessori as a child growing up here, so when I moved back to area I was happy to see it was still a staple in the Columbia area and just as highly rated as it was 30 yrs ago! The teachers are incredibly patient and loving towards the children, while also encouraging them to gain that montessori independence and confidence. The curriculum has been thorough and matched to the pace of learning for each child. Parent involvement is a big part of the culture and encourages both parents and kids to get to know each other well. Cannot say enough good things about this school!

Bryant Woods Montessori Childrens House 5

Posted January 17, 2013
- a parent
In this day and age, it is so important to be able to send your children to school knowing they will be safe, looked after and loved. Both of my children are so happy at Bryant Woods Montessori and I am so thankful for a staff of teachers and professionals who keep the children's interests at heart. We are very happy with our choice of preschool!


Bryant Woods Montessori Childrens House 5

Posted January 09, 2013
- a parent
It s difficult to express the love I feel for BWMCH. I watched both my sons blossom there in all aspects of their lives. The academic preparation they received was exceptional (one son entered first grade dividing and reading well above grade level), but more important to me was the love of learning, curiosity, thoughtfulness, social skills, and confidence that the school helped foster. They enjoyed the after-school enrichment opportunities and summer camp as well.

Bryant Woods Montessori Childrens House 5

Posted December 20, 2009
- a parent
My daughter attended BWMCH for two years, from Fall 06 to Spring 08. My wife and I were both very impressed by the dedication of the staff and the quality of the education they provide. They take the time to get to know each child and are attentive to their individual interests, needs, and progress. This is a small, not-for-profit school and their tuition is very reasonable. It's quite evident that they are not in it for the money, as with some private schools. They truly love what they do and it shows in the quality of the guidance and education.

Bryant Woods Montessori Childrens House 5

Posted October 04, 2007
- a parent
I love this school! Montessori is a wonderful and (although perhaps not immediately apparent) structured way for a child to develop. The youngest students are more attracted to the practical works such as hand washing, pouring or chopping vegetables. Older children (4 - 6) gravitate more towards the math and language centers and complete some amazingly complex work using some wonderful materials. The teachers are amazing and truly surpass all of my expectations and I highly recommend this school over and over again.

Nearby schools

Bryant Woods Montessori Childrens House
10449 Green Mountain Circle, Columbia, MD  21044
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (410) 730-7525
Last modified Bryant Woods Montessori Childrens House is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Top