Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mary Sears Childrens Academy 1

Posted July 28, 2013
- a parent
THESE PPL WHO OWN THESE SCHOOLS ARE ONLY OUT FOR MONEY! My 4 children attended Mary Sears and the way they treated staff was horrible, the children were in result not attended to properly, just very unprofessional. This school has a reputation for leaving and losing children on walks to nearby parks (check the news stations for Chicago in 2011 and 2012), as well as hiring unqualified staff. I as a parent chaperoned a trip with one of my children and talked to by staff in a very disrespectful way because they assumed I worked for the company. Children were at a petting zoo arranged by the staff at one of the centers and weren't allowed, after petting animals and playing around outside, to wash their hands or use the restroom! When u leave your babies you have absolutely NO idea what is going on! BE CAREFUL! They had be fooled in the beginning as well but if u truly care about your children's well being and education you will DO YOUR RESEARCH!!!

Mary Sears Childrens Academy 4

Posted April 04, 2013
- a parent
My child currently attends Mary Sears and is doing great. They are attentive, thoughtful and really care about the children. He began when he was 1 and we intend to keep him here. We are thrilled that we found a nurturing place for him to thrive socially and developmentally. The only drawback I have is that they need to invest in their communication strategies to parents about their program, expectations, curriculum, etc. The parent teacher communication can be better and the parent teacher conferences could be much more effective if they made an investment. So the main issue is that the Administration and organizational needs need to be brought up to date so that they have a competitive edge. Other than this, the care is flawless.


Mary Sears Childrens Academy 1

Posted February 13, 2013
- a parent
I ask any parent who is reading these reviews to pay careful attention to the way in which they are worded. If you notice they all have the same tone and writing style. Which leads me to believe they were written by staff. My children BRIEFLY went to a Mary Sears and the school was horrible in every way. Although it was at another location, the school if ran by one family and all centers are directed by the children of grandchildren of Mary Sears. My point being, the culture is the same at any location because it's embedded in their DNA. This is NOT a school. If all you want is a babysitter, then this is it. If you want your children to LEARN, please by all means DO NOT SEND THEM HERE. All my kids came home with is scribble scrabbles on a sheet and not able to tell me they learn one thing. My daughter came home with a horrible rash and mark on her face and no one could tell me anything. When asked about their curriculum or monthly schedule all I got was a calendar with days for show and tell and playing outside. PLEASE LOOK HARDER AT OTHER SCHOOLS, YOUR CHILDREN DESERVE BETTER!!! I would give this school zero stars if I could.

Mary Sears Childrens Academy 5

Posted July 25, 2012
- a parent
I am writing this letter to express my complete happiness in the Mary Sears Children s Academy. My daughter, Megan, has been enrolled there since the age of 3 (she is now 5) and really enjoys attending. She started on the 2-day program, went to the 3-day program after a few months and now is in the 5-day program because she enjoys it so much. The dedication that the staff at Mary Sears has for the children that attend is absolutely wonderful. Megan has truly excelled in her penmanship, math and social skills being a part of the Mary Sears family and that is how I see it family . I would, and have, recommend Mary Sears to anyone that asks about a pre-school or day care facility. Megan will be attending kindergarten in the fall at Mary Sears and I know (as I can see it already) she will be more than ready for first grade when she turns six. Thank you so much for your dedication and commitment to making mine and everyone else s child excel and happy.

Mary Sears Childrens Academy 5

Posted July 24, 2012
- a parent
I am extremely pleased with Mary Sears Children s Academy. My four year old son has been attending the Mary Sears in Joliet/Manhattan for a little over three years now. I can honestly say that I do not have any complaints. The facility is extremely clean and well organized. Before, I decided on enrolling my son at Mary Sears, he was attending a different daycare where he was sick constantly. Once we switched to Mary Sears, his health improved so much! He is rarely sick now. The staff keeps everything very clean and the children wash their hands often. Mary Sears provides children with a fun, exciting, and well-structured learning environment. I am very impressed with how much my son has learned the past few years. My son loves going to school; especially the summer camp! The children do so many fun activities. The staff has always been very nice and considerate to the students and parents. I feel confident that my son is in good hands. The children are provided with a nutritious breakfast, lunch, and supper as well as morning and afternoon snacks. Mary Sears is very affordable and well worth every penny!!


