Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

First English Lutheran Preschool & Kindergarten

Preschool

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Baltimore

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $102,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 11, 2014

My son has been at FELP for three years. It has been a very positive experience. His teaches have all been warm, creative and energetic people. The principal, Jenny, is just the best. There is a lot of parent involvement too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

We did not have a good experience at this preschool. If they had been more helpful in sorting out how to help our child be successful, we would have given it more stars, even if it had not worked for us. The staff was not helpful during a very stressful time in our lives. We are happy to be finished there and it has been a joy to work with another preschool that helped our now very happy child adjust.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2013

Both of my children attend this school and we have had positive experiences in both cases. I have a boy and a girl and are different in temperment and nature - they have both thrived at FELP. I have had one at a different preschool and although that was a good experience, I believe he is doing better in this one. I wish they would add a pre-first!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2012

Our family did not have a positive experience with this preschool. We felt they did not adequately address disciplinary issues in our child's class and one of the teachers clearly had her "favorite" students. We have a quieter child and felt they were overlooked and did not receive their fair share of attention from the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2010

This is an exceptional school, with exceptional teachers who favour learning in a playful and warm environment. The kindergarten teachers are iinspirational and I can't praised them highly enough. The head of the school and the admin staff are also great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2009

This is a very special school. Both my children attended for several years. In a world where children are barely allowed to explore play in favor of rigid & relentless academics (as young as age two!) this school is an island of sanity. FELP teaches much in the way of academic learning, but through play and socialization. Children are allowed to be children and to think; they are not turned into fact parrots as at many schools now. Children learn to respect one another and to be one integral part of a group. These skills are far more important than knowing ABCs and numbers. However, your child will learn all that as well at FELP. I would describe it as old fashioned in a good way. The teachers look for and see the best in each child. They respect & nurture each little person according to his or her needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

I think Megan Morgan is a wonderful Assistant Teacher at First Engligh Lutheran Preschool. She is a hard worker and spends extra hours out of her own time to make her class room better. She is a wonderful person and teacher. Any parent who has her as their child's teacher is a lucky person. She puts the kids first and is very affectionate. If they have a bad day she has a way about her to make them smile with in no time! Keep doing a great job Ms. Megan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

This preschool focuses on learning through play. The teachers have been wonderful and caring. My daughter had a very positive experience there. Also, I always felt this was one of the more secure preschools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 6%
Black 7% 35%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Evangelical lutheran church in america
Associations
  • ELEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3807 North Charles Street
Baltimore, MD 21218
Phone: (410) 235-5887

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT