Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-K
Private
Prospect Heights, IL
Students enrolled: 67
 

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jfh Educational Academy West 2

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
Teachers work hard everyday to give the best education possible for students. My kids really enjoy coming to school here. My only gripe is with the administration/owner. I agree that she is constantly yelling at teachers in front of the students. It seems to affect the teacher/school morale. She does not seem to be very friendly to students, parents or her staff.

Jfh Educational Academy West 1

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
Utterly terrible. My son (who was there for several years) could have done a better job in the office than the director did. She sat around all day and didn't take care of anything. I constantly had to wait on time sensitive documents. The only time you would ever see any work being done was if you were late on a payment. The owner was a mean, bully of a woman who yelled at staff IN FRONT OF THE CHILDREN. Then she would turn and smile sweetly at the kids. I witnessed this first hand from the hallway. The poor teachers were over worked and under paid. They did the best with what they had, and gave a fairly good education. They were treated like babysitters by administration, however. They were there every holiday and vacation. For the almost $200 a week, there were no extras. No extra curricular activities, any special projects were done via help from parents through a supply sign up sheet, barely any field trips (and those were upwards of $15 a piece). It was just unacceptable for the amount of money per week. Things were great at first, but went downhill FAST around 2007. So glad we are out of there!!!


Jfh Educational Academy West 5

Posted February 27, 2012
- a parent
My son has been attending JFH Academy in Prospect Heights and he loves it. I really recommend this school to all of the parents thinking about preschool/kindergarden. They are awesome! The techers know how to engage kids and have safe enviroment focused on learning through play. The kids ratio is small and they do a lot of fun things like field trips. The price is average but the service is outstanding. This year my son will be attending kindergarden. Once he's done will be sad to leave and hard to change to public school. Mom of 5 years old Michael.

Jfh Educational Academy West 5

Posted February 27, 2012
- a teacher
JFH has been a wonderful place to work for the past five years. The school offers a large facility, terrific classroom resources, a comprehensive curriculum and exciting professional development opportunities for the staff. I enjoy coming to work each day and providing a warm environment for my students and families.

Jfh Educational Academy West 5

Posted February 14, 2012
- a parent
Compared to other daycares and schools in the area, JFH has one of the best facilities and staff. The school has a huge indoor gym, large playgrounds, onsite kitchen, relatively larger than any other daycare classrooms, great teachers, and overall very clean and organized environment. My daughter has attended JFH for the last 3 years and we appreciate the genuine care, the daily reports from her teacher, and the online portal with updates/pictures.


Jfh Educational Academy West 5

Posted November 14, 2011
- a parent
This school has been a staple in our community. I attended Jolly Fun House on Addison in Chicago when I was a younster and now my daughter attends. I couldn't ask for a better school and teachers. Its like our second home!

Jfh Educational Academy West 5

Posted September 26, 2011
- a parent
Excellent School. My daughter loves it and loves being there. Staff is caring and does a wonderful job with everything. Thanks

Jfh Educational Academy West 1

Posted August 16, 2011
- a parent
We've been at this school and camp for 7 years now and now have both kids in the summer camp. It's apparent that the ownership is interested in nothing but cutting costs lately. The quality of care has degraded over the last couple of years. They let in kids who consistently beat and bully other kids. My son has broken up no less than 3 of these instances and both he and his sister are now targets by not only these same bullies but now the ownership. It's a shame when a child has to actually defend himself from physical altercations at this camp and then be prosecuted and possibly reprimanded for it. The number of counselors/junior counselors has decreased so far that the camp has a difficult time maintaining any order. I think we will finish up this last week and then never return there. This camp is a hollow shell of what it once was.


Jfh Educational Academy West 5

Posted June 29, 2011
- a teacher
As a teacher who has worked at this school this is a well taken care school. We take care of the children and the rooms. I would highly recommend this school to all the parents.

Jfh Educational Academy West 5

Posted June 28, 2011
- a community member
As someone who has been in the field of education for more than thirty years you will never find a more caring group of teachers or administration than at JFH Educational Academy West. They offer small classroom sizes with individualized attention and gifted programs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jfh Educational Academy West
1001 Oak Avenue, Prospect Heights, IL  60070
(847) 541-5577
Last modified Jfh Educational Academy West is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Jfh Educational Academy West Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top