Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-K|Private
49 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Intercultural Montessori Language School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 22, 2015
- a parent
This school does have a extremely strong academic orientation, resulting in dedicated students, unfortunately life is not all about studies.

Intercultural Montessori Language School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 22, 2015
- a parent
No emphasis whatsoever on social skills, resulting that the stronger (normally the oldest) abuses power because there nobody their to teach what's right or wrong.


Intercultural Montessori Language School 3

Posted July 22, 2015
- a parent
Academically speaking this could be considered a good school. Kids do learn stuff early and well. It's in other aspects that fails miserably. If your kid does the catering s/he better like spicy fusion food. It's so bad not even the teachers eat it. Yet any request for improvement will be rebuffed with bad manners. So be ready to send your kids with their meals. There is no much supervision in the playground, and if your kid shows up with a black eye or anything alike don't expect an explanation from the teacher (they won't know), or worse yet... they may have not noticed until you tell them. All around scary. But not to worry, the kids only make it to the outside playground about 50% of the time, and don't ask why this is or the explanation will leave you even more puzzled. So be ready to go to the city playground with your kid to replace the play time she did not have in school. The staff says, the school is a community, that could be true for them, it definitely does not include parents, who are kept separate by the way the school is run. Based on all those unanswered questions, nonsense answers, contradictions and everything else, you wonder whether you got the wrong impression or the school is just like that. For us the doubt was so strong... we stopped trusting the school cared about our child, and removed our kid at the first opportunity we had.

Intercultural Montessori Language School 1

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
We had a pretty bad experience at this school. The spanish immersion teacher was really rigid and a terrible fit for my somewhat emotive daughter. She suggested i send my au pair to sit outside the class all day and so if she had any problem the au pair could deal with it. The principal was hardly ever there and was not impressive at all. The school is expensive and seems to want low maintenance children. We moved to morningside montessori and had a fabulous experience there.

Intercultural Montessori Language School 5

Posted October 04, 2012
- a parent
We could not be more thrilled with Intercultural Montessori. My son's teacher in the spanish classroom could not be more excellent - loving but firm, extremely attentive to what each child needs, and willing to talk and work with parents. We are thrilled that our child gets to spend his day with her and the assistant teacher is also just excellent. Our friends in the Chinese classroom are just as happy as we are. We have experience with a few other preschools in Oak Park and Intercultural is definitely #1!


Intercultural Montessori Language School
no rating

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
This school is wonderful! the learning environment is loving and calm. My son loves to go to school everyday and hates to leave. The teachers and staff are warm and open to comments, suggestions etc and work along with parents to resolve any issues. My son has been going thru some physical therapy and his teacher did whatever we needed her to do to help him. Highly recommend!

Intercultural Montessori Language School 5

Posted November 01, 2007
- a parent
My children have been at this school for three years and love it. The academic program is wonderful and Montessori is a well-rounded education style. The new Head of School has a fabulous background internationally as well in the US, and is heloing the school grow in the right way.

Intercultural Montessori Language School 4

Posted September 13, 2007
- a parent
My child just started the preschool program and has really come to love it. Due to the intimate size of the school and it's community atmosphere, it's been easy getting to know other parents and the staff of the school. My child's teacher is caring yet firm which lends itself to happy kids who are eager to learn. The staff is very helpful and the principle can be seen walking the halls, checking in on classrooms, and talking to parents. The parents are engaged and eager to help one another. The only negatives are that they might need more administrative staff as small things get put on hold until they can get to it. But I don't see this as a problem that will affect my child's ability to enjoy herself and learn.


Intercultural Montessori Language School 5

Posted May 05, 2007
- a parent
My kid loves this school so much, and so do we. All the kids I've encountered who attend this school are happy and well-adjusted. They are remarkably interested in what they are doing and proud of the achievements. I'm impressed by the level of involvement by adults, from parents to teachers and support staff. Definitely recommended and well worth the cost to provide our child with an unparalleled education.

Intercultural Montessori Language School 5

Posted March 13, 2007
- a parent
Nurturing and safe environment. Head of School has over 2 decades of leading Montessori school experience. Teachers are all Montessori certified. My son has been attending the school for 2 years and has become an empathic, precarious and inquisitive 5 year old. I highly recommend this school to anyone. He also can write in Hiragana and can read both Hiragana and Katakana. He also is now writing sentences in English and is completing addition exercises with ease. But the best part is he is a kind hearted child who respects himself and others. This school has helped us in our journey of raising a well-rounded individual.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Intercultural Montessori Language School
301 South Ridgeland Avenue, Oak Park, IL  60302
(708) 848-6626
Last modified Intercultural Montessori Language School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Intercultural Montessori Language School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top