Mary Sears Childrens Academy 5

Posted July 20, 2012
- a parent
My son has been going to Mary Sears for over two years, starting when he was three months old. Attending Mary Sears has helped him to be advanced for his age. The teachers and staff are great and I have peace of mind sending him there while I m at work.

Mary Sears Childrens Academy 5

Posted July 19, 2012
- a parent
We would like to send a big Thank You to the teachers, care takers and staff of Mary Sears Children s Academy of Orland Park. Our son Ryan has been attending Mary Sears for the past two years and I cannot say enough about how much he has learned and grown since he has been attending. We recently attended a baseball game, as a group with the school and it was so wonderful to see Ryan interact with friends and see the staff in another atmosphere. We really loved it when we saw Ryan s eyes light up when he saw Mr. John at the game as well and when he saw Ms. Zacyzk. Ryan could not wait to see her, quickly making his way down several rows of seats just to show off his new sun glasses and baseball to her. It was so warming to see how he interacts with the staff. As business owners, we understand what it takes to hold such high standards of care and we appreciate the structure and compassion that we see and feel going into Mary Sears Orland Park. Ryan has learned so much from Mary Sears from respect, education and how to interact with other children. He loves the apple picking, worm hunting, playing outdoors in the beautiful yard, pool time, pony rides and the Tumble Bus!

Mary Sears Childrens Academy 5

Posted July 18, 2012
- a parent
I am pleased to write this letter of testimonial for Mary Sears Children s Academy. We have had both of our children in your school since they were infants, and have been with your daycare for 3 years. I have been extremely pleased with the care our children have received at Mary Sears. The staff has been exceptional with the love and care they have shown our two children. Each morning they greet our children with a big smile and a hug. It is obvious that the staff really cares about the children. It is difficult for any parent to leave their children while they are at work, but it has been wonderful to know that our kids are surrounded by teachers who really care about them. I am also pleased with the positive style of discipline that we have observed with our children. As teachers ourselves, my husband and I place a priority on learning and school-readiness. We have been exceedingly pleased with the progress our children have made in this area. Many people have commented to us that our children are far beyond most kids their age in knowledge of language, speaking skills, shapes, colors, letters, numbers, and writing.


Mary Sears Childrens Academy 5

Posted June 29, 2012
- a parent
Being the mother of three beautiful girls and having to work full time it was very difficult for me to even think about putting them into someone else's care. My first choice was not the right for my family, however choosing Mary Sears in Orland Park was. From the first time my husband and I took a walk through their school and met those whom made the place such a warm, yet outstanding child education and care center, we knew this was the place for us. Although somewhat reluctant due to our previous experience, Mary Sears, Orland Park proved to us we made the right decision this time around. Even though we drive from a distance to attend this center versus the one closer to our home, we could not imagine having been anywhere else. I am sure that any of the Mary Sears locations are just as great, but our family is VERY sad to say good bye at the end of next year to a great staff and childcare center. Trust me when I say, THEY ARE THE BEST and will be truly missed, yet remembered by our family! Thank you for all that you do everyday to make a difference in a child's life!

Mary Sears Childrens Academy 5

Posted June 28, 2012
- a parent
Mary Sears is a wonderfully caring, safe and nurturing facility that has definitely been an important part of the lives of my children. My 5 year old has been at Mary Sears for almost 3 years and has made friends of both staff and other students. My 2 year old has been there almost 1 year and has flourished into a wonderfully inquisitive little toddler. Both my husband and I have to work full time and it is comforting to know that I have left my girls in the loving and capable hands of Mary Sears and with so many other things in their lives to worry about I m glad that childcare is not one of my concerns. I would recommend the facility to anyone asks and further appreciate all the support and empathy they facility provides my family

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mary Sears Childrens Academy
16807 108th Avenue, Orland Park, IL  60467
(708) 460-4414
Last modified Mary Sears Childrens Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Mary Sears Childrens Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top