Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Stepping Stones Montessori

Preschool | 47 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Terrytown

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $124,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 31, 2012

My son attended this school from the age of 2 years until the end of 3rd grade. Every single aspect of the school has been fantastic. The academics are the best of any school in the city, and believe me, I've looked at them all! The directresses at each level are exactly perfect in their balance of demanding and nurturing for the maturity of the students they work with. And not enough can be said of the school's owner and director who knows each child, not just by name, but actually knows who the child is as a person and a student! How many schools can you say that about? Bottom line: after having my son in attendance at this school for 7 years, I have ONLY POSITIVE things to say and would recommend the school wholeheartedly to any parent. Again, how many schools can you say that about?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2012

I started all my kids out at Stepping Stones and have always been pleased. The method of teaching is holistic and natural and kids learn self confidence without all the competition fostered in other classrooms. Every child is valued and nurtured/taught regardless of "grades." The children are also exposed to other cultures through the diversity there and also things like Gourmet Day. If I could have kept all of my children there for their entire school career, I would have loved to do so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

My child attends Stepping Stones Montessori and it has been an excellent choice in education. The curriculum far exceeds the local catholic schools on the westbank! I love the small classes. The teachers are excellent in learning and knowing everything about each child. Ms Dale has been a phenominal teacher and is very concerned about her students. The challenging material has allowed my child to excel beyond my expectations. At 3, my child was spelling and doing addition. They have a strong emphasis on independence and academic excellence!!! I give it 10 out of 10 stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2011

Stepping Stones Montessori has high standards and has mastered the art and science of holistic, effective education. As I go through the Kindergarten admission process of some of the city's most highly regarded private schools, I find that these schools hold a Stepping Stones pre-K education in high regard as well. My son is all the better for his experience at Stepping Stones and I am a better parent due to the relationships and communication formed with his teachers. He tested at the Very Superior level (his full scale score = 134) on the WPPSI III IQ test. I know that what he has learned at Stepping Stones contributed to this high score. I am eternally grateful to the school director, Joan Navarro, and her incredible faculty and staff for fully investing themselves in the education of our children. Just can't thank them enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2010

My son attended Stepping Stones as a toddler. He was reading, writing and answering comprehension questions by 3. My daughter attended a prestigious, private school in New Orleans, and it couldn't compete with the advanced academic level of Stepping Stones. Teachers are stern and have high expectations, but they are loving, nurturing and challenge the kids to reach for the stars. My son has always excelled in school because of his phenominal head start here. They focus on tactile learning along with visual and auditory instruction to challenge all senses. Hurricane Katrina forced our relocation, and we were devastated to leave, but my son has wonderful memories of the school. You won't be disappointed at the level of academic excellence!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2010

Cannot say enough good about this school. My son has been attending for 2 years now, at 4 years old he is reading and writing 3 letter words. Ms. Dale, the pre primary teacher really has been in tune with my son since day 1. You cannot give your child a better start than this!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Our son has attended for two years (preschool and kindergarten, including summers), and we've been very happy with the instruction, discipline, and attention to each child. There's also an active parents' group.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2009

Great school! Very advanced academically. The kids learn independence, self control. I'm recommending it to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

We had 4 children who attended Stepping Stones before we moved to another part of the state. One attended through the 3rd grade, two others through first grade and one through K. My kids are in junior high and high school now and have never lost the love of learning that they were given at this school. Nor have they ever learned as much! The absolute most loving, wonderful school that my children will ever know is Stepping Stones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

I love this school and so does my daughter. This her secin year at Stepping Stones and she really loves her teacher ans her classmates. I would refer this school to everyone. Stepping Stones is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

I have one child about to graduate and one in the primary class. This school is absolutely amazing. You have to see it to believe it. Not only is it academically untouchable, but the social skills and the independence that this type of program fosters is unbelieveable. I would recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2007

This is my child's first year at the school. I love it. I can't wait for Fridays to check her folder and see what amazing things she has learned that week . I look forward to registering my other children there as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2007

Absolutely phenominal! My daughter loves going to school and Ms. Dale is wonderful and caring. I have no worries when I drop my daughter off. It's worth every penny! She enjoys and speak of her peers fondly and her independance is amazing. She is in pr-primary but I can still see the difference from peers her age not in this program. I think it is the best head start I could have possibly giver her. I can only hope my son will see the same succes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2006

We have had 4 children go through this school and I have to say the only 'draw back' if you can call it that, is that when they get to the best private schools after finishing here, they are always 1-2 grades ahead of their peers. This school is the most nurturing, loving and academically amazing school in New Orleans. In fact, you wouldn't expect it from New Orleans. It's truly elite.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2005

We've been pleased with our childrens' overall performance at this school. We feel that our children have benefitted immensely from being in this environment. All of ours are doing well academically. Place your child at this school and stay involved as a parent, you will be pleased with the outcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 30% 45%
White 30% 47%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 20% 1%
Hispanic 20% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • Other Montessori

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

552 Terry Parkway
Terrytown, LA 70056
Phone: (504) 362-0513

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT