Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Childrens Garden Montessori School 1

Posted May 24, 2013
- a parent
The school used to be decent a couple of years ago, now I wouldn't recommenced for children 4+. Not really a Montessori, much more day care. The administrator is quite arrogant and does not do well with any sort of question or suggestion from parents. They wouldn't assist my child in reading as they did every other child in class because he wasn't enrolled full time. Focus is not about the kids. High staff turnover every year or less for such a small school.

Childrens Garden Montessori School 5

Posted August 18, 2011
- a parent
My son atttends this school and I feel so fortunate to have found it. I went to many many preschools and decided on Children s Garden as soon as I met with Ms Mawani and watched the other teachers interact with the children. It is the most loving, warm, nurturing environment while still teaching the children respect, kindness and order. It really is a joy to see my little man's face every day when he tells me about his day at school and how much fun he had while learning. If I could choose 6 stars I would


Childrens Garden Montessori School 2

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
toys are really old. they're even older than those in Oak Park public library. I donated some toys to them but my daughter told me she never saw them in the day care. some teachers came from India were nice but after 6 months they left and never came back due to visa problem. then, they hired a very young teacher without any experience.

Childrens Garden Montessori School 5

Posted August 21, 2010
- a parent
My son just graduated from pre-school at Children's Garden. He loved the teachers there and has asked me a dozen times if we can still visit them when he's in kindergarten. The CG teachers are gentle and wonderful people I can see why he is sad to leave. I'm not sure what happened with the person who had issues with his/her deposit being returned. We got ours back in full. Perhaps the school is frugal, but to me where they buy their snacks is not relevant compared to the quality of the teachers and curriculum. My child has learned so much here, has always been treated lovingly, and I feel he is well-prepared for kindergarten.

Childrens Garden Montessori School 1

Posted March 07, 2010
- a parent
you can't imagine how greedy they are. to maximize her profit, the owner always buys snacks from Aldi (http://aldi.us/) rather than dominick's. if my son is the last one waiting for picking up, they usually leave only one light on to save electricity. you never get your deposit ($700) back no matter how long you have stayed there.


Childrens Garden Montessori School 2

Posted April 19, 2009
- a parent
Communication is a problem with the administrators. No matter how many messages you leave or e-mails you send, I don't get a response. I did not get an explanation as to why my child's teacher got fired in the middle of the year.

Childrens Garden Montessori School 5

Posted June 02, 2008
- a parent
Our son has attended Childrens Garden for almost three years. He will enter kindergarten this fall with the ability to read, write and reason. And most of all, he is a well rounded citizen. The staff is excellent; turnover is extremely low.

Childrens Garden Montessori School 1

Posted December 10, 2007
- a parent
My son found this school very stifling. There was not enough physical space indoors or out, and he felt like he was always being told 'no' or 'don't.' The school did not keep me informed of serious staffing issues -- I had to rely on my four year old to let me know what was going on. I felt that the school also was not true to the Montessori philosophies, but the director was hostile to my efforts to talk about my concerns.


Childrens Garden Montessori School 5

Posted January 25, 2007
- a parent
My daughter has been at this school for over a year now and we are very happy. It is a very positive environment and she loves it. She is learning at a pace that we couldn't be more pleased with.

Childrens Garden Montessori School 4

Posted April 02, 2006
- a parent
My son enjoyed attending Children's Garden Montessori and progressed very quickly through age-appropriate material. The teachers were very accommodating and always easy to talk to.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Childrens Garden Montessori School
165 North Lombard Avenue, Oak Park, IL  60302
(708) 383-6570
Last modified Childrens Garden Montessori School is a Private school
Childrens Garden Montessori School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top