Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Goddard School-Sandy Springs 5

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
My 3 year old has been at this daycare since she was 9 months old. The teachers have been amazing and the owner and directors are helpful and kind. My child leaves happy every single day. The director is so helpful. When I had a few concerns in the beginning, she accommodated us and was hands on. She called us everyday for a week when our little one was in the hospital and spent time making sure that we were ok. The owner came by the hospital one day as well and is such a huge teddy bear. I couldnt ask for a more caring and warm place to have my children come to. Our new one will be coming once he is born too!

Goddard School-Sandy Springs
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has been going to the preschool for almost 3 years and everyone has been pleasant and genuinely warm to my family. My daughter leaves school happy and there were a few times where she was screaming when i tried to bring her to school, the director helped me out both times and i was at ease leaving her there. The teachers even called me a few minutes later to let me know that my child was ok and playing. I have a great rapport with the owner and the directors and the young lady that is there early in the morning is helpful. There were one or two concerns that I had initially and the director was accommodating and corrected my concerns immediately. I would recommend this daycare to my friends and coworkers.

Goddard School-Sandy Springs
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 26, 2015
- a parent
During the few years my son attended Goddard with the good experiences we've been through I can honestly recommend this school. My son never wants to miss one day of school. He's extremely happy with teachers and friends. It's academic curriculum is amazing. My son learned so much within the few years. Ms. Thonja and Mr. Jay were always so attentive to my sons needs. I could not be more pleased. The owner, Mr. Jay and Ms. Thonja always gave a solution to any issue. I'll be defiantly taking my baby soon. Goddard has a highly professional staff and always so respectful. This is the school your children should be attending to.

Goddard School-Sandy Springs 5

Posted June 26, 2015
- a parent
During the few years my son attended Goddard with the good experiences we've been through I can honestly recommend this school. My son never wants to miss one day of school. He's extremely happy with teachers and friends. It's academic curriculum is amazing. My son learned so much within the few years. Ms. Thonja and Mr. Jay were always so attentive to my sons needs. I could not be more pleased. The owner, Mr. Jay and Ms. Thonja always gave a solution to any issue. I'll be defiantly taking my baby soon. Goddard has a highly professional staff and always so respectful. This is the school your children should be attending to.

Goddard School-Sandy Springs 1

Posted May 12, 2015
- a parent
This daycare has gone extremely downhill and isn't worth the money anymore. They want to be high end - finger print security scan (that rarely works), daily report is emailed and they sell you on the daily pictures and video when touring (but I got 1 video in 3 years, pictures maybe 1-2 times a week, and I consistently received pictures of other people's kids), the daily report is full of spelling and grammatical errors (not reassuring when these people are teaching your children), owner is never there, no likes the director (she's rude and demands the teachers cater to her child's every need before anyone else's...she even asked a teacher to brush her child's teeth in the morning during the middle of drop off, one of the busiest times. The teacher had to stop everything to cater to her daughter)...their curriculum is the same as every other daycare so there's no reason to pay $1700/month. This Goddard is way over priced for what you receive. as a parent you are not a priority here. Neither are your kids.

Goddard School-Sandy Springs 1

Posted January 05, 2015
- a parent
This school was excellent when it opened in 2010. However, they haven't been able to sustain it. The quality of the program and teachers have decreased drastically. It is not well run. There's no direction at the school; and it runs like it just opened. If you ask a question, you will receive different answers from teachers, administrators, the owner, etc. No one is on the same page. If you voice concern about a problem, the director won't take responsibility, and will quickly blame you, your child, or a teacher. The owner used to be on site all the time when the school opened, and now he's never there. My son likes his friends but we've started looking at new day cares. In my opinion, the quality is no longer worth the high price they charge, and there are a number of better options in the area.
2 people found this helpful

Goddard School-Sandy Springs 4

Posted July 16, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been attending this Goddard for about half the year. She really likes it. She attended another Goddard before and never seemed to like it. The helper teacher in the under 1 1/2 is amazing. The kids really love her. She actually gets on the floor and plays with them. My daughter would actually hold her arms out to her. She never does that for anyone. Now she is in the 1 1/2 to 2 room. My only real complaints are as follows; I've seen a greater than 5 to 1 ratio at times. They move them from one room to another depending on the time of day. In the evening that's no big deal. But my daughter does better if she's dropped off in her usual room, not a strange one. I am not overly fond of the lady in the front office, but she's ok. She does not seem genuine for some reason. But that is only a feeling. They can be nit picky which I do not appreciate when I am paying $1700 a month. In the summer they have water days which my daughter loves. My daughter has learned her numbers 1-15 and her numbers in spanish 1-10. She can say her ABC's and comes home singing a new song everyday. I am very pleased in this regard. The best part is they send pictures of her playing every day.

Goddard School-Sandy Springs 1

Posted July 12, 2013
- a community member
If I could give it no stars I would. The school is understaffed and they don't pay the teachers overtime. Some teachers go above and beyond, while others skirt by because they're favored by the director. The director plays favorites and only looks out for herself. The owner is a nice guy, but clueless when it comes to running a school. They don't like to be called a daycare, but that's truly what it is. Parents are promised certain things on the tour, which don't get delivered. Curriculum is not as strong as other schools. If you're looking at this school because of the location, keep looking because there's better out there!
2 people found this helpful

Goddard School-Sandy Springs 1

Posted July 12, 2013
- a parent
As a parent of two students here, I must say I am very upset at how they handled the teacher's departure. My child's teacher was awesome! She put in her notice due to personal reasons, and was not allowed to work it. My child was very upset and confused when the teacher never returned half way through a normal school day! The director tried to cover her tracks and send out an email days after trying to explain what happened. This was a save face move. Either way, it was very unprofessional. It creates an unstable environment. If she truly cared about these students, she would not have done that.
1 person found this helpful

Goddard School-Sandy Springs 3

Posted May 03, 2013
- a parent
this day care is ok. The infant room was awesome but i feel that the school is lacking help. they are understaffed. Their ratio in the 2nd level is ridiculous. i feel my son did not get any attention while he was eating or learning. As much as you pay there, you would think they would be staffed more appropriately.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Goddard School-Sandy Springs
1150 Hammond Drive, Atlanta, GA  30328
(770) 350-9001
Last modified Goddard School-Sandy Springs is a Private school that serves grade PK
Goddard School-Sandy Springs Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top