Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Matthew's Early Education Center

Preschool

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bowie

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $229,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,250.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2013

St. Matthews is a great school with a very structured and nurturing environment. Our daughter has been there for Preschool, Prekindergarten, and Kindergarten and she has loved all of them. They teach important social skills and age appropriate academics, all mixed in with play. They challenge the children, but not beyond what is reasonable. We loved that they learned some special skills including Spanish, sign language, music and a love for science. The building blocks are all there so the children excel in their later education. There are even parents who loved it so much they continue to be involved after their kids have completed the program and moved on. The biggest downside to St. Matthews is that they only go through Kindergarten and do not continue through the other elementary years. It seems that they have pretty high teacher turnover, but they do everything they can to ease the transitions for the children. Some of the teachers have been there for decades, and those familiar faces help the children feel more secure. If we have another child, we would definitely send them to St. Matthews. It is a great foundation for the rest of their academic careers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2013

We have been very pleased with our daughter's experience at St. Matthews. The teachers are incredibly caring and concerned with the well being of each child's development. We enjoy the fact that our child's "work is play," and are encouraged by the teacher's willingness to have parents involved and the opportunities afforded to us. The rates are competitive and the facilities are very clean.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

My daughter has been here since the summer and I am very happy with the progress she has made. All the teachers I have encountered are very caring and my daughter comes home talking about her teachers and the activities they do in class every day. Her teacher sends daily e-mails about what happens in class so I know what's going on. So far a great experience for me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2012

The level of incompetence at this school is astounding. The staff does not appear to understand the rudiments of child development, and does not show any sign of caring or concern about what is best for the children. Do not allow this to be your child's first experience of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

Over the past year and a half my family has experienced the Playschool, Preschool, Pre-K programs and summer day care. It's a great school. The teachers and director are caring, organized, creative, friendly and communicative. The kids have lots of time to play (inside and out); the place is clean; preparation for kindergarten is excellent and staff turnover has been minimal. If you are looking at preschools or day care in Bowie, you should check it out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

My daughter attended the T/Th 3 year old program and is now in the M-F morning pre-k program. If we hadn't made a few other life choices I would happily let her go to kindergarten there too! The program is wonderful (it includes music and science) and the teachers are amazing! The director seems to always have her door open for the parents too. Their philosophy is learning through play which is exactly what kids should do! You are only a kid for a short time after all. And let me tell you the philosophy works. My daughter is reading and is certainly more than prepared academically and socially for kindergarten and beyond
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2010

We've been going to this school for over a year and are happy with it. Structured program is good, they have fun learning activities for the kids - including music and science. They've had a new director over the last year who seems to be trying to make positive changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

our daughter is finishing her 2nd year. first she attended the tue/thur preschool for 3 yr olds, now she is enrolled in the mon/wed/fri prekindergarten program. we love the school so much we are trying to configure a budget which allows us to send her to their private kindergarten program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

My son really enjoys attending St Matthews. We just wish they stressed academics more in the part time classes. My son seems bored academically yet socially entertained.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

I sent all 3 of my children here. The teachers and staff are wonderful. They are very caring and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2008

High staff turn over, younger staff doesn't know how to deal with the children. All in all very inconsistent school. Wouldn't recommend.................
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2008

Horrible school, some of the staff yell and are mean to the children. There goal is to scare them to behave. This includes the director. Listen from the halls if the doors are ever open. BEWARE
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2008

They just don't care about the children. Not impressed at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2008

St. Matthews is a great preschool and I would highly recommend it to all prospective parents. The teachers are knowledgeable and caring. The communication between the staff and the parents was excellent. The daycare staff is great for the most part, the veterans on the staff make up for some of the younger women who come and go from the program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

I enrolled my child in the three year old preschool class, was not impressed at all. The teacher really did not seem to connect at all with my child or me. No one in my opinion was very helpful or caring. You had to wait in the hallway to pick your child up, why?? This is preschool you know. My son and myself were not happy and would not recommend this school at all. My son usually a very happy child did not ever want to go. So after that year we sent him somewhere else..He loves the new school..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2007

I enrolled my child here when we first moved to Bowie, but withdrew him after the first day. St. Matthews had previously had a great program, with great teachers from what it appears. Our child's teacher seemed indifferent to him (and to us), and wasn't what we were looking for our child's first school experience to be. When we notified the office to withdraw, noone seemed to care or wonder why. (And the director was there at the time). Very strange.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2006

I think the preschool is a great place to send your children. The staff is caring and understanding. They have an awesome science and music program with great teachers. The director seems to say what you want to hear and can be very rude at times but Judy in the front office is so kind. She makes up for the director. Most of the staff are always smiling and appear to like thier job and the children. I would recommend this school, but sit in on a few teachers so you can pick one best suited for your childs needs. Some are better then others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2004

St. Matthews EEC is a wonderful place for children to learn. Two of my three children have attended classes at St. Matthews and absolutely love it. The teachers are wonderful and the kids amaze me when they come home and tell me all the new things they've learned.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 42%
Black 17% 35%
Two or more races 13% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 8% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hispanic 0% 12%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14900 Annapolis Road
Bowie, MD 20715
Phone: (301) 464-1813

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT