Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Stepping Stones Montessori 5

Posted October 31, 2012
- a parent
My son attended this school from the age of 2 years until the end of 3rd grade. Every single aspect of the school has been fantastic. The academics are the best of any school in the city, and believe me, I've looked at them all! The directresses at each level are exactly perfect in their balance of demanding and nurturing for the maturity of the students they work with. And not enough can be said of the school's owner and director who knows each child, not just by name, but actually knows who the child is as a person and a student! How many schools can you say that about? Bottom line: after having my son in attendance at this school for 7 years, I have ONLY POSITIVE things to say and would recommend the school wholeheartedly to any parent. Again, how many schools can you say that about?

Stepping Stones Montessori 5

Posted February 03, 2012
- a parent
I started all my kids out at Stepping Stones and have always been pleased. The method of teaching is holistic and natural and kids learn self confidence without all the competition fostered in other classrooms. Every child is valued and nurtured/taught regardless of "grades." The children are also exposed to other cultures through the diversity there and also things like Gourmet Day. If I could have kept all of my children there for their entire school career, I would have loved to do so.


Stepping Stones Montessori 5

Posted June 02, 2011
- a parent
My child attends Stepping Stones Montessori and it has been an excellent choice in education. The curriculum far exceeds the local catholic schools on the westbank! I love the small classes. The teachers are excellent in learning and knowing everything about each child. Ms Dale has been a phenominal teacher and is very concerned about her students. The challenging material has allowed my child to excel beyond my expectations. At 3, my child was spelling and doing addition. They have a strong emphasis on independence and academic excellence!!! I give it 10 out of 10 stars!

Stepping Stones Montessori 5

Posted February 15, 2011
- a parent
Stepping Stones Montessori has high standards and has mastered the art and science of holistic, effective education. As I go through the Kindergarten admission process of some of the city's most highly regarded private schools, I find that these schools hold a Stepping Stones pre-K education in high regard as well. My son is all the better for his experience at Stepping Stones and I am a better parent due to the relationships and communication formed with his teachers. He tested at the Very Superior level (his full scale score = 134) on the WPPSI III IQ test. I know that what he has learned at Stepping Stones contributed to this high score. I am eternally grateful to the school director, Joan Navarro, and her incredible faculty and staff for fully investing themselves in the education of our children. Just can't thank them enough.

Stepping Stones Montessori 5

Posted December 08, 2010
- a parent
My son attended Stepping Stones as a toddler. He was reading, writing and answering comprehension questions by 3. My daughter attended a prestigious, private school in New Orleans, and it couldn't compete with the advanced academic level of Stepping Stones. Teachers are stern and have high expectations, but they are loving, nurturing and challenge the kids to reach for the stars. My son has always excelled in school because of his phenominal head start here. They focus on tactile learning along with visual and auditory instruction to challenge all senses. Hurricane Katrina forced our relocation, and we were devastated to leave, but my son has wonderful memories of the school. You won't be disappointed at the level of academic excellence!


Stepping Stones Montessori 5

Posted March 20, 2010
- a parent
Cannot say enough good about this school. My son has been attending for 2 years now, at 4 years old he is reading and writing 3 letter words. Ms. Dale, the pre primary teacher really has been in tune with my son since day 1. You cannot give your child a better start than this!

Stepping Stones Montessori 5

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
Our son has attended for two years (preschool and kindergarten, including summers), and we've been very happy with the instruction, discipline, and attention to each child. There's also an active parents' group.

Stepping Stones Montessori 5

Posted April 09, 2009
- a parent
Great school! Very advanced academically. The kids learn independence, self control. I'm recommending it to everyone.


Stepping Stones Montessori 5

Posted February 19, 2009
- a parent
We had 4 children who attended Stepping Stones before we moved to another part of the state. One attended through the 3rd grade, two others through first grade and one through K. My kids are in junior high and high school now and have never lost the love of learning that they were given at this school. Nor have they ever learned as much! The absolute most loving, wonderful school that my children will ever know is Stepping Stones.

Stepping Stones Montessori 0
no rating

Posted December 16, 2008
- a parent
I love this school and so does my daughter. This her secin year at Stepping Stones and she really loves her teacher ans her classmates. I would refer this school to everyone. Stepping Stones is a great school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Stepping Stones Montessori
552 Terry Parkway, Terrytown, LA  70056
(504) 362-0513
Last modified Stepping Stones Montessori is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Stepping Stones Montessori Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top