Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hyde Park Day School 5

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
Great School, both my children have attended Hyde Park Day School, and the Teachers are great!! My children have learned so much, Hyde Park Day School has been here for 35 years, its the BEST IN TAMPA!!

Hyde Park Day School 5

Posted November 12, 2013
- a parent
I'm so impressed with the curriculum, staff and facilities of this school. This is a school that understands every child is different and embraces their individuality. My children are thriving and they enjoy all of the activities and have bonded with their teachers. I would highly recommend.


Hyde Park Day School 1

Posted October 29, 2013
- a parent
I would not recommend this school to anyone. Very poor supervision, and my child was hurt several times. No incident reports were ever made.

Hyde Park Day School 1

Posted July 26, 2013
- a parent
I pulled my then 2.5 year old daughter months before we relocated back to Miami. This school is supposed to be a top notch preschool in a nice community. However, the teachers there were inexperienced and lacked skills working with small children. My daughter would come home with scratches and fingernail marking imprinted in her arms! She would tell me it was her classmates who did it and when I approached the teachers and the school director, their response was that ALL kids at that age hit, bite, and scratch! I was so appalled at their lack of concern and completely disregarding the issue! Another important point is that the whole time my daughter was in that school, she was sick...infection after infection. my child has been in other preschools and has NEVER been sick year round in any of her prior schools-- just at Hyde Park Day School! My daughter hated going to this school and I regret ever putting her there!

Hyde Park Day School 5

Posted March 21, 2013
- a parent
We are extremely impressed with this school. We've had our son there for 3 months since he was 20 months old. He is so excited to go and LOVES his teachers. Very structured and he knows his colors by words and sign language, can count to 3 and is working on signing his ABCs!! We are very impressed and he is VERY well cared for along with lots of activities. We were paying $25 less a month at a work daycare and got 1/10 of what we're getting from this school. The only thing I could see for improvement are the outdoor play equipment are quite old.


Hyde Park Day School 1

Posted January 29, 2013
- a parent
Very disappointing. The "school" is a glorified day care. Very little parent communication, and the staff seemed more focused on managing a group of children than on providing individualized instruction and addressing specific children's needs. If you are looking for a place to socialize a child and are comfortable with a high student/teacher ratio and largely unfocused supervision, I suppose HPDS is acceptable, but if you are looking for education beyond what I would consider table stakes for a pre-school, HPDS cannot deliver.

Hyde Park Day School 5

Posted November 14, 2012
- a parent
I am in love with this school! The location, facilities, staff, children and other parents are all fantastic. My daughter (almost 3 yrs old) is happy every single day attending HPDS. My mother taught physically impaired pre-K in a public elementary school for 32 years and she attests to the quality of activities and curriculum her granddaughter experiences. My daughter came home counting to 20 when she was 2 1/2 and she constantly connects her alphabet to objects, uses adjectives in ever-building sentences, and is confident and inquisitive of the world around her. HPDS actively involves parents, the children are well behaved, and they regularly organize fun events (Fall festival, Halloween parade, Thanksgiving feast, etc.). I have an infant son who will also attend HPDS, and I recommend this school to anyone!

Hyde Park Day School 1

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
Just called to schedule a quick tour because I moving only a block away. I was excited to see the school but they wont be accomodating with the morning time I need in order to get to work on time?? Sorry, but to me if they cant let me come in when it is convenient for me.. Im sure O can find another school to take my 725 plus 60 for lunch a month! I couldnt find any good reviews on this school anyway.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hyde Park Day School
909 West Horatio Street, Tampa, FL  33606
(813) 251-8173
Last modified Hyde Park Day School is a Private school that serves grade PK
Hyde Park Day School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top