Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


West Suburban Montessori School 5

Posted January 24, 2013
- a parent
My husband and I have both our sons at WSMS. One is in his third (kindergarten) year in Ms. Israel s class, and the other is in his first year in Ms. Orfei s class. Both are also in Ms. Julia s childcare program before and after school. We have been nothing but thrilled with WSMS. The emphasis throughout the school is on the growth of the individual child. The Montessori educational philosophy guides WSMS both in the classrooms and in the childcare program and it is an excellent fit for both our boys. WSMS s teachers and staff balance age-appropriate structure while cultivating the children s independence in learning. My boys have become well-mannered, hospitable, empathetic children, and both are well on their way to being self-motivated learners all due in large measure to the amazing teachers and staff at WSMS.

West Suburban Montessori School 5

Posted January 24, 2013
- a parent
Seriously do not have enough great things to say about WSMS. I did significant research when we moved to the area last year. (Moved from Manhattan, where you start researching schools before the kids are born...so that gives you an idea of just how intense my search was. I toured them all, created an Excel to analyze, rate and compare curriculum, faculty, facilities, outdoor play area, extracurriculars, lunch program, etc.) I cannot imagine a better place for my children to spend arguably the three most important years of their childhood. The staff is amazing, so loving and nurturing, and the community is fantastic - we really feel like a family and have met great friends through the school. We both work full-time and so I also feel so wonderful knowing that my children are having amazing, fun-filled days (through the after-school childcare program). I feel fortunate to have discovered OP's best-kept secret and THE choice when it comes to a real Montessori education for your child - they are serious about it (in a good way), and not just hanging up a Montessori shingle.


West Suburban Montessori School 5

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
WSMS has been a wonderful school for both of our children. The staff truly cares about the kids and helps each child learn at their own pace. The classrooms are a peaceful place of great learning and enjoyment. The childcare program is truly amazing as well, the children not only have fun but continue to learn in the Montessori way throughout the day.

West Suburban Montessori School 5

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
My first little one has attended WSMS for two years. I am so proud of how much he's grown as a person, and also how much interest he's shown in learning. I absolutely credit his teachers, as well as school administration - my husband and I consider them partners in his learning and we've received a lot of support from them over the past few years. The building itself is well maintained; there is beautiful outdoor space, as well as a huge indoor gymnasium. The school offers several extra-curricular classes such as Spanish, art, music and dance, as well as private music lessons in piano or ukulele. The staff feels like family, and the community we've been a part of as a result is beyond welcoming. Our next little one is finally old enough to attend, and I can't wait to send her to WSMS.

West Suburban Montessori School 5

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
I have two children currently attending WSMS and I've been part of the school community for almost four years. My children have grown academically, socially and spiritually. This is a school that nurtures their love for learning and independence, but also their love and respect for each other. The community is supportive and the teachers and staff are one of a kind. We looked at a number of preschool options and I have been nothing but thrilled with our experience at WSMS.


West Suburban Montessori School 5

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
We have been thrilled with how our daughter has grown since beginning at WSMS this past fall. The staff are exceptional and the facilities are outstanding. Not a fancy place by any means, but a fantastic springboard to education and life. We really enjoy the other parents too and have made good friends here.

West Suburban Montessori School 5

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been at WSMS for almost two years, and I continue to be impressed by our experience. She has learned so much since she started at WSMS, but most importantly, the teachers and staff make learning enjoyable, which is so important in the preschool years. In addition to the educational experiences for the children, WSMS offers high-quality before and after school child care, as well as extracurricular activities that make the school an outstanding option for working families. The sense of community at the school makes it a unique place where we have met many other wonderful families!

West Suburban Montessori School 5

Posted December 10, 2012
- a parent
Our two children have attended WSMS for the last two years and we have had a lovely experience. It is a relatively small school, with just three Montessori multi-age classrooms. However, the teachers all have quite a bit of tenure with the school and parents stay with the school through 3-4 years, so it's a very cozy relationship by the end. It is a very principled Montessori education here, and it's not for everyone, so find out about Montessori before you apply. Very nice physical space with a big gym and a huge park across the street. Organic snacks and lunches. Teacher feedback is as active as you want. Parent training is every other month. The committees cover everything under the sun and everyone needs to participate - it's like going to school in a small town - everyone is on a team and everyone is in the school play.


West Suburban Montessori School 5

Posted April 03, 2012
- a parent
My son is finishing his first year at WSMS and we are very pleased with the experience he's had. His teacher and classroom assistant are phenomenal educators. He has grown in so many ways it would be impossible to list all of them here. There are a number of Montessori schools in the neighborhood and we certainly did our research prior to deciding on this one. We feel fortunate to have him enrolled in such a nurturing and supportive preschool.

West Suburban Montessori School 5

Posted November 26, 2011
- a parent
Our child started full time at West Suburban this year. It has an excellent Montessori program with wonderful instructors, facilities and administration. They have great additional classes and programs, especially the after-care which is in an amazing facility where the children can play in a safe, secure and fun environment which is especially great for working parents like us. The school also has wonderful parent involvement including events and activities. West Suburban has a fantastic community and we feel fortunate that our child is enrolled here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Suburban Montessori School
1039 South East Avenue, Oak Park, IL  60304
(708) 848-2662
Last modified West Suburban Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
West Suburban Montessori School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top