Advertisement
Advertisement

Bryant Woods Montessori Childrens House

Private | K | 9 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Columbia

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $330,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,550.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

My daughter is completing her first year at BWMCH and I am blown away by what she has learned. This school is amazing because it is academically excellent and also completely nurturing and kind. My daughter is being academically fulfilled and emotionally fulfilled as well. She has gone from loving snow to hating snow days because snow days mean that she can't go to school. She has also learned independence and how to take charge of her own learning. And her teachers give her amazing structure and feedback and nurturing and love. My only complaint about this school is that it only goes up to Kindergarten. I would love for her to stay longer if we could! Not only is the academic environment excellent, the community is friendly and loving as well. I would tell any parent who is looking for an amazing school that Bryant Woods Montessori is the place to send your kids. I wish I had known about them earlier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Sunday, April 13, 2014

We are just finishing up our first year at BWMCH and are blown away by how much our son has grown with regards to independence and social skills. I attended Bryant Woods Montessori as a child growing up here, so when I moved back to area I was happy to see it was still a staple in the Columbia area and just as highly rated as it was 30 yrs ago! The teachers are incredibly patient and loving towards the children, while also encouraging them to gain that montessori independence and confidence. The curriculum has been thorough and matched to the pace of learning for each child. Parent involvement is a big part of the culture and encourages both parents and kids to get to know each other well. Cannot say enough good things about this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

Really good school. good teachers, really nice families. kids really like it. they seam to be learning. we are very happy with math in particular.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2013

In this day and age, it is so important to be able to send your children to school knowing they will be safe, looked after and loved. Both of my children are so happy at Bryant Woods Montessori and I am so thankful for a staff of teachers and professionals who keep the children's interests at heart. We are very happy with our choice of preschool!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2013

It s difficult to express the love I feel for BWMCH. I watched both my sons blossom there in all aspects of their lives. The academic preparation they received was exceptional (one son entered first grade dividing and reading well above grade level), but more important to me was the love of learning, curiosity, thoughtfulness, social skills, and confidence that the school helped foster. They enjoyed the after-school enrichment opportunities and summer camp as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2009

My daughter attended BWMCH for two years, from Fall 06 to Spring 08. My wife and I were both very impressed by the dedication of the staff and the quality of the education they provide. They take the time to get to know each child and are attentive to their individual interests, needs, and progress. This is a small, not-for-profit school and their tuition is very reasonable. It's quite evident that they are not in it for the money, as with some private schools. They truly love what they do and it shows in the quality of the guidance and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

I love this school! Montessori is a wonderful and (although perhaps not immediately apparent) structured way for a child to develop. The youngest students are more attracted to the practical works such as hand washing, pouring or chopping vegetables. Older children (4 - 6) gravitate more towards the math and language centers and complete some amazingly complex work using some wonderful materials. The teachers are amazing and truly surpass all of my expectations and I highly recommend this school over and over again.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 45%
Asian 33% N/A
Hispanic 11% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 40%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
  • Other Montessori

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10449 Green Mountain Circle
Columbia, MD 21044
Phone: (410) 730-7525

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT