Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
3 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Gingerbread School-Bardmoor
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Since I am only allowed to select one, I chose "teacher" as that is the person who had the most direct impact on my child. Truly, everyone who works at the school deserves applause. It is a team effort by everyone at Gingerbread to provide the best overall educational experience one could ask for.

Gingerbread School-Bardmoor
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
My response of "not enough" is not in relation to the school itself, but what is common practice for the grade level. None of my three daughters ever received homework while attending Pre-k. I understand the normally accepted reasoning; however, I believe that a very small amount of homework at this level and proportionally increasing with each successive grade would be a tremendous advantage to students in such a way that they get acclimated sooner and won't get as overwhelmed as they get to higher grade levels and receive workloads that often surprise the student and the parents.


Gingerbread School-Bardmoor
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Tailored perfectly for the age group. Excellent guidance and example by the teachers, staff, administration, etc.

Gingerbread School-Bardmoor 5

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Gingerbread far surpassed our previous experiences and expectations (different school) with respect to our third daughter. My wife and I immerse ourselves in our children's education and we had excellent communication with the school. She received a top notch academic education, social experience and instruction. One unfortunate incident which had left me truly impressed was when my daughter had fallen and received a deep cut to her forehead. She received immediate first aid and an administrator had me on the phone in moments to explain that "(My daughter's name) had an accident at school in which she cut her forehead and it appears that it may need to be stitched." When I arrived at the school, my daughter's teacher was holding her and speaking comforting words to her while covering her wound. They explained what had happened, apologized and asked that I inform them of her status. It was very evident they had genuine care for her well being. At her pediatrician's, my daughter received 5 stitches, I updated the school and we went home. The next morning the two teachers in the class came to see her and show the compassion I came to recognize. After we talked, one of the teachers handed me a note. The previous evening I had spoken to my daughter about what occurred and came to the conclusion that it was nothing more than an accident, she was distracted, stumbled over her own feet, fell, and cut her head. I read the note just outside her class and was unsurprised that they gave me a complete rundown of events. They discussed the incident and the rest of the days activities. After I had left with my daughter. The teachers talked to the students about what happened to alleviate any concerns they may have, a comprehensive check of not only the classroom but the outdoor areas as well was done to ensure proper safety with no undue hazards. They mentioned they found no spills or hazards where my daughter fell, etc. Lastly, an administrator checked with me to ask about my daughter, did we need anything or have any concerns. I simply informed her that I was very happy how it was handled, my daughter explained it was a "silly accident", and I knew with certainty that it was by no means the school's fault and not to have any concerns of legal action because I knew everything was expertly handled.

Gingerbread School-Bardmoor
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Starting by leading with example in every action. Following with instruction set perfectly for the demographic.


Gingerbread School-Bardmoor
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are well selected, well trained teachers who obviously are teaching because of their care for children. I will add there was one teacher there who could be slightly short tempted with the children but that teacher left very shortly after starting.

Gingerbread School-Bardmoor
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
They reinforce the satisfaction and reward that comes through due diligence and hard work. Very well done.

Gingerbread School-Bardmoor
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Zero tolerance for bullying, name calling, etc. They give excellent foundational instruction on being respectful and respectable.


Gingerbread School-Bardmoor 5

Posted March 22, 2013
- a parent
Love this school. I have twin boys (3) who have been there for over a year. I get a high level of communication every day helping me understand (and feel part of their day). The teachers themselves have been wonderful and the Directors have been a great resource. I thoroughly recommend to anyone with age 2 plus kids.

Gingerbread School-Bardmoor 5

Posted September 22, 2011
- a parent
We absolutely love this school! Our son has been at Gingerbread for about 4 months and we couldn't be happier. He enjoys going to school each and everyday. The teachers are awesome. Each day we get a note about his day in school, if he slept, ate his lunch good and what activities he enjoyed doing most that day. The classrooms are awesome. Plenty of variety in the types of play and they're very organized in their daily activities which allows the children to engage in many activities throughout the day. The staff is very experienced in working with kids this age and they are very alert to what is going on. My son would come home with horrior stories and bite marks from his last school and the teacher didn't even know these things were happening, at Gingerbread my son did get bit but his teacher knew about it, repremanded the other child and there was an incident report explaining the where he got bit and what happened in his cubbie for us when we picked him up. It makes me feel good to have my son in a place where I don't have to worry about him while he's away from home.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gingerbread School-Bardmoor
7970 Starkey Road, Seminole, FL  33777
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (727) 397-8207
Last modified Gingerbread School-Bardmoor is a Private school that serves grade PK
Top