Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Jfh Educational Academy West

Preschool | 67 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Prospect Heights

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $125,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,020.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

stars


Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2014

Teachers work hard everyday to give the best education possible for students. My kids really enjoy coming to school here. My only gripe is with the administration/owner. I agree that she is constantly yelling at teachers in front of the students. It seems to affect the teacher/school morale. She does not seem to be very friendly to students, parents or her staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2013

Utterly terrible. My son (who was there for several years) could have done a better job in the office than the director did. She sat around all day and didn't take care of anything. I constantly had to wait on time sensitive documents. The only time you would ever see any work being done was if you were late on a payment. The owner was a mean, bully of a woman who yelled at staff IN FRONT OF THE CHILDREN. Then she would turn and smile sweetly at the kids. I witnessed this first hand from the hallway. The poor teachers were over worked and under paid. They did the best with what they had, and gave a fairly good education. They were treated like babysitters by administration, however. They were there every holiday and vacation. For the almost $200 a week, there were no extras. No extra curricular activities, any special projects were done via help from parents through a supply sign up sheet, barely any field trips (and those were upwards of $15 a piece). It was just unacceptable for the amount of money per week. Things were great at first, but went downhill FAST around 2007. So glad we are out of there!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2012

My son has been attending JFH Academy in Prospect Heights and he loves it. I really recommend this school to all of the parents thinking about preschool/kindergarden. They are awesome! The techers know how to engage kids and have safe enviroment focused on learning through play. The kids ratio is small and they do a lot of fun things like field trips. The price is average but the service is outstanding. This year my son will be attending kindergarden. Once he's done will be sad to leave and hard to change to public school. Mom of 5 years old Michael.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2012

JFH has been a wonderful place to work for the past five years. The school offers a large facility, terrific classroom resources, a comprehensive curriculum and exciting professional development opportunities for the staff. I enjoy coming to work each day and providing a warm environment for my students and families.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 14, 2012

Compared to other daycares and schools in the area, JFH has one of the best facilities and staff. The school has a huge indoor gym, large playgrounds, onsite kitchen, relatively larger than any other daycare classrooms, great teachers, and overall very clean and organized environment. My daughter has attended JFH for the last 3 years and we appreciate the genuine care, the daily reports from her teacher, and the online portal with updates/pictures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2011

This school has been a staple in our community. I attended Jolly Fun House on Addison in Chicago when I was a younster and now my daughter attends. I couldn't ask for a better school and teachers. Its like our second home!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2011

Excellent School. My daughter loves it and loves being there. Staff is caring and does a wonderful job with everything. Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

We've been at this school and camp for 7 years now and now have both kids in the summer camp. It's apparent that the ownership is interested in nothing but cutting costs lately. The quality of care has degraded over the last couple of years. They let in kids who consistently beat and bully other kids. My son has broken up no less than 3 of these instances and both he and his sister are now targets by not only these same bullies but now the ownership. It's a shame when a child has to actually defend himself from physical altercations at this camp and then be prosecuted and possibly reprimanded for it. The number of counselors/junior counselors has decreased so far that the camp has a difficult time maintaining any order. I think we will finish up this last week and then never return there. This camp is a hollow shell of what it once was.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2011

As a teacher who has worked at this school this is a well taken care school. We take care of the children and the rooms. I would highly recommend this school to all the parents.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 28, 2011

As someone who has been in the field of education for more than thirty years you will never find a more caring group of teachers or administration than at JFH Educational Academy West. They offer small classroom sizes with individualized attention and gifted programs.


Posted April 13, 2011

All administration is horribly overweight, and that I assume affects their missing brain power. Kids sit on concrete floors....sorry floor has 1/8" azbestos tile...on that concrete floor. Lot of sick kids, You would think they would advise a parents not to bring sick kids to school.....NOPE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2009

huge turnover, poor communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 44% 24%
White 44% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 18%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Georgia G Bowie
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 Oak Avenue
Prospect Heights, IL 60070
Phone: (847) 541-5577

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT