Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Coralwood Education Center 5

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
This is a wonderful, special school. It is an inclusion preschool that offers a caring and fun program for typically developing children and those with special needs. The administration is the best I have encountered and the parent involvement exceptional. I feel very lucky my child had the priveldge to attend this school through the Dekalb county school lottery.

Coralwood Education Center 5

Posted October 11, 2011
- a parent
We love Coralwood! We feel so fortunate that 1) DeKalb County offers this program and 2) our son got in through the lottery. Our son is in his third year there and we have watched him blossom. The teacher-student ratio is amazing, staff are wonderful including all the "specials" teachers (speech, motor (P.E.), computer lab, library, etc). Students receive a lot of small group instruction, so they are engaged, supported, and appropriately challenged throughout the day.


Coralwood Education Center 5

Posted December 04, 2009
- a parent
Awesome staff and excellent parental involvement, one of a kind school

Coralwood Education Center 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
It is integrative and have great teachers

Coralwood Education Center 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Coralwood educates children of all abilities in an inclusive, loving environment.


Coralwood Education Center 5

Posted February 10, 2009
- a parent
In November 2007 we reluctantly accepted the experts' diagnosis of autism for our son's 'unique' personality. He joined Coralwood's inclusion preschool, where typically developing and differently developing children learn and play alongside one another. While I am concerned that society is asking too much academically of children at earlier ages, as the parent of an IEP student I ironically worry that my son won't learn fast enough! We have been pleased with our son's progress, particularly in social skills. Academically, he is on target with pre-reading and pre-math skills. We may seek outside OT for his fine motor development (handwriting). We meet formally with the teacher and therapists in the fall and spring to review our son's IEP, but we also receive informal input as needed. We are very happy with Coralwood and grateful that this gem exists in the Dekalb County Public School System.

Coralwood Education Center 1

Posted November 06, 2008
- a parent
My daughter has an IEP. I am not impressed. It has been difficult to get information on the actual curriculum here and how students with IEPs are progressing with their goals. If you have no expectations and simply want to send your toddler somewhere during the day, then Coralwood is the place for you. The principal has not ever made eye contact with us or even bothered to say hello. We are in Coralwood daily. Some therapist are great and communicate and some will never communicate with you. There seems to be a large focus on fundraising and parent socialization. Little or no focus on academics.

Coralwood Education Center 5

Posted March 27, 2007
- a parent
We couldn't be happier with the advisors and staff from Coralwood.Thanks to them our son has now a full vocabulary and he loves going to School. Every day when he gets out of the bus he says the same thing 'I had fun at the school today'. Thanks Coralwood


Coralwood Education Center 5

Posted September 19, 2005
- a parent
This is a fantastic public school in Dekalb County. My tax dollars work! Our elder daughter is in her third year there, our younger daughter is just starting. A very energetic, fun, and exciting enviroment for kids of ALL abilities to learn and grow. I could not be happier with a school for my children.

Coralwood Education Center 5

Posted January 02, 2005
- a parent
Coralwood school is a unique, exciting, and innovative school where ALL children are valued and challenged. The curriculum is top notch and the staff is excellent and extremely caring. Coralwood's inclusion program where children with special needs are educated in the classroom with their typically developing peers is good for all children and teaches that everyone has gifts and something to contribute to their learning environment and their community. I wish all public schools could regard and value each individual child in the excellent way that Coralwood does. I will truly regret the day when it is time for my children to leave this very special and wonderful school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Coralwood Education Center
2477 Coralwood Dr, Decatur, GA  30033
(678) 874-6002
Last modified Coralwood Education Center is a Public school that serves grades PK-K
Coralwood Education Center Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top