Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

2 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Univ Of New Orleans Child Care Center 1

Posted June 22, 2013
- a parent
This center reflects very poorly . I do not recommend it.the teacher no patience.I was very dissatisfied with this center

Univ Of New Orleans Child Care Center 4

Posted March 08, 2013
- a parent
I have had my child at UNO children's center from 18 months-3 years and have had a wonderful experience. My child loves going to school and is thriving educationally. She has had 2 different teachers since coming to the school and has loved both of them. Everyday when I go to pick her up, her teacher makes sure to take time out to let me know how my daughters day was. While the "curriculum" is very play-based(As it should be in a pre-school), they do have schedules and rotate between "centers" such as literacy/math/science. At three, my daughter is able to write her own name, knows all the letters and sounds they make, and is I'm the beginning stages of learning to read. We have never had any problems with her getting sick except for once in a blue moon which I believe is absolutely normal, especially for young children in a preschool setting. Overall, we have has a very positive experience and love UNO children's center and staff!


Univ Of New Orleans Child Care Center 2

Posted October 03, 2012
- a parent
My son goes in UNO Children's Center for 5 weeks already and since the first week there he has been sick all the time!! He was 1 year old when he started and he had never been sick in his life prior to enrolling him there. His teacher seems nice but they seem easily bothered if the child is fussy. Even if he does not have a fever they still call you and ask you to pick him up. They do not care for your schedule or plans whatsoever. The good thing is that they provide food that is catered from the UNO restaurant and it is pretty good. Also the daycare is quite cheap compared to other places. However I will not suggest this place.

Univ Of New Orleans Child Care Center 1

Posted September 03, 2012
- a parent
Please do not send your children here. While at the center, my daughter was unhappy, she was having night terrors, developed a change in speech, she was having unexplained accidents only at school, and her teacher acted as if my child was an inconvenience to her. I'm upset with myself for keeping her there as long as I did. Within 2 days of starting her new school she is absolutely thriving. 100% of the problems she had at UNO stopped the day I took her out of there. It's like night and day. Also, FYI for UNO students, the center no longer caters to students and faculty only. It is open to the public. Do not think that just because you are a student your child will automatically have a spot held at the center. And be prepared to have to give the staff the exact schedule of your life. While they will keep your kids while you are at work and not in class, they frown upon it.

Univ Of New Orleans Child Care Center 2

Posted May 07, 2012
- a parent
This center reflects very poorly on UNO. I do not recommend it. As previous posters have stated, the staff are unqualified and there is no curriculum.


Univ Of New Orleans Child Care Center 2

Posted June 24, 2011
- a parent
Our daughter attended for one year. We were terribly disappointed in the lack of attentiveness and the continual change in staff and classroom setting. There was no curriculum. This is more like a baby-sitting service than a preschool program.

Univ Of New Orleans Child Care Center 3

Posted January 16, 2011
- a parent
I agree with previous posts that the policies are constantly changing, as well as the assistants, due to student workers, and the staff does not seem to be well trained. My child's teacher was constantly misspelling broccoli and cauliflower, which was just annoying. At the Children's Center the teachers give out a daily report to parents at the end of the day, which I really liked, until I noticed other children's reports and saw they were all the same. They are also very odd when it comes to sick children. I only keep my son home if he has a fever or is visibly ill. I do not keep him home for a runny nose. I felt that every time I picked him up and his nose was running (due to his bad allergies) that his teacher was implying that he should not be there. Also, the school calendar is not year round because they go by the college calendar. If you do not go to summer school, then neither does your child. And, while students are on break between semesters, so are their children. Some of the pros are that they do a lot of art, seem to have a productive day, long nap periods, and meals are provided , while they also allow children to eat as many helpings as they like.

Univ Of New Orleans Child Care Center 2

Posted May 27, 2010
- a parent
I would often pick up my daughter and see new faces, mostly UNO students 'helping out' who had little training. Communication from the directors to parents was very poor. There was a moderately high turnover rate of teachers and assistants. I was very dissatisfied with this center.


Univ Of New Orleans Child Care Center 3

Posted March 17, 2010
- a parent
the policies are constantly changing and so are the teachers. some of the staff and well informed as to what is expected of childcare providers while others are lacking.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Univ Of New Orleans Child Care Center
2000 Lakeshore Dr, New Orleans, LA  70122
(504) 280-3131
Last modified Univ Of New Orleans Child Care Center is a Private school that serves grade PK
Univ Of New Orleans Child Care Center Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top