Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Matthew's Early Education Center 4

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
I think st Matthews is the best place to start off your child. The play school is exceptional. My son started at the preschool level, which was exceptional, you rock mrs simpson!!!. Good communication with the parents, I admire your impact on my son. The director and administrative staff are so warm and easy to talk to,it feels like home. There is no form of racial discrimination going on, love that too about the school. I love this school so much that my 6month old twins will be attending this school, once they turn 2. I wish they did not just stop at kindergarten level, it would have made my life easier and I would not be searching for another school for my older son.

St Matthew's Early Education Center 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
St. Matthews is a great school with a very structured and nurturing environment. Our daughter has been there for Preschool, Prekindergarten, and Kindergarten and she has loved all of them. They teach important social skills and age appropriate academics, all mixed in with play. They challenge the children, but not beyond what is reasonable. We loved that they learned some special skills including Spanish, sign language, music and a love for science. The building blocks are all there so the children excel in their later education. There are even parents who loved it so much they continue to be involved after their kids have completed the program and moved on. The biggest downside to St. Matthews is that they only go through Kindergarten and do not continue through the other elementary years. It seems that they have pretty high teacher turnover, but they do everything they can to ease the transitions for the children. Some of the teachers have been there for decades, and those familiar faces help the children feel more secure. If we have another child, we would definitely send them to St. Matthews. It is a great foundation for the rest of their academic careers.


St Matthew's Early Education Center 5

Posted January 30, 2013
- a parent
We have been very pleased with our daughter's experience at St. Matthews. The teachers are incredibly caring and concerned with the well being of each child's development. We enjoy the fact that our child's "work is play," and are encouraged by the teacher's willingness to have parents involved and the opportunities afforded to us. The rates are competitive and the facilities are very clean.

St Matthew's Early Education Center 5

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
My daughter has been here since the summer and I am very happy with the progress she has made. All the teachers I have encountered are very caring and my daughter comes home talking about her teachers and the activities they do in class every day. Her teacher sends daily e-mails about what happens in class so I know what's going on. So far a great experience for me.

St Matthew's Early Education Center 1

Posted October 04, 2012
- a parent
The level of incompetence at this school is astounding. The staff does not appear to understand the rudiments of child development, and does not show any sign of caring or concern about what is best for the children. Do not allow this to be your child's first experience of school.


St Matthew's Early Education Center 5

Posted January 24, 2012
- a parent
Over the past year and a half my family has experienced the Playschool, Preschool, Pre-K programs and summer day care. It's a great school. The teachers and director are caring, organized, creative, friendly and communicative. The kids have lots of time to play (inside and out); the place is clean; preparation for kindergarten is excellent and staff turnover has been minimal. If you are looking at preschools or day care in Bowie, you should check it out.

St Matthew's Early Education Center 5

Posted March 22, 2011
- a parent
My daughter attended the T/Th 3 year old program and is now in the M-F morning pre-k program. If we hadn't made a few other life choices I would happily let her go to kindergarten there too! The program is wonderful (it includes music and science) and the teachers are amazing! The director seems to always have her door open for the parents too. Their philosophy is learning through play which is exactly what kids should do! You are only a kid for a short time after all. And let me tell you the philosophy works. My daughter is reading and is certainly more than prepared academically and socially for kindergarten and beyond

St Matthew's Early Education Center 5

Posted August 18, 2010
- a parent
We've been going to this school for over a year and are happy with it. Structured program is good, they have fun learning activities for the kids - including music and science. They've had a new director over the last year who seems to be trying to make positive changes.


St Matthew's Early Education Center 5

Posted May 02, 2010
- a parent
our daughter is finishing her 2nd year. first she attended the tue/thur preschool for 3 yr olds, now she is enrolled in the mon/wed/fri prekindergarten program. we love the school so much we are trying to configure a budget which allows us to send her to their private kindergarten program!

St Matthew's Early Education Center 3

Posted August 18, 2009
- a parent
My son really enjoys attending St Matthews. We just wish they stressed academics more in the part time classes. My son seems bored academically yet socially entertained.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Matthew's Early Education Center
14900 Annapolis Road, Bowie, MD  20715
(301) 464-1813
Last modified St Matthew's Early Education Center is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
St Matthew's Early Education Center Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top