Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Developmental Preschool Kindergarten 1

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
PLEASE READ THIS REVIEW IF YOU LOVE YOUR KID!! What a mistake!!! The biggest mistake of my life. Don't get fooled by the looks of the school or the fact that you are allowed to watch your kid through the school's viewing booths. THE KIDS ARE TREATED VERY POORLY WHEN YOU ARE NOT WATCHING! I saw an change in my son that first week of school. His enthusiasm for school was gone. My son would cry in the car on the way home from school almost every day. I complained to the owner about the teachers. The owner told me to ignore my kid's unhappiness and unwillingness to continue attending the school. She said that the problem was my kid, not her school. Then why is he doing so great at his new school? THE FIRST RED FLAG SHOULD HAVE BEEN THE CONTRACT THEY MADE ME SIGN AT REGISTRATION. They know that you will soon be unhappy, but tied to a very expensive contract. What a place!! Visit the school anytime and you will find the owner barefoot all over the school. That's how unprofessional she is. THIS SCHOOL IS THE WORSE KIND.Treating children poorly while they're cashing in every month. STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS SCHOOL if you care about your kids!

Developmental Preschool Kindergarten 1

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
Where do I start? This school was practically detrimental to my son's development. The teachers lack empathy are not very well educated. I highly doubt they have any type of degree or teachers certificate. If all you want is a decent curriculum but don't care if your child is treated poorly then this is the school for you. The teachers show favoritism to one or two kids in each class. If your child has a any developmental delays then do yourself a favor and STAY AWAY! The are not educated and have no idea how to handle even a child with mild speech delays. I am glad that I took my child out of this school before any more damage was done.


Developmental Preschool Kindergarten 5

Posted March 07, 2013
- a parent
Excellent Academic Preschool We were looking for the best preschool for our little son. DPK was referred to us by teachers at American Heritage, a nearby private school for older children. We were not looking for a daycare but something which could stimulate his mind and teach him. After touring 6 preschools we picked DPK. DPK was initially a long commute for us and there are some parents which commute long distances with their kids because of its academic excellence. A lot of thought has gone into the school layout: from the enclosed playground to separate classrooms for activities. Our little one gets exposure to a great variety of topics, some of which he develops an intense interest in. He also learns to play with others, be polite, to express himself, and discipline. The little guy has been attending DPK since shortly before 2 years old (started at summer camp). At parties and events he is noticeably better behaved and more social than the older kids of co-workers who have attended other schools. Would highly recommend DPK to parents looking for the best in academic preschools and who hope to get their little ones into some of the more elite private high schools.

Developmental Preschool Kindergarten 5

Posted March 31, 2012
- a parent
This has to be one of the most fantastic schools ever! I didn't have a problem with the owner and couldn't have loved the teachers more. The office staff was wonderful with helping me with everything when it came to registering my son and the owner helped me to find the best OT when I felt my son needed the extra help! The teacher are simply the best at what they do. The love they have for the children not only in their classes but for all of them in the school is something you can't just find every where. Nothing beats walking into your child's school and being greeted by everyone with a smile and a beyond friendly good morning. I couldn't have been happier with my time spent at this school. I love to recommend this school to my friends and family because I am positive that they will have the best experience as I did. Keep up the good work everyone! You are doing great with our children!

Developmental Preschool Kindergarten 5

Posted March 29, 2012
- a parent
I have to say that I love this school. I have two nieces who both have attended this school for many years. I was lucky enough to have been involved with them and the school. I am so happy with the school that I registered my child as soon as it was possible to attend the school. The group of teachers are beyond amazing and really enjoy what they do and it shows! I look forward to the years my child spends at the school. I can't wait for her to come home and show me the awesome art projects and teach me the songs she learns in music and spanish. The office staff is great. Everyone is helpful and outgoing and that's what makes it the best school in Plantation!


Developmental Preschool Kindergarten 5

Posted March 29, 2012
- a parent
This is a wonderful school! Every one of those parents that wrote such awful reviews clearly dont know what a great pre-school is. I've seen nothing but a positive improvement since my son atteneded and I would recommend it to everyone I know with young children!!

Developmental Preschool Kindergarten 1

Posted July 03, 2011
- a community member
Nothing special about this school except the lack of education amongst the staff. Was shocked that the owner/director is a former speech pathologist with no back ground in education?! If this school was located anywhere other than Plantation it would not be a real consideration for educated parents. When teachers who have a their GEDS and occasional high school diploma are in the position to educate and instruct young minds it is unfortunate. The owner seems to have drank her own kool aid and is utterly intoxicated with what she seems to believe she created. Very sobering for a parent with her doctorate inChild Psychology. If it works for you're child great but that would be due to your child and not the school.

Developmental Preschool Kindergarten 1

Posted June 21, 2011
- a parent
Carefully review the other comments about how "DIFFICULT' the owner is as well as comments about the staff. There are several issues at this "business"; which should not be considered a school. I wish I read the reviews prior to enrolling... The person that referred me pulled her child out of the school and several children left early throughout the year. I experienced privacy issues; for example they have what they call room moms who assist them. However, these room moms are privy to information from the teacher that they share with other room moms and essentially gossip about children and their parents. I do not recommend this school to anyone; if you are looking to enroll your preschooler in a Business, then this is a great fit. If you are looking for warm, fuzzy, loving, nurturing environment that put s the child first then you have several other alternatives. If in doubt read the other comments below that mirror my feedback dating back to 2008. I am not a disgruntled parent; I am disappointed that I put my child in this environment. My child is back to being happy and so am I!


Developmental Preschool Kindergarten 5

Posted March 29, 2011
- a parent
DPK is an excellent school. The teachers and the director really care about the development of the students. They are keen at identifying potential issues with development and correcting the issues while they are still young. They have the solutions on-site: OT, pre-reading skills, etc. This school also taught my child to swim in one summer - a VERY important skill to have in South Florida. I am very pleased with my son's preschool experience at DPK for the past two years.

Developmental Preschool Kindergarten 1

Posted May 13, 2010
- a parent
Yes, I agree with what other parents have said. The director is very difficult to deal with and is very business minded. The staff is very rude. Overall I have had a very bad experience with this school. I would not recommend it if you child is a little behind. The staff is over judgemental about everything and will refer your kid to all kinds of therapy because they are a little slow. Each kid develops differently and they dont accommodate to that. They wouldnt listen when I said that the pediatrician doesnt think its an issue. I trust my pediatrician( with 30 years of experience) over a business woman. I will not recommend this school to anyone. My son's development went backwards because of the stress they put on him. I switched to a different school and he is very happy. I can tell the diff. He is 3

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Developmental Preschool Kindergarten
11401 West Broward Boulevard, Plantation, FL  33325
(954) 472-4673
Last modified Developmental Preschool Kindergarten is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Developmental Preschool Kindergarten Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top