Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Goddard School-Sandy Springs 2

Posted July 22, 2015
- a parent
It's interesting to see how so many "teachers" have suddenly come to the defense of the director, Thonja, after some honest reviews from parents. Yes, Goddard has SOME good teachers. Yes, I do feel my son is overall safe there. But, would I recommend it or send my child here if I had another option, NO. The director is completely unprofessional and is blatantly disrespectful and dismissive if you have concerns about your child's care. I've picked up my son in a blowout diaper and was dismissed as these things happen. Well, it shouldn't when you're paying $1800/mo for their care! This is something you would expect from a Kindercare type of facility not a "school" that pretends to be academic. Their daily sheets of what your child learned that day are laughable. They claim your child learned independence and patience because he had to cry while waiting for his food - seriously?! And, yes the other reviewers are spot-on - often times kids are in free time where they are running around. You do not get what you pay for. I have no sympathy for the director - she is a terrible role model for her daughter and teachers alike.

Goddard School-Sandy Springs
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted July 21, 2015
- a teacher
The students of this school were wonderful and I loved being there with them. They were eager to learn and the parents are engaged.

Goddard School-Sandy Springs 5

Posted July 13, 2015
- a teacher
As a teacher here at The Goddard School, I am amazed by some of the comments I read about the director and owner of the school. I can personally say that both, Mrs. Thonja (Director) and Mr. Jay (Owner) are very hands on with their teachers and parents concerns. They do their best to accommodate the needs of others to the best of their abilities. It is hard to make everyone happy but at least they try.Working here is like being a part of one big family. The teachers here are amazing and they are adamant about their students learning and enjoying their learning process. The hard work and dedication of the staff here is what enabled us to win The Circle of Excellence on numerous occasions. Before someone else chooses to write a horrific review on The Goddard School in Sandy Springs, please think of the livelihood of the staff. The same staff that ensures the safety of your children, provides a quality learning experience, will visit families and teachers when they are in the hospital, will spend time with parents when they are on bedrest, will take students home when mothers are in the delivery room or during snow storms and will stay late when parents are running late to pick up once the school has closed. When writing your reviews please be fair.

Goddard School-Sandy Springs 5

Posted July 12, 2015
- a teacher
Ive been working at this school for five and a half years and I can say that I have been pleased to work with the owner and director. For all that time, they have never changed;instead, they have remained the same reasonable, understanding, fair and honest people. Our director is a terrific multitasker who is very direct, but also, always honest, and fair to any person (teacher, parent, child). If there are any complaints about something, no matter what, shes the one immediately solving it. What i have read below about her is not true. Im coming to work every single day and i do my best. We have a good relationship. Our school is really the best, my daughter attended for two years so I dont think I would put my daughter in such an environment if i knew it was bad. I will stay at this school for many more years to come. I really recommend this school to any new parent with no regrets.
1 person found this helpful

Goddard School-Sandy Springs 5

Posted July 12, 2015
- a teacher
I am a current employee at this school who has worked here for almost five years and the recent posts on this website is completely personal and we can tell that it is being written by the same person. This is a personal attack on the director because this one family has not had the smoothest time at our school. Everything they are saying is completely erroneous and down right false. It is heartbreaking because you can see how it is effective the director and she has become quiet and withdrawn. It's about time someone stood up for her. She is direct, honest and fair. If she has to correct something because of a complaint, she does. I come to work and do my job the best way I can and I have a great relationship with her. She's generous and giving and fair.

Goddard School-Sandy Springs 5

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
My 3 year old has been at this daycare since she was 9 months old. The teachers have been amazing and the owner and directors are helpful and kind. My child leaves happy every single day. The director is so helpful. When I had a few concerns in the beginning, she accommodated us and was hands on. She called us everyday for a week when our little one was in the hospital and spent time making sure that we were ok. The owner came by the hospital one day as well and is such a huge teddy bear. I couldnt ask for a more caring and warm place to have my children come to. Our new one will be coming once he is born too!

Goddard School-Sandy Springs
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has been going to the preschool for almost 3 years and everyone has been pleasant and genuinely warm to my family. My daughter leaves school happy and there were a few times where she was screaming when i tried to bring her to school, the director helped me out both times and i was at ease leaving her there. The teachers even called me a few minutes later to let me know that my child was ok and playing. I have a great rapport with the owner and the directors and the young lady that is there early in the morning is helpful. There were one or two concerns that I had initially and the director was accommodating and corrected my concerns immediately. I would recommend this daycare to my friends and coworkers.

Goddard School-Sandy Springs
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 26, 2015
- a parent
During the few years my son attended Goddard with the good experiences we've been through I can honestly recommend this school. My son never wants to miss one day of school. He's extremely happy with teachers and friends. It's academic curriculum is amazing. My son learned so much within the few years. Ms. Thonja and Mr. Jay were always so attentive to my sons needs. I could not be more pleased. The owner, Mr. Jay and Ms. Thonja always gave a solution to any issue. I'll be defiantly taking my baby soon. Goddard has a highly professional staff and always so respectful. This is the school your children should be attending to.

Goddard School-Sandy Springs 5

Posted June 26, 2015
- a parent
During the few years my son attended Goddard with the good experiences we've been through I can honestly recommend this school. My son never wants to miss one day of school. He's extremely happy with teachers and friends. It's academic curriculum is amazing. My son learned so much within the few years. Ms. Thonja and Mr. Jay were always so attentive to my sons needs. I could not be more pleased. The owner, Mr. Jay and Ms. Thonja always gave a solution to any issue. I'll be defiantly taking my baby soon. Goddard has a highly professional staff and always so respectful. This is the school your children should be attending to.

Goddard School-Sandy Springs 1

Posted May 12, 2015
- a parent
This daycare has gone extremely downhill and isn't worth the money anymore. They want to be high end - finger print security scan (that rarely works), daily report is emailed and they sell you on the daily pictures and video when touring (but I got 1 video in 3 years, pictures maybe 1-2 times a week, and I consistently received pictures of other people's kids), the daily report is full of spelling and grammatical errors (not reassuring when these people are teaching your children), owner is never there, no likes the director (she's rude and demands the teachers cater to her child's every need before anyone else's...she even asked a teacher to brush her child's teeth in the morning during the middle of drop off, one of the busiest times. The teacher had to stop everything to cater to her daughter)...their curriculum is the same as every other daycare so there's no reason to pay $1700/month. This Goddard is way over priced for what you receive. as a parent you are not a priority here. Neither are your kids.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Goddard School-Sandy Springs
1150 Hammond Drive, Atlanta, GA  30328
(770) 350-9001
Last modified Goddard School-Sandy Springs is a Private school that serves grade PK
Goddard School-Sandy Springs Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top