Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

2 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Busy Bee Child Development 1

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
I took my child here for a couple of years. The was staff turn over was crazy. Interns were terrible and inappropriate. My child came home speaking foul language and I know they learned it here and not in my home. I had other serious concers that fell on deaf ears. Not sure why they are still able to operate. So many more concerns I can't even mention here. My concerns where reported to the state and ignored.

Busy Bee Child Development 1

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
Please don't take your child here. Awful. The staff are not teachers they are babysitters. My child came home with dirty diapers on numerous occasions.


Busy Bee Child Development 1

Posted July 25, 2014
- a parent
My 3 yr old daughter attended for only two weeks. It began with mild concern until the last day when she had been left outside by herself. She began to hit me open-handed when she was upset and stopped saying "please" and "thank you". It was not until the second week when I even had an opportunity to meet her provider. The entire first week the provider I left her with and picked her up from only had interaction for the first and last half hour of the day with no report from her classroom provider. A total of 3x I had picked her up with a dry diaper, but a strong ammonia smell emanating and dried rock hard feces. Clearly they did not wipe her. The last day I had enough. I could hear her screaming from the corner of Cox and Harding Street. As the school pulled into view, there was my 3 year old little girl outside all alone screaming and crying. It took me two minutes to calm her down enough to go to the door of the building. It was then the provider opened the door inside. The front door was unlocked and I saw there were only two other kids he had to watch. He changed his story twice as to what had happened. The outside fence only came to my chest and anyone could've grabbed her.

Busy Bee Child Development 5

Posted June 19, 2014
- a parent
oh my word! when I pick up my child, they are so happy! and it doesn't matter if they are dirty from the day because I know they are having a fun filled day and they can take a bath when they get home! they do not even want to leave, they tell me all the fun that they had all day, they do so many things. I cannot even count them all! all I know is it's so easy to be a kid here, and I am so very happy my kids are happy too!

Busy Bee Child Development 1

Posted June 26, 2013
- a parent
My child attended this day care for about 3 years. The staff that worked with her when she was an infant through age 2 were terrific. They were friendly, caring, easy to talk with and professional. Things changed when my daughter went into the early preschool program. The "teacher" was unfriendly and horribly unprofessional. When we would ask questions or bring up concerns about different things that were happening in the room we wouldn't get any answers. The communication was very poor. We went back and forth with the director for about 3 weeks asking for specific changes to take place and even though we were told that it was being worked on, no changes ever took place. When I gave our notice the director sent me a very rude email. After getting the email we picked up our daughter and never went back. It was a horrible experience. We found a preschool that has actual certified teachers who are professional, friendly and care about the kids and their families.


Busy Bee Child Development 5

Posted June 06, 2013
- a parent
My son is 4 months old and even though he cannot tell me in words that he loves it there, I know he does. He smiles when I drop him off and smiles when I pick him up. I feel like they listen to me over there and they are good at telling me how he did that day when I picked him up. Some of the bad reviews I have read are crazy. Kids get hurt all the time. They are going to get hurt at home and they are going to get hurt at daycare. That's how they learn to deal with life. You cannot shelter them forever. So far so good over there.

Busy Bee Child Development 2

Posted January 26, 2013
- a community member
unprofessional on many levels. i have seen dhs there numerous times. more than i have seen at other day cares. i would only feel comfortable leaving my child there if i was looking for a "child sitter" but this not in my opinion a child development center

Busy Bee Child Development 1

Posted March 01, 2012
- a parent
I can not believe the way this daycare is run. My daughter was consistently getting hurt there, they never stuck to their ratio count and my daughter would scream every drop off. I had to pull her out - safety is an issue. I would pick my daughter up every day and she would be sitting at the table crying while the teacher in the room was vacuuming - really? You couldn't do that after the kids left? I would pop in randomly and she would again be at the table - just sitting there. Not a good place for your child. The owners just do not care - they would leave for weeks at a time and left anyone in charge. When I finally gave my 2 week notice the owner ignored me, refused to talk to my daughter (who is 2!!) and was just plain rude. Think carefully before you enroll there. (AND - its not cheap!!)


Busy Bee Child Development 5

Posted May 16, 2011
- a parent
Cannot say enough wonderful things about the programs, facilities and teaching staff at Busy Bee.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Busy Bee Child Development
9 Harding Street, South Portland, ME  04106
(207) 774-9881
Last modified Busy Bee Child Development is a Private school that serves grade PK
Busy Bee Child Development Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top