Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK
Private
Arlington Heights, IL

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Little Learners Ed Center 2

Posted October 08, 2014
- a community member
Love the Director, she is well-intentioned but has too many responsibilities. No one could do her job better, but the playground incident is proof of a problem at this center. After the incident, a sign was put on the gate (approx. 7 days later). No one was let go because the turn over rate is high and the center needs all the teachers it has plus more. Notifying parents of the problem and addressing it with safety measures weeks later is TOO late. Teachers are well intentioned, but they often turn their backs to the gates so they can look at their phones. They also stand in a circle and talk, some NOT ALL. I am very disturbed this happened with no consequences. I pray another accident doesn't happen again. I feel it was taken too lightly until parents found out and complained. Measures should have been taken immediately, like a protective gate at a dog park that would contain the children....the next day not weeks later. That's how things work here.

Little Learners Ed Center 3

Posted October 03, 2014
- a community member
Heard of playground incident, which know to be true, and the sad thing is it wasn't followed up by any authorities that could help prevent future inexcusable mishaps.


Little Learners Ed Center 1

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
VERY VERY VERY VERY BADDDDDDDDDDD SUPERVISION OF THE TEACHERS AT LITTLE LEARNERS. ONE 3 YR OLD KID SNICKED OUT OF THEIR PLAY YARD UNDER THE SUPERVISION OF GREAT STAFF OF LITTLE LEARNERS AND NO BODY NOTICED. AND THE KID, WALKED ALL ALONE, CROSSED THE STRIPMALL, CROSSED THE ROAD, TRACED BACK THE PATH TO HIS HOME IN THE NEIGHBOURHOOD IN STONE BRIDGE APARTMENTS, SAFELY AFTER ONE HOUR, BY GOD'S GRACE. THIS INCIDENT HAPPENED ON TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 23RD, 2014 AT AROUND 5:30 PM

Little Learners Ed Center 5

Posted July 22, 2013
- a parent
Both of my daughters have attended Little Learners. They started as infants, and they attended until kindergarten. They both learned to read. They learned very important social skills that have helped them at elementary school.

Little Learners Ed Center 5

Posted June 22, 2013
- a parent
My youngest child just finished his career at Little Learners. He has graduated kindergarten and will be entering first grade. He attended Little Learners since he was 9 months old. I have been so happy. The infant teachers are amazing. We actually come to this center because we heard amazing things about Maria one of the infant teachers. She is beyond words; from a Mom with mega working Mom guilt she made me feel so much better. I also loved being able to watch my son while at work via the web cams. I have been happy the entire way up with all of my son s teachers. Some better than others but none that I would complain about. He is so far above the other students at his school academically and I attribute that to the great curriculum at Little Learners. He not only learned a ton he learned to love to learn. To top it all off on his last day of school we were presented with his portfolio. It was a ready-made scrapbook of my son s life the entire time he was there. It is something I never would have had the time to make myself and I will cherish it always. Thank you Debbie (the owner/director) for everything you have done. We will really miss Little Learners.


Little Learners Ed Center 1

Posted October 22, 2012
- a parent
I think many will be fooled by the tour, like I was. The owner is good at telling you all about the school and all the "wonderful" things that they center has, however I am not happy at all with how things have been going. The director will tell you that most of the teachers are certified, which is great but the teachers keep leaving when they find a real teaching job. My son has had 6 different teachers in the past 2 years (in different rooms but still a huge turnover rate). It is very hard for a young child to go through so many changes and transitions. I also do not like that the reading and writing program that is forced upon my 3 year old. I have read many articles that say this is not age appropriate, and my son would come home crying. Last week due to another new teacher we left the center and hired a nanny. This center seems great and the owner is great at making you think everything is wonderful, take my advice don't send your child there, save yourself the time and frustration. I would look for a nanny they are around the same price and give your child one on one attention.

Little Learners Ed Center 5

Posted August 11, 2012
- a parent
The poor review of this school is completely fabricated... most likely from an envious school in the area. I have a daughter in the 3s room and this [girl who was there for two months] does not exist. The teachers also don't give timeouts, but I have seen (via internet camera) children get separated for hurting others. This is exactly what I would expect them to do. The school is wonderful, the teachers are certified experts who genuinely care, and the curriculum is tailored for each child's abilities. My daughter loves it here! Take a tour and see for yourself. :)

Little Learners Ed Center 1

Posted May 21, 2012
- a parent
They have a terrible teaching method at this school and I would not wish it on anyone. My daughter was three and last here for only two months before I took her out and everyday she would come home sad saying "I don't want to go back to that school". They believe that every child has to be developing at the same level at the same time - if not they are penalized by not allowing to advance with others etc. and they still use timeouts bY forcefully holding children down in their chairs etc. DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD HERE.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Little Learners Ed Center
1060 West Rand Road, Arlington Heights, IL  60004
(847) 253-4800
Last modified Little Learners Ed Center is a Private school that serves grade PK
Little Learners Ed Center Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top