Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-K|Private
70 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Montessori Academy Of Glen Ellyn
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
I would never leave my child alone with the elementary male teacher. He isn't trustworthy and relies on computers to do his job, which isn't Montessori at all!

Montessori Academy Of Glen Ellyn
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
The only homework they have is spelling which is a joke. They are all in for a shock in the real world!


Montessori Academy Of Glen Ellyn
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
This school is not at all realistic to normal schools and those that are there need to get out and experience a real school with real professionalism.

Montessori Academy Of Glen Ellyn
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
There needs to be more respect for others and more professional guidelines for the director to follow. She's stuck in her ways, and thinks that's the only way...

Montessori Academy Of Glen Ellyn
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
It's hard when there's a bad director, but most of the teachers are good and try their best, even with a bad leader.


Montessori Academy Of Glen Ellyn
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
I don't think the school is run well by the director. She is not a truthful person and will lie to get ahead or make her self look good. She is definitely not fair to all the students or supportive to the teachers.

Montessori Academy Of Glen Ellyn 1

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
The director is not trustworthy or a good person. Also, I would never leave my child alone with the male elementary teacher. Overall, not a good school!

Montessori Academy Of Glen Ellyn 5

Posted March 19, 2013
- a parent
My children have experienced the toddler, pre-primary, and elementary programs at this school, and they are all wonderful. We are looking forward to the new middle school program for my oldest. I have observed a number of other Montessori schools, in my career and when making the decision on schools for my own children, and the staff and environment here at MAGE feels the most inviting and family oriented. Clean and organized, but not sterile or rigid; Warm and loving, but not without boundaries or appropriate expectations. Developmentally based, child-centered education at its best. Thank you MAGE! Mom of 3 happy learners


Montessori Academy Of Glen Ellyn 5

Posted December 08, 2012
- a community member
I WOULD SEND MY KIDS HERE and have, as both student and staff. It is unfortunate when parents have a negative experience. And yet every business and school is going to experience the same--people who love it and people who don't have a good experience. There are so many variables which cause these challenges. I suggest that each family come visit and check it out for themselves. We have had many happy families and happy, successful graduates! My children loved it here and I have enjoyed working with staff and the director!! Also coming in 2013 is a new middle school!!

Montessori Academy Of Glen Ellyn 1

Posted November 09, 2012
- a parent
Stay away from this school at all costs. The school does not abide by the Montessori philosophy, assistant teachers who are not Montessori certified are making decisions regarding your child without involving the lead Montessori certified teacher, and the director is manipulative and disrepectful of parents with concerns and questions. When issues arise, instead of wanting to have a conversation, the director opts for a one-way dictation of how things are going to be, and shuts down parents who want to have further discussion. This school seems great at first and has some great teachers, but the leadership and some of the teachers are simply rude and are an embarrassment to the Montessori name.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montessori Academy Of Glen Ellyn
927 North Main Street, Glen Ellyn, IL  60137
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (630) 469-4727
Last modified Montessori Academy Of Glen Ellyn is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Top