Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Philomena Early Learning Center

Preschool

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Honolulu

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $325,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,180.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 26, 2013

This was not our first choice preschool, so we have been surprised with how much we like SPELC. The main teachers are great and their assistants are very caring. My children are always learning beneficial skills and knowledge and it's amazing how much parent involvement there is during activities. The principal is new and not as talkative as her predecessor. She seems nice but since I don't know her I only gave her 3 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

Both my daughters attend this school and we love it. I have to agree with a previous comment that most of the teachers have Filipino accents. I too was a little put off by this, even though I myself am Filipino (but no accent). :P However, both daughters speak well and my 2 year old is already speaking in complete sentences. So the Filipino accents of their teachers make absolutely no difference. :) My older daughter (5) already knows how to spell/read several sight words as well. All the staff know both my daughters by name...even though their classrooms are on opposite sides of the school. It makes the school environment feel so inviting. The lunch provided is also really good. It's prepared in their cafeteria by their cook. Occasionally lunch is really simple (i.e. vienna sausages), but I've been lucky to try the beef stew and chicken mushroom when I ate lunch with the class after chaperoning a field trip. And as a previous comment stated, yes they do get ice pops once in a while as a treat when it's hot. But it is never their main snack! Absolutely love this school! I wish they went all the way up to 6th grade or higher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

My daughter goes here and we absolutely love this school! We were a little apprehensive about it when we met the teachers and the majority of them have accents. We thought she would pick up on their accents also! But she hasn't and the amount of love and attention she receives from all of the instructors is amazing. The communication from the teachers to the parents is great and the academics are top notch. My daughter knows much more body parts, alphabets, songs, etc than any other 2 year old I know. Her socialization abilities and cooperation with other children are very advanced for her age as well. I highly recommend St. Philomena's!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2012

I like this school but they need to have an afternoon program. The teachers are friendly and the kids seem happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

The way of teaching is fantastic, my child always gets compliments on how advanced she seems for her age. I cant take credit for it, it is from the teachers and the schools structure. They are great and expect their children to succeed. The only thing I absolutely hate is the fact that their tuition raises every year. It is now nearly $900 per month for each child full day. It is very hard to keep up with but I refuse to move her because the we love the school and the stress of "changing" schools can be rough on her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2010

My son attened St. Philomena for two years and the only thing I regret is not having found them sooner. The facility, staff, teachers, education curriculum and activities provided by this center had met my approval and exceeded my expectations. In his last year we we're blessed to have Miss LaiYin as his mentor, she truly projects the mission of their organization. The montessori based studies is such a valuable part in the development of the children to prosper solely and as a group. My son, now in the third grade has been awarded many certificates and achievements and at every parent/teahcer conference I hear this "he is always offering to help, he is respectful and anxious to learn" ... I am positive that this is a huge peice that my son has taken from St. Philomena's Early Learning Center.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

St. Philomena's was our children's preschool. They received a Fantastic foundation there. They attended from 2.5 years old until they were 4.5 years old. They are triplets (two girls and a boy). During these two years my husband was assigned to a submarine out of Pearl Harbor and our lives were far from normal. St Philomena's and their amazing staff (office, aides and of course teachers) were the consistency they/we needed during this time. They excelled socially, academically and spiritually. We were thrilled that we found them. The Montessori based preschool program is excellent. It has both the structure needed at this age plus the room to grow individually. Their teacher clearly put our children's needs first and was great at helping us grow as parents as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2010

Most of the staff at St. Philomena are nice and friendly. I just have one problem with one of the teachers who treats students, parents, and staff like dirt. I am fortunate to not have my child in this teachers class because I have overheard her cutdown some of the aides at the school. I don't know what her problem is but she needs to shape up and stop treating everyone like dirt.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2010

St. Philomena is an amazing school. I attended this school as a pre-school student and loved it amensly. I am preparing to apply to great colleges including Georgetown, NYU, Brown University, Princeton, Columbia, and Yale hopefull to get scholarships. This was my first school and set the base of my educational career.


Posted May 13, 2010

The food is not nutritional for breakfast lunch or snacks. High fructose corn syrup is the main ingredient in their everyday snack (ice pop). The toddler program might fit some kids, but it's very structured and doesn't fit my kid. He's unhappy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

The 15 month old class is very structured and not geared towards young toddlers, feels more like kindergarten. My kid was very unhappy there. The food is not very nutritional. The ice pops is their main snack and has high fructose corn syrup as the main ingredient!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2008

My son loves his school. He has been in the toddler program for 4 months and can speak in sentences, count and reconizes colors and objects. And he just turned 2yrs old. The parnts are very envolved and the staff is outstanding!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

SPELC utilizes the Montessori method of learning and I feel that my daughter has grown and learned much in the 2 years that she's been there. Teachers are always encouraging and there is a med-high level of parent involvement in field-trips and extracurricular events/activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 25% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 25% 34%
Hispanic 17% 6%
Two or more races 17% 8%
White 17% 14%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • AMS
  • NAEYC
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Honolulu
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3300 Ala Laulani Street
Honolulu, HI 96818
Phone: (808) 833-8080

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT