Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-K
Private
Evansville, IN

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Evansville Day School 1

Posted October 13, 2014
- a community member
School staff needs to be trained how to be empathetic and how to deal with students who are ill especially good students.I know that there have been many students who have had similar issues with the staffor even worse. their love for the school and their position in this society has forced them to keep quiet lest anyone think any less of them and their faithfulness to the school. My love for the school has caused me to speak out and urge that not one more student suffers the way I did.

Evansville Day School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
WE LOVE EDS!!! My daughter has attended EDS for 5 years now. We are not upper income elitists-we are on financial aid and she is a minority student. I am troubled by the negative reviews I see here. We have seen no bias in favor of certain students over others, and when problems arise they are satisfactorily addressed. I have heard of several students not being offered renewal contracts, for academic or behavorial issues, so perhaps some of the negativity is sour grapes. And I am also aware of some families not bringing their children back because they had specific needs that a very small school simply cannot address. My daughter is receiving an excellent education that is superior to any she could receive elsewhere in this region. She is being challenged academically by first rate teachers and I could not be more pleased. Additionally, it is a safe environment for her to learn and grow. Bullying is virtually nonexistent, and the one time we reported it was not tolerated. There has been some reshuffling of teachers and administrators recently, but that happens in all institutions, and I trust that they are making decisions that will benefit our students and our school!


Evansville Day School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
My son graduated from Day School last year and received great scholarship packages for both of his top college picks. He has started his university studies and is thriving because of the stellar education he received at EDS! Great school!

Evansville Day School 5

Posted April 15, 2013
- a parent
I have been reading some of the previous comments and am suprised because our experience has been great so far. My daughter had been finding school very boring and wasn't feeling challenged enough for a long time. Finally, my husband and I decided to try a private school. We came across Evansville Day School and enrolled her there for high school. The tution may seem a bit high for some families however the school offers great scholarships and financial aid. My daughter recieved a scholarship and is now very happy she did. Her classmates and faculty were very welcoming and she made a lot of friends. The school is stereotyped to have students with "snobby behavior". However, that is not true because out of all her classmates only 2 or 3 behaved that way, which is the case in any school. I absolutely love her teachers who have great communication skills and are ready to help a student at any time. They give challenging material but don't give her too much work so that she has time to partcipate in other activities. I'm planning to send my son to EDS next year! :)

Evansville Day School 1

Posted January 06, 2013
- a parent
This was the worst school experience for our son & our family!! As said in prior reviews this school is run by the clique of parents. By the end of the 2011 school year EDS lost 6 teacher along with the Head of School, the nurse and librarian. I'm sure that there was plenty more students & faculty that left as well. Our son attended one full year at EDS. Due to the unsatisfactory way the school was managed we decided to remove our son from EDS mid yeart as it was becoming a situation that was detrimental to the learning environment. Yes.. this school does favor certain students & families over others! EDS IS A EMPTY SHELL OF WHAT IT'S REPUTATION ONCE WAS! My hope with this review is to save a child and or family the frustration, time and the EDS over rated tuition. In this case.... the value & quality does not equal the money paid.


Evansville Day School 1

Posted August 15, 2012
- a parent
Evansville Day School is expensive for no reason. i wish i put my children in signature a long time ago. Signature school is much better academically and they have better teachers. The art teacher a few years ago gave my child bad grades (even though he did amazing art) just because of his ethnicity, many of the teachers would rather help the children in which their parents donate. DONT GO TO THIS SCHOOL UNLESS U LIKE BAD TEACHERS, WEAK ACADEMICS, AND EMPTY WALLETS!!

Evansville Day School 5

Posted March 09, 2012
- a parent
Evansville Day School has been a wonderful surprise. The entire school has been very friendly and welcoming as my child has transitioned into the school. The work has been very challenging. The teachers are excellent and demanding. The teachers will work very closely to support students while they impose high expectations on students. It is the ideal instructional model. The entire school, teachers, students, parents, and adminstration have been very positive and inviting. Day School has been a real treat. Great School!

Evansville Day School 5

Posted March 04, 2011
- a parent
Evansville Day School is an outstanding asset in the community. The small student/teacher ratio, the high academic standards, and the responsiveness/caring of the faculty is like none other. It's probably not the school for people who are athletically ambitious for their kids or for people for whom straight As are very important. On the other hand, EDS does the best job in Evansville (including Signature School) preparing students for college and beyond. Its students also score the highest of all the high schools in the area on the college prep standardized tests, including APs.


Evansville Day School 3

Posted November 29, 2010
- a teacher
The school is small, may lead to some students becoming socially underdeveloped while the majority will do fine around a 1:5 ratio, the highschool administration will tend to favor some students more than others, basketball is a very big deal in the upperschool big enough that a good basketball player has elbowed a fellow student in the face before leading to that student eventually leaving due to lack of punishment on the elbowers side (i do believe the elbower had to leave halfway through the school day as his only punishment), while other students have been suspended for much less, the teachers are very interested and active in their classes, and it should be a great experience and prepare students very nicely for college. The only trouble would arise when one gets involved with the upper school head's contorted way of deciding a punishment for a student.

Evansville Day School 5

Posted June 01, 2010
- a community member
I LOVE EVANSVILLE DAY SCHOOL! I was recently reading some reviews of the school when I was shocked that people had negative things to say about it. I'm going to be a seventh grader next year and couldn't even fathom going to a different school for high school. Sure it's a small school, but that is one of the best parts about it. You know everyone and always have someone reliable to ask for homework or invite to a party. I have great friends not only in my class but in grades above and below me. I also I'm put to the challenge in everything I do including academics, leadership, and extracirricular activities. I would definitely send my chiidren here if I had the possibility to. Day School is a neighborhood with good friends, wise elders, and strict, fun, or indiferent parents. I LOVE EVANSVILLE DAY SCHOOL! -Danielle Morris

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Evansville Day School
3400 North Green River Road, Evansville, IN  47715
(812) 476-3039
Last modified Evansville Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Evansville Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top